We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My stay at Oakdale Motel”
Review of Oakdell Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oakdell Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Waterford
Oscoda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My stay at Oakdale Motel”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The personnel at the Oakdale Motel are very helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to be helpful in any way they could. I am going back in 2 weeks and you can bet that that's where I will be staying. If you are traveling in that area you will not find a better place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    13
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
23
20
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Planned for a week stay,, BUT stayed the 2nd then the 3rd week. The owner Gail is so pleasant and friendly. I felt like I was part of her family. In fact I have made reservations for May of 2014 for 6 weeks. I'm so pleased that there is still "family owned" motel where you feel like family!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bronx
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2013

For weekend graduation ceremonies a good nights sleep is essential. There is good indoor air quality , a comfortable bed and pillow, a well appointed bathroom.
For dress clothes there is adequate hanging space and drawers for folded clothes. All this helps to be able to dress quickly for those next day ceremonies.
Subdued lighting yet adequate for reading is welcome after the intense atmosphere of highway driving. Great to be able to flick on the TV that does not dominate the room. The heavy window curtains darkened the room for sleeping.
There was a country atmosphere that was most appreciated.

Room Tip: Just let the owner know your true requirements ahead of time. They aim to please you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I have stayed at the oakdell for many years I have brought members of my family and it is the best bargan in Ct. This motel is still owned and operated by a local family the rooms are clean the beds are comfortablle . The staff are friendly and will correct any problems . The rates are low and there is no charge for dogs .There is a phone to use for an emergency, if you don't use the owner can't help you.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I stayed there about a year ago and the room was clean and fine for the price. But there was a car chalk full of stuff to the ceiling in the parking lot that looked like it had been there for a while. Also, the person next door, who I think lived there, was ranting and swearing at 6 one morning right outside my door. Not a safe feeling for a single woman traveling alone. I will not go back even if I was told to have a "Blessed Day."

Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank smc453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston,ma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed at this motel last week.This is not a luxury property ,The rooms were very clean and comfortable,the motel is convenient to all attractions in this area, and it has a really nice outdoor pool which is rare in this area and one of the reasons we chose this motel.We made a lot of use of the pool and really enjoyed it.If you are looking for an inexpensive motel convenient to Mohegan Sun and other area attractions with a friendly staff and a great on site owner (Gail)you can not go wrong at the Oakdell Motel.

Room Tip: Get a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wally323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shavertown
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2012

this is an older hotel ,very clean and had reasonable prices and the staff is great and the have a very nice pool and a places to just sit and enjoy the day It right off 95 and there a mall down the road by it

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rennpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
8.0 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#4 of 5 in New London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Waterford
Rodeway Inn Waterford
#2 of 5 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
6.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakdell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakdell Motel

Property: Oakdell Motel
Address: 983 Hartford Tpke, Waterford, CT 06385-4001
Region: United States > Connecticut > Waterford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oakdell Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oakdell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing