We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arumeru River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Usa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We planned two nights here to recover from long flights before our safari. The room is large with a large bathroom with rain shower. However, we had no water, the safe was locked and the phone is broken so we had to walk (through the rain!) to reception. After lunch discovered that not even water is included- for such an expensive hotel! The next day there were few guests so there was little food for breakfast (they ran out of bacon and sausages and croissants) but lunch was even worse - almost nothing on the menu was available, chicken breast turned out to be leg and the coffee was cold. By the end of the second day the phone still does not work and there are ants in the bathroom.
Wifi is available (fee) but very slow away from reception.
Staff are friendly and helpful but we cannot recommend this place,especially for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellers2anddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

We began our Tanzania safari at Arumeru River Lodge ~ the perfect oasis. After a very long flight, we could not have been more delighted to arrive late evening (9:45 p.m.) and be treated to a warm welcome, an evening snack of Red Bean soup (delicious!) and conversation with owners Maren & Torsten. The next morning we awoke to beautiful gardens, a delicious breakfast in the outside dining room, and a tour of the surrounding area. After each outing, it was a pleasure to return to Arumeru and their accommodating staff, delicious food, and breathtaking surroundings, including Mt. Kilimanjaro popping through the clouds. I am so thankful that our 14 day excursion began and ended at Arumeru. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josephine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We enjoyed chatting with Torsten, the owner and hearing his story. Sadly, we arrived rather late for dinner on our first evening, and there was a very large group already there. The dinner buffet was sadly depleted, not replenished, hot food not very hot, cold food not very cold (a little scary in Africa), and the staff seemed to be at the end of their "shift". Staff was ok that day, and a little warmer the next day. Cabins are very spacious, very clean, and have nice big showers. The grounds are beautiful, and the pool large, clean and well fitted out with loungers. Prices for drinks from the bar are reasonable. Our a la carte meals the next night were not any better.
It's over an hour's drive from Kili to this lodge, and it's also not anything like walking distance to anything else. For a nice getaway, it's ok. For the kind of traveler they are appealing to, I hope the food experience is better. From other reviewers, it seems that it may be a case of luck.

Room Tip: Some are farther from the main lodge than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Lovely lodge, comfortable cabins, well maintained grounds with a pool and little Dik Diks wandering freely around the place. Staff were pleasant and tried hard to please. The buffet both at breakfast and dinner where just ok and the pump flask coffee/tea/hot water was not easy to use. Other meals we had were not the highlight of the stay. Friendly owners on site who also ate in the restaurant - I wonder if they had the Ossobucco the night I had it!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I loved this lodge, main lodge was beautiful, the rooms bright and comfortable, the food was delicious, but most important the was the wonderful service. The owner and several of the staff met our vehicle on arrival with fresh juice and a warm welcome. We arrived after dark after a long flight and were impressed with the decor of the lodge a what we could see of the grounds. We freshened up and given a excellent dinner and the next morning enjoyed a great breakfast on the open terrace. The owners Torsten & Maren our on site and were very solicitous of the need of their guests.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I stayed here before and after my climb on Mt Kilimanjaro. Had an amazing time in this place, the whole area is really big with lots of greenery, and yet hardly any mosquitoes (surprisingly). Of course as a few other reviewers have mentioned, you get to see the animals here, especially the dik-diks, lovely cute little creatures these are. If you're lucky you wake up in the morning to them strolling about right outside your lodge.

Food here is delicious, I remember having battered fish and chips once which was just about one of the best I've had ever. I think they have barbecue buffet for dinner on Sundays (check with them).

Rooms are well kept, staff are very nice, friendly, give great service and and seem to love working here.

Only downside to this is the location which is quite a bit away from town. It's otherwise great, perfect for those who like quiet settings and just want a get-away vacation or something.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zach A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Spent two nights here after our safari. It was a great place to chill and relax. The gardens are stunning and we enjoyed exploring them and watching the dik diks and birds. Rooms are basic and need a bit of TLC but are fine. The lodge is beautiful and decorated so nicely! The odd part was the "vibe" in the place! It is not warm and welcoming and the staff are rather strange. We had such poor service except for the kind and accomplished chef. The atmosphere felt stiff and uncomfortable at meal times and we had to ask for napkins, drinks...no one asked after us at all. The tea/coffee service was in ridiculous pumping thermos which were difficult to use and no one served you after you sat down, which meant countless trips to the coffee table! It's little things, I know, first world problems, but we had better service in the bush in a tented camp than at this lovely lodge and it was just strange. The staff needs some training in food service and customer service pronto or business will drop off. We just laughed at all the missteps (can I have ice with my tonic water? Waitress came with ONE ice cube and said her colleague was making ANOTHER ONE! We enjoyed a good laugh over that one!) Again the place is just beautiful and relaxing....just expect to ask for everything you need/want as no one is going to ask you if YOU need anything. Manager has only been there for 3 months, but I'm would have expected these basic things to have been addressed by now.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lltunis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usa
1.8 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
474 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
7.0 mi away
Arusha Planet Lodge
Arusha Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
603 reviews
9.6 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
1,010 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arumeru River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arumeru River Lodge

Address: Usa, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Usa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Usa
Price Range: £178 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arumeru River Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arumeru River Lodge is a great starting point for your Safari. Only 30 minutes from the airport and the city of Arusha it is tucked away behind an old coffee plantation - far away from the everday hazzles.In dreamlike tropical gardens our 29 rooms & suites offer a touch of African Elegance. Visit Arusha National Park or explore the nearby rainforest on one of our exciting half-day excursions that we organize here on the Lodge on short notice. Or, just relax at our large solar heated pool watching the Dikdik antelopes playing in the garden. Get spoiled by our Zansibarioan Chefs with African and international dishes in our Migration's Restaurant and enjoy a drink at the open fire place in our lounge.Our entire team will try their very best to give you a very warm and personal welcome to Tanzania.Karibu!Maren & Torsten(Ownwers & Managers) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Arumeru River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arumeru River Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing