We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world style and Grandeur”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington Depot
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hidden Valley Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Old world style and Grandeur”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Hidden Valley truly is quite hidden,but oh what a gem it is.Regine, its proprietor is lovely and is a wonderful hostess,her eye for detail and decorating with antiques collected throughout a lifetime are a feast for the eye. Her Dutch roots are reflected in the architectural design of this stately home. Breakfast was elegantly presented and was delicious.The Litchfield region is beautiful and spectacular during the fall.Nice road trips,antiquing,apple picking,wineries all nearby. What a view of the countryside this B&B provides. Will highly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liketravelLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
64
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2012

What a wonderful surprise! When we arrived we were left breathless. The drive up through the forest leads you to a very secluded and beautiful property. You think that you've left the country and arrived at a very lovely European chalet. Regine has done a fabulous job of incorporating her Dutch heritage into her B&B.
We stayed in the Red Room, which was cozy and very comfortable. It was private with beautiful views of the valley below.
Regine was delightful and the perfect hostess. She provided a wonderful breakfast and introduced us to her very pleasant staff. Everyone was so kind and helpful.
Our dog was very welcome and loved running and playing on the property.
We would highly recommend Hidden Valley to anyone looking for an upscale B&B and hope to return again. It was by far the nicest B&B that we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Red Room which we loved and would want to stay there again. It is private from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Powell35790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodmere, New York
Level Contributor
242 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Regine is the loveliest hostess and her home is magnificent. It is so clean and also homey with exquisite art, books and such views. We so appreciated the wine, cheese and treats she provided. We had the red room, lovely, and enjoyed a dip in the plunge pool. She assistefd in securing a reservation for Community Table for our dinner also. This is ther best b and b, and we've tried sooo many, ever.

Room Tip: week nts are always better we find. No one was there but us on a Mon eve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggyvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Coming from Asia to Washinton Depot for a one night stay, Hidden Valley B&B is way beyond my expectations! This was the first time for my family to stay in a B&B and the experience turned out to be more than great! The house is absolutely beautiful and lovely. Although we did not get the chance to meet Regine, the owner who was out of town when we stayed there, we did meet Sam. Sam was also nice and extremely helpful and he took care of us very well! The breakfast was great too! We also enjoyed the fresh apples from the apple farm! Our daughter loved the dogs too!
Everything at Hidden Valley B&B gives you a peaceful mind quickly and makes you want to stay longer. If we ever come back to the area, Hidden Valley B&B will absolutely always be our number one choice!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lili X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here while in town for a farm dinner. This place was beautiful!! We were very pleasantly surprised. While the website was good and showed nice pictures, it does not do this property and the lovely owner enough justice. The house is impecably kept and just charming. There is a wondering back terrace that over looks a nature reserve with plenty of space for guests to sit and not feel crowded. Our room, the red room, was wonderful. Clean, bright, inviting, and warm with glass doors that open on to the terrace and private bathroom. The next morning we had a lovely breakfast. Our stay was short, only one night, but asked about the possibility of renting the whole inn for a weekend. The owner was so lovely and kind and took us on a tour of the house (we were the only guests that night). I would highly recommend this place and hope to come back again soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset ma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

O.K. so you read reviews on these sites and you think, well that person thought it was great but they might not know great!! I can tell you that I have been to dozens of B&B's, it’s my personal preference to stay at B&B’s, I mean what can beat a B&B?? When you stay at B&B’s you experience SO much more, your not a room number, you get inside info on the best places to go so your not vacationing off brochures stuffed in a reception area, theres nothing like it, BUT, Hidden Valley B&B is "AAAAAA" class, its a cut above the rest, and I should know. The house is absolutely BEAUTIFUL, the breakfasts are scrumptious and the owner Regine is THE BEST and MOST FRIENDLY GENUINE PERSON you'll ever meet. Regine goes OUT OF HER WAY to make your experience GREAT! I always feel guilty because she just does not stop in her plight to meet your expectations!! HATS OFF to the Hidden Valley B&B, I'm planning my next visit already and I just got back home!! When you wake up in the unbelievable beds you hear birds, you sit on a grand terrace and watch wildlife run free in the valley below, I just can't get enough of this beautiful place!! THANKS REGINE for all your hard work, I had ANOTHER wonderful time and you have a LIFE LONG client in me!!!!! Can't wait to get back!!
Everyone who is caught up in the day to day rat race like me needs to go here and catch their breath, it’s truly therapeutic!!!

Room Tip: I have stayed in the Green Room, the Yellow Room and the Red Suite, they are ALL AWESOME!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celestialjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Before we left, I was already looking for an occasion to return. The reviews are true. Hidden Valley is a wonderful home-- beautifully situated, grand and welcoming, relaxing from the moment you drive up the drive, a "discovery" you don't want to share. Regine is a paragon of hospitality-- warm, gracious, fun, and (as has been mentioned) attending to every detail. Hidden Valley is clearly an extension of its owner and creator and that is one of its biggest charms. I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington Depot
7.9 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#1 of 3 in New Milford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Mayflower Grace
The Mayflower Grace
#1 of 1 in Washington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
6.9 mi away
Litchfield Inn
Litchfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Litchfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Wyndham Southbury
Wyndham Southbury
#2 of 2 in Southbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
13.1 mi away
Newbury Inn
Newbury Inn
#1 of 1 in Brookfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
11.1 mi away
Curtis House Inn
Curtis House Inn
#1 of 5 in Woodbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hidden Valley Bed & Breakfast
Address: 226 Bee Brook Rd, P.O.Box 280, Washington Depot, CT 06794-1205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Washington Depot
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Washington Depot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hidden Valley... A sophisticated and intimate country house with breathtaking views over a nature preserve in the Litchfield Hills of Connecticut. For guests who value privacy, elegance and comfort. Child and pet friendly, extensive library, large stone terraces, farm fresh breakfasts, plunge pool, free Wi-Fi, flat screen TV, cable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing