We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They deliver during weekday lunch hours now!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Golden Palace Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 51 Restaurants in Watertown
Restaurant details
US
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They deliver during weekday lunch hours now!”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

And they have so much vegetrian food now. We're so happy. It is by far, our favorite Chinese restaurant. :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ICforYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thomaston, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dependable good Chinese”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

What can you say about Chinese except you want it fresh and consistent. We've not been disappointed yet...

Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delicious, just what you're looking for...”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We dine here and get takeout and have never been disappointed. It has all the old-time favorites and I recommend the boneless spare ribs - they are superb. Prices are reasonable and service is top-notch, kids are welcome and sometimes roam all over the restaurant floor which rocks!! Always give take-out pickup 10 mins more than they say or you will be waiting...it's all good here and not much else good around.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MXEditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, CT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I don't recommend this restaurant anymore!”
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We dined at the Golden Palace last evening and were very disappointed. The restaurant recently changed hands....something we did not know before going there...and the quality of the food is not good. As I mentioned in a review a few years ago, we enjoyed meals there for over 20 years and when it changed hands a few years ago the quality of the food remained the same. This time, however, it did not...the food was terrible. I feel bad for our waitress, Alice who has been there for many years. We will not be going back...

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mavlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, CT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best Chinese restaurant in northwest Connecticut”
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We have been dining at The Golden Palace Restaurant in Watertown, CT for about 20 years and have always enjoyed consistently delicious Chinese food. It was owned by Pat and Jane Soo for many, many years and was sold over a year ago to a very nice young couple who run it exactly the way Pat and Jane did. They did update the interior of the restaurant and it looks very classy and comfortable. The waitstaff is friendly and efficient. My favorite dishes are hot and sour soup, dumplings - both steamed and fried, moo shi pork or shrimp, a tidbit platter consisting of fried shrimp, egg rolls, chicken wings (the best!) and pork spare ribs and also love their shrimp lo mein. My husband usually orders something that is a little spicy. This is, by far, the best Chinese Restaurant in the area!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mavlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Palace Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Golden Palace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing