We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B and B”
Review of The Purple Heather

The Purple Heather
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Purple Heather
Ranked #3 of 5 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Tom and Nora were very hospitable, helpful, and recommended Kate Kerney's for dinner which was wonderful. There were 2 of us traveling(ladies) and they made us feel welcomed, The rooms were small with 2 twin beds. The linens were wonderful and room beautifully decorated. The room served is purpose for us. Would stay here again. Great location, close to gap of dunloe.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allisouthcarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2011

Ideal location for exploring the Gap of Dunloe.
Clean and well decorated room. Charming host . Good breakfast

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank llionellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

My GPS in Ireland sucked so it was a bit tough to find the place, but it was an adorable little house and the host was very nice. The room was a bit small, but it was clean and served our purpose. My friend and I had a delicious breakfast the next morning and were on our way with a recommendation to drive the Ring of Kerry which was a fabulous way to get to our next destination.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sweets786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We loved the purple heather. Very very gracious hosts. the location was perfect. We hiked the Gap of Dunloe, and we were about an hour drive to Skellig. Our hosts dried out clothes, without even asking. Full and very good Irish Breakfast. All in all a flawless setting and good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dallasbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We stayed at this bed and breakfast during a very cold 2 nights in Killarney, with an outside temperature of 30 - 40 degrees. They turned off their heat while we were there and just had a light blanket on the bed. We were freezing! The shower in our room was so tiny that if you dropped the soap, you had to step out of the shower to retrieve it. But who could even shower! When you got out of the shower it was 40 degrees in the house. The breakfast was awful and very spartan. STAY AWAY! It was the worst bed and breakfast we've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank judybpiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

If you find yourself wanting to travel to the Killarney region in Ireland, I have two pieces of advice for you: 1) Stay at The Purple Heather B&B and 2) Take advantage of the pony and trap ride through the Gap of Dunloe. We arrived late to The Purple Heather on a dark, rainy night. We got lost a bit and had to phone Tim Moriarty, the owner, for directions. Despite the late hour, he was extremely chipper and most helpful. Thanks to Tim's directions (and no thanks to our GPS), we made it. Upon arrival, we were immediately thrilled with our accomodations for the evening. Tim was a jolly fellow and promptly showed us to our room, asked us what time we'd like to eat in the morning, gave us the information we needed to get onto the free wi-fi and bade us good night. The room was not large by any means, but it was adequate. Clean and well decorated, with a most comfortable bed, it was just what we needed after a long day of driving from Galway City and much sight-seeing along the way. We had a great night's sleep and enjoyed a nice hot shower in the morning before heading to the sunroom for breakfast. I must say that this was my favorite part of our stay. Having arrived late the night before, we were unable to see our surroundings. The beautiful sunroom with it's panaramic views and ample natural light allowed us to take in the beauty of where we were and whet our appetite as to what we'd be doing in the area that day. We enjoyed a delicious Irish breakfast (Nora's brown bread was the best I'd had in all of Ireland) then spoke to Tim about possible things to do in the area. He suggested we drive a mere mile from his house and take a 'pony and trap' ride (horse and carriage) through the Gap of Dunloe. For 50 Euro, it seemed steep, but we did it. The views we enjoyed were breathtaking. And the weather was gorgeous, compared to the evening before. We couldn't have had a better stay. Thank you, Tim and Nora -- you helped us make wonderful memories we won't soon forget!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NatalieCrino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

Tim and Nora were gracious hosts. Tim was very helpful in planning our itinerary. We stayed at the B & B for two nights. The beds were the most comfortable of our entire stay in Ireland. Plus they had heated blankets. Bathrooms were nice and new with power showers and plenty of hot water. Breakfast was very good. Nice sitting area for guests also. Grounds were very pretty and close to Kate Kearneys Pub which is very popular and food was excellent. traditional Irish Music can be heard there. All in all a lovely place....

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sashi60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
4.8 mi away
The Dunloe
The Dunloe
#1 of 1 in Beaufort
707 reviews
5.2 mi away
Inveraray Farm Guesthouse
0 mi away
Beaufort Lodge
Beaufort Lodge
#2 of 5 in Beaufort
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Purple Heather? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purple Heather

Address: Glencar Rd | Gap of Dunloe, Beaufort, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Beaufort
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Price Range: £51 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Purple Heather 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your The Purple Heather reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing