We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rivertrees Country Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$311
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$277
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$683
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Gateway Lodge(Usa River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Makaseni lodge(Usa River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveller rating
329
183
37
11
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
183
37
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskilimanjaro airportsmall riverpizza ovenfarm houseone nightrose petalsoutdoor showeropen kitchenlong flightthomson safarisvervet monkeysgreat introductionjet lagarusha national parkfirst nightmosquito nettingpeaceful setting
Filter
Updating list...
354 - 359 of 561 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Rivertrees was our first experience in Tanzania - a calm oasis away from the dust and bustle of Arusha, and just 30 mins from airport. Staff very friendly and helpful, willing to chat about life in Tanzania, education, politics. French management is very efficient and helpful. Great food and outdoor fires. Good wines, too. Open kitchen with smartly attired staff is out of a film!! Rooms are individual chalets with adjoining brushed cement designer bathrooms and 4 poster beds to hang the mosquito nets from. Definitely a wow effect on opening the door. The river runs right by the rooms and the vegetation is lush. We spent an afternoon just watching the antics of the vervet monkeys in the gardens, and were graced with our first glimpse of Mt Kilimanjaro. So relaxing. We'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank KirstyC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Was there only one night (the first night we arrived before setting off for our safari holiday). So it was nice. Little cottages type. The lights went out tho and it was hard to take a shower via torchlight. Happens I know but it was the only place throughout our trip we had to do that. There's free wifi in the main lobby area.

Food was ok. A bit overdone beef and not as great but ok.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My friend Ricardo and I started our great Tanzanian/Kenyan safari landing in Kilimanjaro airport, from where we were taken to this beautiful oasis of peace, tranquility and impeccable service. The hotel is in perfect harmony with the surrounding nature. The gardens are gorgeous and there is a huge amount of wildlife to be seen there. We managed to spot some beautiful ground hornbill birds and huge amounts of vervet monkeys playing in the gardens. The rooms are spacious, beautiful and very atmospheric. We loved the service we got from the staff and the food was delicious as well. Overall...the best way to start our safari !!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rafaelnovielli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We were fortunate enough to stay two nights at this wonderful lodge. It was the beginning of our Safari in Tanzania. We were celebrating our 37th wedding anniversary, and the staff went out of their way to make it a special occasion. There were 37 roses in our room, and they made us a special anniversary cake.
We enjoyed the food, and the pizza from the woodfired oven was excellent.
Staff were were very friendly, and even made special arrangements for me to watch the World Cup matches.
We enjoyed the tranquility of the gardens. It was a great introduction to Tanzania, and to the nearby town of Arusha.
We thought that this was a good value, and would recommend it to anyone traveling to Arusha.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Our safari schedule called for an arrival at the Rivertrees Inn in the late evening, then up early the next morning to being the safari -- since we are from the "better safe than sorry" school of travel, we scheduled our arrival a day early to give us time to adjust to the time change and be ready to start our adventure!

Rivertrees is a lovely place -- and a full day was a little too much time for me. The pool was closed for maintenance (but it was too chilly for swimming!), and the property is wonderful. We were correct that we wanted to sleep in -- we did not wake up until about 9 am (barely in time to get dressed and get to breakfast, LOL!) -- and we spent the morning walking around taking photos. But in reality, I was rested and ready to go after lunch, but by then it was a little too late to plan anything, since it gets dark by around 6 pm.

So we spent the rest of the afternoon and evening just hanging out until the rest of our group arrived -- around 8 pm. But yes, I would definitely come a day early again, since we had breakfast at 6 am -- and out the door by 6:30!

As for the specifics of the hotel, the room was wonderful. Relics of its days of a coffee planation decorate the rooms and common areas. The staff is friendly -- but as wonderful as the location and people are -- well, the food is even better!

I've seen some so-so reviews of the pizza (which we did not have). We had the "lunch special" the day we were there, figuring that if it was made special, must be good! There was a ginger carrot soup, that was the best I've ever had, and a lamb stew for lunch. Quite good. My recollection is that dinner was good, but it was the ginger-carrot soup that was the best thing I ate there!

We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again if we have the good fortune to be able to travel to Arusha again!

Room Tip: Rooms here are cottage style, except for those in the old plantation house -- three bedrooms with a large common room and a huge porch with a view of Mt. Kilimanjaro. We stayed in the planation house and were very pleased.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SkippinWork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews