We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four star”
Review of The Dunloe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dunloe
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Four star”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night for a nearby business meeting. No tea making facilities in the room which is surprising, no mini bar and no shoe shine, not sure how this has a four star rating? Two single beds pushed together with separate duvets means I only had a single bed to sleep in. Upstairs outdoor smoking area was nice but could do with some cushioning. Food was excellent at dinner but breakfast lay out was poor with Queues for coffee, cooked breakfast and I even had to queue to get butter, not five star. Great hotel for families but I won't be back

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Pmggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    98
    24
    17
    6
See reviews for
276
251
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Had lunch there.food is well presented and tasted good but waiting staff forgetfull of drink ordered and no excuse as not busy at the time so not 5star service.lovely location and grounds.very peacefull.bread was a bit stale too.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank arnaudmilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Really good hotel. Sumptuous rooms. Good quality food if a little expensive. Excellent staff. Wonderful location. Worth the price. Views from the front bedrooms over the Gap of Dunloe are stunning.
Would recommend and return. Already planning next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeonardK925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Went here with my brother and sister and we ordered three Americanos and a sauvignon blanc . The coffee came out in very small cups, was cold and we had to ask for sugar. The biscuits were stale . All a bit surprising for a five star hotel . The price for all this was eighteen euros. This is far too expensive. On a good note very friendly staff and it is a lovely hotel , but it needs a little facelift now as it looks out-dated.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

A very special hotel set in the most beautiful setting imaginable. If you are a couple or with a family, this hotel has something for all. Free horse-riding for the kids, tennis, table tennis, fishing, kids club, playground. Lots of great walks, exercise trails, special walks. the rooms are fantastic and all overlook the gap of dunloe. Family room in particular is great as you in effect have 2 bedrooms and showers etc., set back against each other divided by an archway. Very long balcony and your own little fridge too. really special place and I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: there are no bad rooms as far as I can see!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lozDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

They say dog friendly but not what we found kennels not up to what we would want to put our pet into also should check the pet vacation chart on arrival no one did found the view five star but the kids club was not what we found in other five star hotels the weather was very warm not their fault but please thought that air con was normal in the five star hotels we were in before. We found that this is a tourist hotel not family's with pets need a lot more work this would be a big plus if they could get it right unfortunately we didn't find this for the price we paid so left after one full day instead of staying the week

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Dunloe was a lovely hotel, not ultra modern, but well done and comfortable. The grounds were wonderful with sweeping gardens and a castle ruin on the grounds. Lots of places to take an evening or morning stroll. The service was great and the food was very good too. There were palomino horses that I walked over to see in a field on the grounds though I didn't ride due to time constraints. There was also a large enclosed pool. A great place to relax with a family.

Room Tip: This was a lovely rural setting and I can't imagine a room that didn't have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
2.4 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
5.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,386 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,193 reviews
6.3 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,527 reviews
3.3 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunloe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunloe

Property: The Dunloe
Address: Beaufort, Beaufort, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly Hotel Dunloe Castle)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dunloe 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunloe is a beautiful 5* hotel, overlooking the famous Gap of Dunloe, set on its own 64 acre estate leading to the ruins of the 12th century castle and River Laune. The dog-friendly The Dunloe is one of the finest luxury hotels Ireland has, boasting magnificent 5 star hotel accommodation in Kerry, only 5 miles from Killarney town. Enjoy a range of complimentary onsite leisure activities including swimming, sauna, steam room, fitness room, fishing, horse riding, and indoor tennis. A kids club and movie night programme runs for children throughout the summer months. Golf, tours, walks can also be arranged locally ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Dunloe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunloe Castle Hotel
Hotel Dunloe Castle
Dunloe Castle Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing