We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Restful in Tranquil Surroundings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arumeru River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arumeru River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Usa
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Restful in Tranquil Surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Arrived as party of two where we were cordially greeted by the mangers and briefed about the property, surrounds and meals. The expanse of the well maintained and manicured property was vey impressive, along with the abundance of dik-dik antelope and guinea fowls which roam freely about the lodges and its surrounds. The rooms of our accommodation were spacious and well maintained. After the long flight from Australia, this was the perfect surroundings for a short interval prior to commencing our safari (HM Safaris). The meals were well presented with a great assortment of international and African cuisine. The Lodge is only 45 minutes from the Kilimanjaro Airport. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    104
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
64
113
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Before embarking on our safari trip, the guys at Naipenda safaris (awesome safari company by the way) suggested we spend a night there to take a rest from the long travel. They booked us a 2 story-suite which is outstanding to say the least. The hotel itself is so quite that I spent 2.5 hours reading in the porch only surrounded by dikdiks (antelopes) and the sound of birds and didnt witness a single human being. The food is excellent by the way

Room Tip: Choose the 2 story suite, kids upstairs, parents down, complete isolation. I think they have 2 suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hatem t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Coming on the tail end of my daughter's and my two week adventure in TZ where we ascended Kili during the first week and took in the amazing flora and fauna of three of the country's national parks during the second, we could not have asked for a more beautiful, serene, and inviting place than that of the Arumeru River Lodge. From the first step out of our Land Cruiser at the entrance where we were greeted with flutes of Mango juice, to the beautifully designed main lodge, to the individual bugalow where we slept, it was just what we needed to unwind, relax, and relfect on the many-splendored sights, sounds, smells, and, most importantly, people of Tanzania. Yannick and Diana (the co-managers), and the very helpful staff of Arumeru could not have been more welcoming or engaging.

I recomnmend it for all those coming to the Arusha area as the perfect escape from your more "active" escapades in the country.

Thank you, thank you, Arumeru River Lodge!

Cheers,

Ian

Room Tip: Our room (#5) was ideally situated and wonderfully appointed. No complaints whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed her on our last night in Tanzania and it was the perfect choice, quiet, beautiful and lovely accommodations. I took the rainforest walk in the morning and got some much needed exercise before the long flight home. Diana and Yannick were so helpful and even made sure we made our flight after we misread the departure time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moshi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were at Arumeru Lodge last month and we really enjoy it. The couple manager are very nice. We had a nice welcoming.The garden is beautiful and very peaceful,lot of exotic flowers and plants are growing so nicely. There are lot of beautiful birds, even some Dik-Diks and some Guinea Fowl are wild in the garden.There are as well some streams crossing the garden in some places witch give a nice ambiance too.The rooms are nice, spacious and very well maintained.I will recommend that lodge for a few days and do some activities around as ex: Visiting Arusha Park, walking a day in the forest of Mt Meru etc.......

Room Tip: Dik-Diks rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I along with 2 friends stayed at Arumeru for 2 nights upon our arrival. We chose this lodge due to its proximity to the JRO airport and to Arusha NP which was the first park we would visit. Past reviews were consistently good. The lodge and its grounds are beautiful. Its truly relaxing to just walk around there with the birds in the trees and the resident diks diks and bush babies. If you are lucky, you might get a glimpse of Kili on a clear day from the lawns and the outdoor dining area.
The food was good and the staff was friendly esp the lodge manager. He spent time with the guests telling us about the lodge and tanzania and his family. The second night of our stay two large groups arrived and the staff managed all of us - the food was plentiful good and served in time.
We had requested for a triple sharing room. The rooms were fine. They have fans but no Air conditioning. I felt warm at night so a pedestal fan would have been great. Im not sure how warm it would be during the dry season but its nothing that spoilt our stay or sleep. The bathrooms were clean the showers were hot and water flow was strong. But what was really nice was the resort like feel of the whole place. Asante Sana Arumeru!
This was a Great find and highly recommended !!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Puneet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
202 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

My family and I stayed at this lodge for 2 nights prior to our northern circuit 2 week safari and also used this is as our home base for a day room prior to departing the evening of our last night.

We loved this lodge. It is high fenced with security and felt very safe. Their are resident Dik-Dik and bush babies. Also had vervet monkeys and bat eared foxes. Very nice grounds with perfect manicure of the grass and landscaping.

Great service with very friendly and willing staff. Served us late dinner when we arrived and early dinner prior to our departure and was willing to accommodate us.

The rooms are very nice. Good hot water and reliable electricity. Fans only and no A/C. No bugs in the rooms. Nice bathrooms. Comfortable beds. Very nice pool.

This is a nice stopover after the Amsterdam flight and a great place for a dayroom the last day.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usa
1.8 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
7.0 mi away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 43 in Arusha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lake Duluti Serena Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arumeru River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arumeru River Lodge

Property: Arumeru River Lodge
Address: PO Box 46, USA River, Usa, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Usa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Usa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arumeru River Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arumeru River Lodge is a great starting point for your Safari. Only 30 minutes from the airport and the city of Arusha it is tucked away behind an old coffee plantation - far away from the everday hazzles.In dreamlike tropical gardens our 29 rooms & suites offer a touch of African Elegance. Visit Arusha National Park or explore the nearby rainforest on one of our exciting half-day excursions that we organize here on the Lodge on short notice. Or, just relax at our large solar heated pool watching the Dikdik antelopes playing in the garden. Get spoiled by our Zansibarioan Chefs with African and international dishes in our Migration's Restaurant and enjoy a drink at the open fire place in our lounge.Our entire team will try their very best to give you a very warm and personal welcome to Tanzania.Karibu!Maren & Torsten(Ownwers & Managers) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HRS, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Arumeru River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arumeru River Hotel Arusha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing