We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best in the Valley”

Diorio Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Diorio Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 313 Restaurants in Waterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Grand Street
prospect ct
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the Best in the Valley”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We have been going to Dorios for many years, you always know that the food will be great and the atmosphere, warm, darkish and good for a romantic dinner. Its not a wildly creative menu but we have never had a bad meal there, portions are generous, well sourced and prepared.

The noise from the bar can be a bit distracting if it is a busy bar night. 90% of the wait staff is excellent, attentive and helpful.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coleenac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    40
    24
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“All good until the final touch”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My wife and I went to Diorios tonight for dinner. After reading the reviews, we expected it to be expensive. Typically not a problem if we felt the dinner and service is worth the price. Overall a good meal. The dinner finished with the server asking us if we wanted dessert. I wasn't sure if I wanted any more food but my wife mentioned it was my birthday so indulge. I ordered carrot cake (ok) and when we got the check they actually charged extra for a birthday candle. We didn't ask for anything special, just ordered dessert off the menu. Diorios has a nice atmosphere and good food. Plan to spend top dollar--- there are other similar Italian restaurants in the area that offer a much better value. Honestly, it wasn't worth $175 for two meals, two salads, no appetizers and a few glasses of wine. We won't be back... too many other choices in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mrchicopee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolcott, Connecticut
Level Contributor
164 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

What a great place in Waterbury. Food is very good and service is good. Great night out with my wife. Romantic place. Will be back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
168 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent specials and friendly staff”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Dorio's has a great ambience and the friendly staff make the experience wonderful .we had the specials : sea bass and scallops. Both were great. We ordered the truffle french fries but were not too satisfied with them. Everything else was terrific. The entertainment was a middle school music teacher who moonlights on the side. He performed non stop and was very talented. We will be going back soon.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lewwjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Awesome Steaks”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Was here on business. Had a fantastic steak, cooked correctly. Sides also very good. Good service, atmosphere was nice. All around good experience. Not really pricey considering the quality of the steak.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Diorio Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Diorio Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing