We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise in Connecticut” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Valley Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington Depot
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hidden Valley Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Bryn Mawr, PA
Level Contributor
394 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
“Paradise in Connecticut”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed two nights here while taking our daughter to visit a friend, and were simply overwhelmed by the beauty, elegance and straightforward hospitality of Hidden Valley B & B. At only three "official" guest rooms, it is the smallest inn at which we have stayed, but now we feel completely spoiled by the wonderfully intimate experience. While there is much to rave about here, our hostess Regine and the talented chef Sam are the best aspects of Hidden Valley. Both are genuinely welcoming and extremely considerate; they made us feel completely comfortable and pampered throughout our stay. It really was more like staying in a friend's exceptionally lovely home than as guests at an inn. We were pleasantly surprised at how quiet and private our rooms were -- much more so than at any other B & B we've visited, despite the fact that the Green Room's bath was down the hall rather than en suite. Our daughter was even able to have her own separate bedroom next to ours, which she very much enjoyed. HIdden Valley's grounds are magnificent and a true birding paradise! If you enjoy wildlife, bring your binoculars and spend some time on the beautiful flagstone terrace overlooking the hills and woods. And be sure to bring your bathing suit -- there is a small but charming pool at the corner of the terrace. We feel very fortunate to have discovered Hidden Valley, and would love to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrynMawrBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
62
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

I hesitate to write this review as I fear this "hidden" gem will become known to the rest of the world! Hidden Valley B&B is an exquisitely-appointed country home situated amidst the hills of Litchfield County. Upon entering, you immediately feel Regine's passion for life, nature, and beauty. She welcomes you to make yourself at home (and believe me, you will want to); outside on her lush terrace, or indoors in her fabulous salon. Sleep peacefully through the night in her soothing bedrooms and wake up well-rested to breakfast, served deliciously and plentifully in her elegant, sun-lit kitchen. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cparadelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We returned to the Hidden Valley B&B a year after our first visit and were delighted to find that nothing has changed - the surroundings are utterly charming and our hostess, Regine, did everything possible to make our experience as perfect as possible. As far as we're concerned, if you're going to visit the Litchfield area this is the only place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We were looking for a night away to celebrate a milestone birthday -- and our first trip away from our little girl. A tall order. Hidden Valley was ideal. Quiet, romantic, picturesque with plenty to do and, happily, plenty of space to just lounge and relax. It was almost too bad there was so much to see and do in Litchfield Cty. We would have been happy just staying at the Inn and talking with Regine and Sam. The house is stunning and the breakfast was delicious. We are already planning our next trip back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

You could travel the world over and NEVER find a more charming place to rest your mind, body and spirit. Hidden Valley B&B is a hidden treasure! Just a short drive out of Manhattan and you might as well be a million miles away. This intimate country house has it all -- beginning with your lovely hostess, Regine, who has created a beautiful home with all the amenities to make you as comfortable as possible. The rooms are decorated to perfection, with beautiful views, comfortable beds and very well kept. The common areas are equally as charming and inviting --as if out of the pages of a magazine. Regine will ask you, the night before, what time you wish to have breakfast and sure enough, you will wake to the smell of coffee brewing and your eggs frying. If you are lucky enough to visit in warm weather months, please have your breakfast on the terrace overlooking the breathtaking views. Regine will also recommend the perfect spot for an intimate dinner for two, or for the entire family. Hidden Valley is a truly special place -- treat yourself to this magical destination and share in my secret! Debra, Chicago

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We had a simple but such a beautiful wedding ceremony and spent 3 nights in there. Regine is the loveliest hostess. She provided apple ciders since we don't drink wine and also help us reserved table for dinner. We had red room, it is very nice and comfortable. The whole house is really well maintained. You can use whole building, the living room, the fireplace, the dinning room and the beautiful garden. The view is amazing. You can overlook the valley. The place is quite and beautiful. Sam, the housekeeper made very fresh breakfast. Beautiful lakes and good restaurants are nearby. We definitely will visit again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wei p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Very nice place. We stayed in the Blue Room and it was nice an comfortable. The area around is very picturesque.
The host is just incredible, very friendly and welcoming. The property is extremely well maintained.
It seems that Chrales Aznavour's "La Boheme" should quietly be playing in the background here all the time.
It's very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington Depot
2.9 mi away
The Mayflower Grace
The Mayflower Grace
#1 of 1 in Washington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
6.9 mi away
Litchfield Inn
Litchfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Litchfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
14.5 mi away
Wyndham Southbury
Wyndham Southbury
#2 of 2 in Southbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Newbury Inn
Newbury Inn
#1 of 1 in Brookfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
7.9 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#1 of 3 in New Milford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
11.1 mi away
Curtis House Inn
Curtis House Inn
#1 of 5 in Woodbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hidden Valley Bed & Breakfast
Address: 226 Bee Brook Rd, P.O.Box 280, Washington Depot, CT 06794-1205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Washington Depot
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Washington Depot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hidden Valley... A sophisticated and intimate country house with breathtaking views over a nature preserve in the Litchfield Hills of Connecticut. For guests who value privacy, elegance and comfort. Child and pet friendly, extensive library, large stone terraces, farm fresh breakfasts, plunge pool, free Wi-Fi, flat screen TV, cable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing