We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so stylish, you can't believe you're in warren”
Review of Rooster Tail Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warren
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rooster Tail Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Warren B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 June 2010

a beautifully renovated house with only 6 suites, one lovelier than the next. fabulous beds, fabulous bathrooms, piles of fluffy towels, and, most important, relaxed and gracious hosts who will make you feel like you're in their home (which is right behind the inn). the inn also has a delightful dining room and outdoor terrace, as well as an indoor bar. you will not be disappointed by the food, which is terrific value for the money. and while the rooms are expensive, they're less so than at some of the surrounding litchfield venues. there's not much to do in warren but the setting is so pretty that you won't mind driving to the neighboring towns (new preston, washington, kent) for your shopping and antique fix

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mexifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2010

We absolutely loved this B&B. It's very new, but has old-world charm and service. The rooms are among the best we've stayed in anywhere in the world (the Mrs didn't want to leave the Neorest- and jacuzzi-equipped bathroom) and we loved the terrific food. We will recommend this to anyone who wants a getaway from Manhattan.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sreenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2009

The Rooster Tail is an unexpected delight in a world filled with predictability. I had the responsibility of family business in Connecticut during the summer. During 2 peak periods of stress, I escaped to the peaceful luxury of the Rooster Tail. The team couldn't have been more accomodating. Mo and Cliff could not have been more comforting.

The lounge, teaming with locals, is still a quiet retreat for weary travelers. The bar menu and options are the perfect portions and flavors, especially the burgers. Breakfast is a must.

All the suites are different. My partner and I stayed had two stays in two different suites. Mo, for each purpose, you chose perfectly. I'm sorry this comes late. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for making difficult experiences so memorable and comforting. It is a gift.

Matt, Seattle, WA

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seattletoct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

If you're tired of inns that are basically threadbare Victorian barracks with creaky floors and thin walls, or overly corporate but soulless Ralph Lauren-ized mini-palaces, the Rooster Tail is a perfect alternative. First of all, it's more than a house -- it has a prominent location, a comfortable living room (with a flat-screen television) that you can sink into, a bar that's open most of the time, and a dining room that serves interesting fare (unbelievable scones and coffee in the morning, but the occasional disappointing entree at dinner). The heart of its experience, though, is found in its rooms, each of which is unique but which have high-tech bathrooms with fabulous showers and/or soaking tubs, and sumptuously comfortable beds. The proprietors are around and about -- they don't just leave you a key -- and they're friendly and funny, without being cloying or overly attentive. The Rooster Tail is across the road from a high-end housewares store and a local convenience store, and about 40 minutes north of New Milford. Converted from a sprawling, abandoned house by a builder who knew exactly what he was doing, it's a terrific base of operations for exploring Litchfield County, or even a good place to take refuge from a (winter or summer) storm front. As with lots of hollows and pockets of undulating countryside in this area, its location doesn't have good cell phone reception (texting worked fine), though the inn does come equipped with an excellent wireless connection. Staying here isn't inexpensive, but it's a better value than lesser inns in the area. All in all, it's a winner.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen J, Owner at Rooster Tail Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2015

Jack, it just means so much to us that you thought so highly of our inn. We're sorry about the occasional meal that fell flat, but it's such a blessing to run into all of these warm words about our rooms and staff. Thank you!

We sincerely hope you'll come back and stay with us soon.

Safe travels,
Mo and Cliff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

I recently stayed with a group of colleagues on a business retreat and have to say i was more than impressed with this beautiful inn. The owners Mo and Cliff were outstanding hosts and really made you feel like you were at home. Their staff was equally as outstanding.

The rooms were beautiful from the beautiful bathrooms to the comfy beds with beautiful linens to the nice touches provided with water, soda and even a small bottle of champagne in the servi bar, all gratis.

The gym area had state of the art equipment with flat screen tv's but i would have like to see a rack of dumbells and a flat bench to work out on. That being said there is a nice sauna to relax in after your workout.

There is a bar along with a dining room where all the entrees were 14.00 each and all very, very, good. The menu from what i understand changes regularly as well. The wines by the glass were an excellent selection and that as well changes on a regular basis.

I have to say the really made me feel at home and would not hesitate to return their again!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkLifeisgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

We were going to Kent for a wedding and traveling with a 5 month old. Our room was elegant, and beautiful with space to set up our "pack-n-play". The food was fantastic and the innkeepers were very accommodating. If you are looking for a get-a-way from NYC - this place allows you to explore the surrounding areas from a comfortable base. There is a 2 night minimum - so make sure you plan accordingly. The food is delicious, too and the portions very generous. A real treat.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMaMaABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

The Rooster Tail Inn has been open less than a year and I'm convinced that it's going to become one of the most popular inns in northwest Connecticut. I booked a suite for a romantic getaway for my fiance and me, and everything turned out perfect.

The proprietors, Mo and Cliff, as well as the staff, are the nicest people you'll ever meet. The moment you step into the inn, you can sense the welcoming vibe they created. The tavern, especially, is a chance to relax with friendly people, whether they're guests or locals. It's a nice change of pace from the stress and aloofness that comes with city life.

The inn itself is beautiful, new, and impeccably clean. My fiance, who has an eye for New England style, loved it, and she's hard to please. As a non-New England native, I sometimes get annoyed by old-for-old's sake, lack of updating where it's sorely needed. In this case, everything that should be modern, is modern: bathrooms are relaxing, comfortable, and even a bit space-age. There's a nice flat screen on the wall with a full lineup of channels. The bed is amazingly comfortable.

The decor, on the other hand, stays true to a country inn. Furniture and decorations are warm and inviting, and according to my fiance, were perfect for New England. I'm not very articulate about decorating and style, so I'll keep this part short. All I can say is that we were very comfortable in every room: our suite, the tavern, the patio, the garden, and the sitting room. There is an above-average amount of rooster type decorations, too, but I guess that's part of the overall theme.

If you're looking for a relaxing getaway in northwest Connecticut, I highly recommend the Rooster Tail Inn. I hope I have an excuse to go back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffmenegay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rooster Tail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooster Tail Inn

Address: 11 Cornwall Rd, Warren, CT 06754-1716
Region: United States > Connecticut > Warren
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Warren
Price Range: £271 - £501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the classic New England hamlet of Warren, just minutes from the diverse offerings of greater Litchfield County. The Inn provides an intimate atmosphere, juxtaposed with luxurious appointments. There are six suites, each with its own unique décor, and spa quality bathroom. In addition, an exercise room for daily workouts, sauna and steam room, tavern room, sitting room and sun drenched dining room. Perfect for bridal showers, wedding receptions, seasonal parties, conferences and other specialty events. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rooster Tail Hotel Warren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing