We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful, peaceful 5 star hotel in a beautiful setting”
Review of The Dunloe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dunloe
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

after many trips to resorts and hotels in dublin, london, and USA, it was amazing to stay in the dunloe - a true 5 star hotel with OUTSTANDING service and breathtaking views. the restaurant is terrific and we ate all our meals in the hotel except for one evening when we ventured out to a fish restaurant, in killarney which was very good, but simply couldn't compare with the silver service and extensive wine list that the restaurant has on offer. the serving staff mike and karina were attentive polite and efficient and put us at our ease - superb hospitality. the manager jason was always around and was happy to greet us with a smile and ensured everything was top drawer. we brought our infant son, and they provided a room with a lovely cot - and they provided babysitters in the evenings while we ate - the babysitters were local women who were terrific and were great value compared to london or dublin. Our son slept so well because there is no traffic noise and the fresh air from killarney national park is so healthy and relaxing. the pool is beautifully designed and our son was able to paddle on the steps. in summary the best hotel we have stayed in - truly 5 star but also a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: we chose a room facing the playground and the park which we really liked. there are also rooms with...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jack f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
There are newer reviews for The Dunloe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

I was treated to a stay at THE DUNLOE to celebrate a significant birthday recently . What a wonderful discovery ! This is probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in ,everything is perfect .
The friendly welcome from all staff on arrival . The rooms are spacious ,the bathrooms magnificent and spotless . We had a drink in the bar before dinner , lovely calm atmosphere with the piano playing in the background . Dinner was excellent , great variety as the hotel offers two options . Breakfast is a lavish affair and everything is just perfect . The gardens are magnificent and so many birds singing happily . What a magical, peaceful place , I can t wait to go back !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaye252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

While driving around beautiful Killarney we find this fantastic place to eat in a hotel setting with gorgeous gardens......being vegetarian I was dreading the usual risotto option but I have to say the dish was excellent full of vegetables and very tasty......full marks to the chef....the restaurant staff were excellent and I would highly recommend eating here...the hotel looked gorgeous too wish we had researched the location more on the internet.....we would have loved to have stayed here it looked very impressive......Oh well the next time we are in the area it is a must!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Dunloe is outside Killarney, so if you want to explore the city, better have a car. That said, it is a wonderful place for chilling out or enjoying a resort experience: there is horseback riding, tennis, swimming, a spa.
The grounds are beautiful. We loved watching the Palomino horses from the dining room and being put to stable from our room, and seeing the grand trees and flowers everywhere. Our room was large, well laid out, and very comfortable. The bed came with one of those puffy duvets the Europeans like so much. We found it wildly too hot and requested a light blanket, which was quickly installed the next morning.
It is worth staying at the Dunloe for the food. Breakfasts are splendid, from Continental to eggs cooked to order. We had tomatoes and smoked salmon and wonderful bread (and butter!) every day. They even offered Guinness cheese on the breakfast buffet!
Service at breakfast and again at dinner was unobtrusive, prompt, and very good. The dinners, especially their soups and fish with champagne sauce, were outstanding.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisABeaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

My Wife, 2 Kids and I stayed one night in the Dunloe and it really was a fantastic experience. We booked 2 inter connecting rooms which were very spacious and had all the facilities you would expect in a 5 star hotel. The food was beautiful especially the breakfast. There is complimentary horse riding, indoor tennis courts, excellent pool and spa and a fitness trail through the grounds with excercise machones along the trail. I cannot recommend the Dunloe highly enough and we definitely be back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Perrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed in the Dunloe for our anniversary. We also got married there a few years ago. Absolutely beautiful hotel, recently renovated rooms. Staff are amazing, nothing is a problem, so so helpful. Food delicious, ambience so relaxing. Simply cannot fault our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnawelch80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We are getting married here next May 2015 and just stayed here at the weekend. It is not only a fabulous hotel but the staff (Jason, Mario, Dan etc) are so friendly and helpful, they make you feel so welcome. The rooms are all fabulous, we had a lovely view on the Gap of Dunloe and the horses, couldn't have been better. We had dinner and breakfast here too which was very good quality. Definitely go to this hotel, you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathalie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
2.4 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
5.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,301 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,260 reviews
6.3 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#16 of 38 in Killarney
1,569 reviews
1.8 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunloe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunloe

Address: Beaufort, Beaufort, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly Hotel Dunloe Castle)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaufort
Price Range: £201 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dunloe 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunloe is a beautiful 5* hotel, overlooking the famous Gap of Dunloe, set on its own 64 acre estate leading to the ruins of the 12th century castle and River Laune. The dog-friendly The Dunloe is one of the finest luxury hotels Ireland has, boasting magnificent 5 star hotel accommodation in Kerry, only 5 miles from Killarney town. Enjoy a range of complimentary onsite leisure activities including swimming, sauna, steam room, fitness room, fishing, horse riding, and indoor tennis. A kids club and movie night programme runs for children throughout the summer months. Golf, tours, walks can also be arranged locally ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Dunloe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunloe Castle Hotel
Hotel Dunloe Castle
Dunloe Castle Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing