We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected find of great bagels!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ami's Crispy Bagels LLC
Ranked #2 of 21 Bakeries in Waterbury
Restaurant details
Virginia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Unexpected find of great bagels!”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Great bagels are hard to find. When I read the reviews, I tempered my expectations as I certainly didn't expect to find any while on a quick trip to Waterbury. These bagels are fantastic! They are the only bagels that come close...real close...to my favorite bagels ever which are found at Lighthouse Bagels in Corolla, NC...but I digress. The bagels here are thick and chewy and you could probably anchor a small boat with one...that's a great bagel. Yes, the service may not be the most warm and fuzzy but they put on plenty of cream cheese and they got my order correct. I can live with that as long as I can get those bagels!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acadiafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    6
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Too bad the staff isn't friendly”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I live in the East End and would rather drive downtown to see Frank at the other Ami's. The East main street crew is not at all friendly and many days border on rude. One of the two younger twins is friendly. That's about it. It's a shame because the bagels are so good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lobes34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
90 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What else can you say!”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The BEST bagels - hard to classify as a restaurant but really the best bagels you will ever have! hot and right from the oven - many choices

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2002porsche911T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterbury, CT
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely positively the best bagel you will have”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Never in my life have I had a better bagel...always fresh and tasty, and the home made cream cheese is to die for...the bagel flavors are amazing...especially the french toast (add sausage, egg and cheese and you have a sinful breakfast sandwich). They sell baker's dozens so I always feel like I'm getting extra :) Highly recommend!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jamid215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naugatuck, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OMG”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Found this lil place by accident,best Bagel outside of NYC.Countless varities nice clean place,staff was very friendly

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jenn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ami's Crispy Bagels LLC also viewed

 

Been to Ami's Crispy Bagels LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing