We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arumeru River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$683
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gateway Lodge(Usa River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Makaseni lodge(Usa River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Nuru Guest House(Usa River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
122
114
27
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
114
27
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdik dikguinea fowlkilimanjaro airporttraveled with another couplefirst nighttwo nightslong flightgrounds are beautifulfun to watchminute drive from the airportgreat bedrelaxing startindividual cabinsnorthern circuitnice gardengreat place to startgreat pool
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights before our safari and had a day room on our last day in Tanzania. The rooms are simple and comfortable and the grounds are quiet and lovely. Service was great and the food is basic (especially lunch) but very good. We loved the rainforest walk with the owner - colobus monkeys and a view of village life the Tanzania that is sobering and worthwhile. We enjoyed the pool and just relaxing in the lovely lounge area. It's hard for me to imagine an easier jumping off point on your way into or out of Tanzania.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MelloB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This was a great place to start and finish our kili and safari trip. The owners and staff were very nice and helpful. The dinners and breakfasts were good. We stayed here 3 different times during our trip in Tanzania. The newer junior suites were the best rooms. Internet is also now free which was a nice surprise. The laundry turnaround time on request was a nice feature as well. The location was outside of the city which was peaceful.

Room Tip: I like the junior suites the best. Very new.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TIAdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The Arumeru was a lovely place place to start our vacation in Tanzania. We were only able to spend one night here, but I could have easily spent more. As many have said the grounds are lovely and it was the best viewing of Dik Dik's we had during our whole trip. Our room was spacious and clean, although I couldn't seem to figure out how to get hot water!, and our breakfast in the morning was very satisfying.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salix44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed at the Arumeru River Lodge for a few nights before and after a safari vacation and both times were very satisfied. The huge garden that is meticulously well maintained is really unique compared to other lodges. Lots of large trees, flowers and lawns that please the eye and offer plenty of opportunities for sitting in the shade, taking a stroll or watching the cute dik-diks.

The appartments are nice. There are two appartments in each of the little houses that are scattered across the property, each with its own terrace. The appartments are spacious ( approximately 20 square meters) and tastefully decorated with local wooden art. Very clean, no bugs. The bathroom was very well maintained, too. We experienced two issues with the shower however. During our first stay it took roughly 5 minutes for the water to turn warm - and knowing about the scarcity of clean water in the area we felt bad for letting the shower run for several minutes before stepping in. During our second stay we wanted to shower before leaving for the airport but realized that for whatever reason that morning at 5:30 only very few and cold water trickled from the shower ( we assume the water pump did not work because of a power cut), so we had to go on our trip back home unshowered... Not a big deal but they state warm water is available 24 hours, so it was an inconvenience.

I have seen comments on the exceptional friendliness and supportiveness of both the staff and the German owners in other reviews and can only confirm that everyone we dealt with during our stay was just wonderful. The waiters taught us a few words in Swahili, the owner entertained uns with anecdotes and background information about the lodge, and the receptionist organized a taxi in no time when our driver who was supposed to take us to the airport did not show up.

The food was very good, and particularly being able to eat salads (they wash everything with water that has been sanitized with UV light) and fruit was fantastic. Nothing fancy served, but solid, carefully prepared home style food like Indian- inspired curries, pasta, roasts. Service a bit slow at times, but we were not in a rush so were not really bugged.

The pool was unfortunately unusable for a few days as a pipe had broken and repair work was going on which was a bit of a disappointment as I had been looking forward to some splashing in the pool. It seemed like the owners were doing everything they could to fix the issue as soon as possible though. And we could still use the sunbeds near the pool for napping and reading so that was nice.

What I particularly enjoyed about this lodge was the calm and peaceful atmosphere that the place has. It felt like an oasis of contentment and serenity - just radiating very good " vibes".

I would definitely come back if I had to make the choice again and can wholeheartedly recommend the lodge to anyone who is looking for an easy-going, casual yet beautiful place with owners that care about both their guests and their staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyBergfex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The grounds are nice and well kept, it was fun for friends who were first time visitors to Tanzania to see the Dik Dik's running around on the property. However, the rooms were basic and fairly well maintained. Although we were told not to drink the water or use it to brush our teeth, we were given one bottle daily. Because I was a single, I could have only one tiny threadbare towel. The pillows were hideous, small and lumpy. The mosquito netting was frayed. Breakfasts were ok, but the dinners were awful. I wouldn't recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuitosCGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews