We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surrounded by Irish countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dunloe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dunloe
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Surrounded by Irish countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Beautiful hotel with excellent rooms surrounded by Irish countryside. The hotel is just minutes from Kilarney and offers great views of the Dunloe Gap. Food was very good. Rooms were have large windows for great views and are well appointed and spacious. Large breakfast with many choices.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter1533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    98
    24
    17
    6
See reviews for
276
250
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here for one night at the end of May after a receiving a great last minute deal. The drive into the hotel and the grounds were very impressive. When we unloaded our bags a guy greeted us at the front door and took our bags. Reception staff were extremely efficient and friendly (offered hot face towels at this point to freshen up).

Room:
We had a double room to the front of the hotel magnificent views of the Gap of Dunloe! The room was beautiful decorated with a huge TV, fridge, bath and a very comfortable bed. We also had a large balcony which was lovely to sit out in, in the sunshine. While we were gone to dinner our duvet was turned down and a weather report for the next day and two chocolates were left by the bed (nice touch).

Facilities:
Nice pool, steam room and sauna with hundreds of spare towels! (Could to with a hot tub though). Beautiful walks around the grounds and a nice playground for the kids. Pony trekking is offered for free at the hotel, we didn’t avail of this but we walked to the stables to see the gorgeous horses.! There is also a games room in the hotel with pool table etc and a large indoor tennis court.

Breakfast:
Loads of choice for breakfast including a buffet breakfast, which tasted fantastic. Staff in the morning were very nice and there was beautiful views from the breakfast room.

Would highly recommend this hotel for a luxury relaxing break away.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Gap of Dunloe are fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elryan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Dunloe has a great feel about it, the minute you drive up the tree lined drive way! We stayed 2 nights with our 2 dogs. The dogs were welcome into our dog friendly room if we wanted but we decided to let them in the kennel provided after the walks. Which was big, secure and comfy for both our dogs to fit in 1 run.
Location - Amazing view of the Gap of Dunloe, 5mins to Kate Kearneys Cottage at the Gap, 15mins to Killarney, surrounded by stunning scenery, mountains, rivers, rolling fields!
Hotel - Very nice staff, anything asked for was provided as quickly as they could. The hotel was clean, comfy, had a really nice restaurant with amazing views and the food was perfect for us. There was a bar and sitting area next to a fire, pool and lesiure facitlities were available. The grounds of the hotel was surprising, lovely big gardens, old castle ruin, amazing views (yes of the Gap again) but also of the river behind the hotel, and good big play ground for kids (or adults pretending!!) and nice walks around them.
There were stables on the grounds, where you could go visit the stunning horses or take them on a little guided trek. There was a wedding on at the same time and we couldn't notice or hear any of it, so we still had our nice quiet romantic weekend!
The Hotel is a great place or base to visit the rest of Killarney or the vast number of walks and treks surrounding. It's a place we would certainly look at returning to!

Room Tip: If bringing a pet make sure you mention if you want them in your room or kennel, we kept that option...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PodgeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We visited The Dunloe for a last minute family break away for a night. The interconnecting rooms were ideal. For families it's superb playground, horses, pool etc. The only downside cafe staff and bar staff a little stiff and formal making us feel slightly uncomfortable with our toddler! Not the most ideal set up in that sense but ticks all the other boxes.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
173 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

we spent 3 nights here, using it as our base to explore the Gap of Dunloe, Dingle and Kilarney. The restaurant served us great meals and accommodated my vegetarian request brilliantly. Lots of space to hang out and read or have drink by the fire or in the many reading rooms. Sauna and team room were great and the pool made me wish I was a swimmer. Fitness room was ok and the grounds were wonderful.

Room Tip: rooms are quite large and most have been updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaniaCarriere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I booked including a free upgrade to a superior room on the 5th floor and I felt like I was outside with the large balcony and sleeping in the gap of Dunloe. Highly recommend room 502 if you can get it. The sun shone for me for the two night stay and the service was excellent.
The hotel was very quiet but the room, view and facilities were so amazing I was very content. I am not a foodie but the menus and food were so nice that I could not choose easily. Everything we got, lobster wrapped in smoked salmon salad, amazing risotto full of crunchy asparagus, cheese and chicken with the perfect bite to the rice.
I wish I was there now.
This hotel has recently refurbished rooms and they are the sister hotel of the Europe Hotel and Ard na Sidbhe. Much better value with the same high standards.
the balcony was large and about 20 feet long, the same all along the gap facing rooms. I had a full sitting rooms area, a well serviced office desk, tv and a comfortable bed that I could lie in and stare at the beauty outside.
If you get a chance, go! Good for families too. Free horseriding, bike hire and childs entertainment.
The actual Dunloe Castle is small and restored in their garden for your pleasure.....


An unexpected treat,

Room Tip: Choose Room 502 or any room on 4th or 5th floor with view of the gap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishW432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel is about ten mins drive out of Killarney in a great setting at the end of a beautiful drive, surounded by fields of horses & cattle. There is a great view of the gap of dunloe from the upstairs deck. The staff we met were friendly and courteous at all times. I remember Joe being particularly pleasant and helpful. Our room wasn't particularly spacious but it was clean with a decent provision of good quality bathroom products. The beds were pretty basic and the mini bar was not stocked. I thought the swimming pool was fantastic and like the rest of the hotel was peaceful and relaxing. The food & drink was excellent throughout our stay. I thought the rooms were quite expensive but it is a nice place to relax for a few days. I will keep an eye out for special offers as I hope to return.

Room Tip: Consider a room with a balcony /deck if they are not too expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thompsonsbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
2.4 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
5.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
6.3 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
1.8 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunloe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunloe

Property: The Dunloe
Address: Beaufort, Beaufort, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly Hotel Dunloe Castle)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dunloe 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunloe is a beautiful 5* hotel, overlooking the famous Gap of Dunloe, set on its own 64 acre estate leading to the ruins of the 12th century castle and River Laune. The dog-friendly The Dunloe is one of the finest luxury hotels Ireland has, boasting magnificent 5 star hotel accommodation in Kerry, only 5 miles from Killarney town. Enjoy a range of complimentary onsite leisure activities including swimming, sauna, steam room, fitness room, fishing, horse riding, and indoor tennis. A kids club and movie night programme runs for children throughout the summer months. Golf, tours, walks can also be arranged locally ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dunloe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunloe Castle Hotel
Hotel Dunloe Castle
Dunloe Castle Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing