We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, courtoius and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Waterford
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Waterford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, courtoius and convenient”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

This motel is close to major highways, 24 hour shopping and multiple quality restaurants, yet it's just far enough away from these activities to give you a feeling of tranquility.

The owners seem to understand 'curb appeal' and have pride in the appearance...nice flowers and grounds. And their pride also shows in the room which was truly spotless...cleaner than my home!

The motel has been well-maintained. Everything worked...the A/C was quiet...the shower had power...the bathroom fan was reasonably quiet...etc.

Dave is an engaging, long-term owner with a generous early-in/late-out policy. I got the feeling he would work with anyone to produce a good outcome.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    44
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
42
42
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chino
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for my mother while visiting over the holidays. The staff treated her like royalty! The room was clean and had a kitchenette that was wonderful. Nice view and close to everything. Like I said, the staff was so wonderful to my elderly mother and she felt so welcome. Thank you for treating our mom so well and showing such great hospitality!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Steffenino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Staying here again on an upcoming trip, figured it was about time I put it on paper. This place is truly a gem. Situated right off 95 and close to 395, it is a great location for many area attractions! Quiet area and safe location. Walmart close by as well as an assortment of eateries, gas and dunkin's!

A reviewer said it best, it is not a 5 star ritz, it is a 5 star motel. What is the difference? In room amenities, mini bars, whirlpool baths etc, not here. What you get is an extremely well maintained room, probably even better maintained then some 4 and 5 star joints.

Beds are not fancy pillowtops, but are fine. Sheets not 1000 thread count, but are fine as well. I can't do aerobics in the bathroom, but again, clean and suitable! Bottom line, we frequent the area and have stayed at most hotels and motels between Groton and Waterford. Great value, for the area, especially during the seasonal months.

Random stuff....they do have a nice pool out front, a weight room (old school) and a basic continental, no elevators. I hesitate to post, cuz i want to keep this jewel on the down low :). Last time through, owner greeted me by name, before id n cc and asked about our upcoming gig. Nice guy. Happy travels.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Plebow14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at the Rodeway Inn after a concert at Mohegan Sun. The front desk was very helpful when I made the reservation when I had to call back and change dates at the last minute. They could not have been more eager to please. The property is very basic, decor a bit tired, but spotlessly clean and priced right. The rooms cost less than half what rooms at Mohegan Sun were and we were only 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amomfrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, USA
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We decided to deviate from our usual stays at Hampton Inn to try the Rodeway Inn in Waterford, CT. The hotel is very convenient to the interstate and most attractions in the New London area. This location backs up to woods and offers a large front yard complete with a swimming pool, volleyball court, grill, and even a small baseball batting cage. The yard area would be great for families who have small children needing to stretch their legs or let off some steam.

The building is very cute for the area and is impeccably maintained, both inside and out. Paint is refreshed, and every single corner of the rooms and bathrooms are spotless! (We reserved 2 rooms. One of them did have a smell that reminded me of a nursing home, but the other smelled totally fine.) There was a nice, small counter area in the rooms with a small refrigerator and a microwave.

This is not to say that the facilities are updated. The bathroom wallpaper reminded me of the 1980s, but it is in perfect condition. The facilities are also not equal to the level of a Hampton Inn, for example. I'm not sure when or where I have last slept on beds such as these. The box springs are the loudest you have ever heard. They sound as though they are made of cardboard--very creaky. Neither the sheets nor the towels are soft, and the rooms are not outfitted with any extras such as ironing boards or even alarm clocks. Soundproofing between rooms is minimal. I'm pretty sure there is no elevator on the 2-story premises. There is no extra safety lock on the doors which lead straight to the outdoors. The continental breakfast is completely adequate but very small, consisting of bagels, donuts, fruit, coffee, and juice.

The staff of the Rodeway Inn is very friendly and helpful, and they obviously do a lot to take care of their place. I can't say enough that the place was VERY clean, even with the odd smell in one of our rooms. For the price and convenient location, it is a good deal and not a bad place to stay. If you are used to a little more luxury, though, you might not be so happy with this one.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chanin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, CT
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Five stars at a motel in Waterford is not the same as five stars at the Plaza because you must compare to similar properties - but this place is delightful for a roadside hotel. The staff is lovely. The property is well appointed and clean. There is a pool which I have not used, but others seem to be enjoying. The owners obviously care because there are lovely plantings and flowers everywhere. The airconditioner is a room unit but keeps the room comfortable. I love that there is a little efficiency kitchen so I could keep some yogurt (oh yes, and some wine) chilled. You could even do a small amount of cooking as there is a stove top and microwave as well as the refrigerator. My "next door neighbors" are from Montreal and said they come here every year for a week or two which is a pretty good reference I think! It is right on I95 so quite convenient, but no road noise during the night! (I think the "white noise" from the airconditioner probably helped!) I had a great night's sleep. All in all, this is a very nice place if you need a stopover in eastern CT -and it is close to the beaches and the casinos too!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelling_Wiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deux-Montagnes, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Hello everybody,
After 5 years of vacation at the Rodeway Inn with my family, this is my evaluation.

First of all, the motel is situated near everything, stores, restaurants and activities.
On the other hand, the rooms are very clean and are big. The bathrooms are clean.

To conclude, the staff is doing an amazing job at making their clients feel like home. They are there to satisfy their clients. They are like a second family for 2 weeks a year.
David Picolo, the owner is always there to make our trip even more awesome and agreable.

If you have a chance to come at the Rodeway Inn in Waterford, you'll understand when we say that it's our second home.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pleasure4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
2.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in Niantic
194 reviews
8.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Mystic Waterford
1.4 mi away
Oakdell Motel
Oakdell Motel
#3 of 5 in Waterford
74 reviews
3.5 mi away
Niantic Inn
Niantic Inn
#2 of 8 in Niantic
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Waterford

Property: Rodeway Inn Waterford
Address: 211 Waterford Pkwy N, Waterford, CT 06385-1209
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Waterford
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Waterford 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rodeway Inn Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Waterford Hotel Waterford
Waterford Rodeway Inn
Lamplighter Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing