We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oakdell Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oakdell Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Waterford
Teaneck, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

My two girl friends and I decided to take an adventure trip to Connecticut. At last minute, we decided to spent the night. Searching for an affordable, clean accommodation, we found Oakdell Motel in Waterford, Ct. We called and a pleasant and friendly voice answer the phone. It was Gail, the owner. Surprisingly, in a Saturday busy night, there were a room available for us 3 girls. We were not only happy with the price, but we were very pleased with a super clean, spacious and sunny room, two comfortable beds and great water pressure in the bathroom. Near by the casino and I-95 near to the beaches and shopping. This place also has a very clean pool and a gazebo to relax and enjoy nature. Thank you Gail for making us feel like home with your charisma and hospitality. We already planning to come back to your cozy and clean motel. May God continue to bless you and your business. The Ladies from NYC...Fabiola, Zoila & Sonia!

Room Tip: Rooms are clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zrosario525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    13
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
23
19
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indialantic, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

I was VERY pleased with my week long stay recently at the Oakdell Motel in Waterford, CT.

The room was super clean, the bed was comfortable, plenty of lighting in the room, lots of towels and good water pressure and plenty of hot water in the bathroom.

This motel is 2 minutes off of I-95, and has a well-lit parking lot with plenty of spaces. You park right in front of your room.

Dunkin Donuts is a 2 minute walk, a huge indoor mall is 5 minutes away, and many other stores and restaurants are within 5 minutes.
The beaches in New London, Waterford, and Niantic are 15 minutes away.

Gail is an excellent host/owner and she lives right at the property.

It's around a 50 minute drive to the airport in Warwick, RI and maybe an hour to Bradley Aiprort, north of Hartford, CT.
Two of the largest casinos in the world are less than a half an hour away.

It was an enjoyable experience and I will recommend staying at the Oakdell Motel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brattleboro, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Great prices, and clean. This was my second stay and my family really enjoyed it. It was very convenient to the activities that we scoped out from this location. Easy access to the location.
The staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Not recommended for a romantic get away and meals served to your room. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The pool just had new stucco which will be nice for the hot weather. The grounds are nice and well kept.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelter Island, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Last week while driving through CT and searching for an affordable, last minute place to stay my mom and I happened upon Oakdell Motel. It was truly heaven-sent - an inexpensive, simple & spacious, clean room, with 2 beds and a whole lot of charm. We honestly could not have dreamt up a more perfect accommodation for our night in CT. Gail, the owner, was so kind on the phone - offering us the winter rate though it was a Friday night in mid-July - and even sweeter in person. In the morning she provided fresh coffee and donuts and showed us the lovely wooded backyard area. I would prefer to stay at Oakdell Motel over any chain hotel or b&b ANY DAY. ~Thank you, Gail. See you again soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

I stayed at this motel for business, not knowing my locations well enough to find something else. I didn't fully appreciate that this is a roadside motel (think 1970s Howard Johnsons). It was suprisingly clean and the service was very much hospitable. I even mentioned an online coupon and got $5 off. If you are okay with a motel like this and want to save a few bucks, this place could foot the bill. The owner was very helpful and friendly and I had a good feeling about her. As for the other customers? They seemed (appropriate to this venue) like a rougher crowd.

Room Tip: I read that I should stay near the office, which I requested and it's probably good advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarzan_JungleMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

This motel is a little known gem in Southeastern Connecticut. The rooms are clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. There are a variety of rooms. Ask Gail about the different rooms...some have antiques and other amenities. The rates are very low compared with the other motels around. I would highly recommend this motel to anyone traveling to New London County.

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms. Ask Gail about the different rooms...some have antiques and other amen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CPW4200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
8.0 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,370 reviews
6.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
2.6 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#4 of 5 in New London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Waterford
Rodeway Inn Waterford
#2 of 5 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakdell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakdell Motel

Property: Oakdell Motel
Address: 983 Hartford Tpke, Waterford, CT 06385-4001
Region: United States > Connecticut > Waterford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oakdell Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Oakdell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing