We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All across the purple heather”
Review of The Purple Heather

The Purple Heather
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Purple Heather
Ranked #3 of 5 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Room small but cozy with all amenities. Spotless. The grounds are stunning. A full Irish breakfast (choice of French toast or pancakes!) is served in a lovely conservatory dining room with striking views of Ireland’s highest mountains, Carrantuohill. An excellent stay close to Ring of Kerry and Dingle.
Your hosts Tim and Nora are warm and charming, the essence of Irish hospitality. My husband and I hope to see them again! “And we’ll all go together to pull, wild mountain thyme All across the purple heather…”

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagoonJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

Nice B&B, clean and comfortable. The room was not very large, but nonetheless, all the essentials were there. The mattress could stand a renewal though. The host was welcoming and helpful. Very good breakfast. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Charming hosts, clean rooms, and good breakfast. Would highly recommend this location to anyone traveling with a car around the ring of Kerry or who will be exploring Gap of Dunloe.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 73,557,355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Tom and Nora were very hospitable, helpful, and recommended Kate Kerney's for dinner which was wonderful. There were 2 of us traveling(ladies) and they made us feel welcomed, The rooms were small with 2 twin beds. The linens were wonderful and room beautifully decorated. The room served is purpose for us. Would stay here again. Great location, close to gap of dunloe.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allisouthcarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Ideal location for exploring the Gap of Dunloe.
Clean and well decorated room. Charming host . Good breakfast

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank llionellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

My GPS in Ireland sucked so it was a bit tough to find the place, but it was an adorable little house and the host was very nice. The room was a bit small, but it was clean and served our purpose. My friend and I had a delicious breakfast the next morning and were on our way with a recommendation to drive the Ring of Kerry which was a fabulous way to get to our next destination.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sweets786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We loved the purple heather. Very very gracious hosts. the location was perfect. We hiked the Gap of Dunloe, and we were about an hour drive to Skellig. Our hosts dried out clothes, without even asking. Full and very good Irish Breakfast. All in all a flawless setting and good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dallasbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
0.2 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#27 of 38 in Killarney
1,036 reviews
5.2 mi away
Inveraray Farm Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Dunloe
The Dunloe
#1 of 1 in Beaufort
707 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beaufort Lodge
Beaufort Lodge
#2 of 5 in Beaufort
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Purple Heather? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purple Heather

Address: Glencar Rd | Gap of Dunloe, Beaufort, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Beaufort
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Price Range: £52 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Purple Heather 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your The Purple Heather reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing