We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holly Grove Bed & Breakfast

Holly Grove Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holly Grove Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 6 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

....
My Husband and I stayed in Holly Grove on the 23rd of September 2011.It was a great experience from start to finish,tea and scones were provided in Peggy's sitting room on arrival, the room that we stayed in was cosy warm and spotless, breakfast on sunday was superb served with lovely fresh homemade scones and brown bread,Nothing was too much trouble for Peggy or her Husband,they took the time to chat and give us any information we needed, I definetly would recomend Holly Grove.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank betty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
142 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

Beautiful home and gardens less than a mile from the entrance to the Gap of Dunloe and perfect location for exploring Ring of Kerry and Dingle peninsula.
Pat and family took good care of us and made reservations at Kate Kearney cottage where the music was some of the best we heard in Ireland and the food was good.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

We've just arrived home in England after a delightful 4 night stay at Holly Grove and I shall dearly miss that lovely cooked Irish breakfast tomorrow morning.

I'd highly recommend Holly Grove to anyone looking to stay in this part of Ireland, the owners Peggy and Patrick are both so very helpful after a long day travelling not only were they kind enough to offer to pick us up from the bus station they also had tea and cakes for us on arrival and a lovely warm bed, it was the perfect start to our short break.

I've never known such exceptional customer service, beats what any 5 * hotel could ever offer, we were made to feel so very welcome.

I would advise you take a car or hire one, but this is the case with all the B&Bs in this picturesque area, however even on foot we had a great time and Peggy and Patrick offered us lifts on numerous occasions, which we were very thankful for.

In conclusion, I hope we one day return to Holly Grove!

Jonny & Joe

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyGleeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stopped here for 4 nights as a base to explore the Ring of Kerry & Gap of Dunloe.

From the moment we arrived Peggy was such a lovely host - the kettle was on and scones served! For no other reason it's worth stopping here for the scones!

A beautifully clean room in a lovely home gave us a great place to travel around the Ring of Kerry and take the short drive to the start of the Gap of Dunloe. 15 miles of walking later we were back at Holly Grove for a well earned rest.

For anyone who is a cat lover there is always Ginger - a lovely member of the family to pamper in the garden - also a great part of this B&B

We'll definitely be back

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thecottage56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

Booked for two nights and stayed for three. Great B&B... Great Breakfasts.... Great!!! Peggy and Patrick were perfect hosts. Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice_Ch_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

Peggy is a kind hostess welcoming you into her home.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank municali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

We spend a week end in Holly grove. We arrived late the friday night, and Peggie was waiting for us. the bed was warmed up, and the water for the tea too.
The bed is confortable, the room was very nice, and the entire house is cosy and very very clean. the shower is perfect.
I like it because it was close to the city, but it is not INTO the city (you need a car, but you will not regret going there, the landscape is simply beautiful) : it's ideal to go during the evening have a dinner in killarney and return to sleep quietly, after watching a movie in the living room : Peggy prepared a chimney fire !
the breakfast is hearty. Peggy is very nice and cooks very well !
I was looking for a real B&B, friendly, cosy and relaxing , it was simply perfect.
I will go back to killarney, and without a doubt, i will book a room in Holly Grove.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
7.0 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
7.2 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
7.4 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
8.5 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Grove Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Grove Bed & Breakfast

Property: Holly Grove Bed & Breakfast
Address: Gap Of Dunloe, Beaufort, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Beaufort
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Holly Grove Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing