We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable in West Hartford, CT”
Review of West Hartford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Hartford Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in West Hartford
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed so that we could visit the homes of Samuel Clemens and Harriet Beecher Stowe. The location was good; the bed was comfortable. Although there was an attached club, we never heard a peep of their loud music.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West_Hartford_Inn, Manager at West Hartford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments. It is wonderful to hear you chose our hotel due to convenience of our hotel near to two iconic landmarks. We look forward to your return visit, so you can enjoy upcoming improvements to our hotel.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel because it was convenient to festivities for a recent family wedding. Given a choice, I would not stay here again.

We were greeted with signs about the hotel's renovation, but had no idea we would be staying in a room that WAS in the throes of being renovated. Baseboards were non-existent, the rug was coming up, a towel rack was literally falling out of the wall, the air-conditioning system did not work except on 'high' and then not for very long (this would prove to be very bad), and the fan/overhead light system in the bathroom did not work at all. The blankets had holes in them.

The hotel was difficult to find, as the sign is small and nearly obscured by other business signs and entered via a tiny driveway. Furthermore, the exercise room is not locked and no towels are available to wipe down equipment. Rooms were very slow to be cleaned, so that ours didn't get cleaned at all, by the time we returned mid-afternoon.

All of that might have been overlooked except for the proximity of this hotel to the Shish Club. Not only did we have to walk through clouds of smoke from smokers outside the club in order to reach the door but we were awakened both nights of our stay by partiers exiting the club at 2 AM. These people were not just talking, they were yelling, fighting, and screaming and such noise went on for at least an hour. Forewarned after the first night, we tried to damp the noise the second night via the air-conditioning system but it turned itself off, even on the 'high' setting before 2:00 AM. Unfortunately there were no other rooms on the other side of the hotel.

We mentioned all this to the clerk who did not bother to discount anything but did mention that they never put people in a particular room (202 - not ours) due to the bass music club noise that penetrates through the walls. Why would they even ever USE that room is beyond me!

The only good thing about this hotel were the comfortable beds, the proximity to Town and Blueback Squares, and the free wireless.

Room Tip: Hmmmm. If you have to stay here, I would not choose a weekend. And ask for a room on non-club (not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grizingraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West_Hartford_Inn, Manager at West Hartford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for bringing your concerns about our hotel to our attention. Management understands that the partial upgrades had caused a bit of disorder in some of our rooms. We are doing our best to increase the attractiveness and functionality to better suit the needs of our guests. With recent staff changes, and completed upgrades to the 3rd and 4th floors, we have been able to do so in a timelier manner. We hope you will revisit our hotel, so you can see our commitment to providing a comfortable experience to all of our guests.

Respectfully yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Comfortable, charming inn. Would go back in a second! Steven made our stay comfortable, as well as the desk attendant. We stayed in the suite, #207, I believe, and it was just wonderful. Spacious room with GE Profile appliances: microwave and toaster oven. There was also a coffee maker. The room was EXTRA clean, had a king size bed, nice linens, great furnishings. Good breakfast with cereals, milk, juices and Otis Spunkmeyer muffins. Very "homey" atmosphere. Great off-street parking. Can't complain.

Room Tip: Ask to see a room before you book. They are more likely to give you a room that is nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristRule1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I had a wonderful experience at the West Hartford Inn. The staff was friendly, the rooms were very comfortable and it was the perfect location for shopping in the area. I especially liked the breakfast in the morning, it made it easy to eat and go. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmoweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I was in West Hartford for a family event and stayed at the Inn. its location is very convenient. Inn is a clean place with lot's of freebies, including workout facilities, internet, HBO, breakfast, phone and covered parking garage. very recommended. very considering staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vasia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I was visiting the area so I decided to stay there.When I checked the staff was very friendly .when I got to my room it was cleansed that was a great relief.I had read some reviews which weren't so positive....I was a bit skeptical when I was booking the room but I decided to go ahead because it served my purpose.I was glad the room was clean.The breakfast next morning was decent.The front desk staff was very helpful they even printed some directions for me...overall I would recommend staying at The West Hartford Inn if u are visiting the area!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I was in W. Hartford for a family event and stayed here because it was closest to my brother's home. Room was simple (as was expected). Found electric shaver whiskers in basket along with complimentary soaps (I used my own). Fan in ceiling light sounded like it was ready to blow right out of the fixture. WHen I returned to room Saturday eve, the booming disco in the restaurant below was loud and disturbing as were the parking valet attendants below my window. But the coup de grace was the clump of long black hair I discovered when I was plumping up my pillows to try to sleep! Not a great stay but I made it to the morning and miraculously a hot shower. Never again!

Room Tip: Ask to be away from restaurant disco end of building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hartford
0.3 mi away
Delamar West Hartford
Delamar West Hartford
#1 of 2 in West Hartford
25 reviews
2.9 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown
4.4 mi away
Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Avon Old Farms Hotel
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
4 mi away
Homewood Suites Hartford Farmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Hartford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Hartford Inn

Address: 900 Farmington Ave, West Hartford, CT 06119-1400
Region: United States > Connecticut > West Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in West Hartford
Price Range: £70 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — West Hartford Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and Convenience. West Hartford Inn now offers newly upgraded rooms. You can start off your morning with free wi-fi, take a jog on the treadmill or have a quick weight-lifting session. Then enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast. Whether you are staying with us for business or social travel, much of what CT offers is nearby. In fact, we are located within walking distance of Blue Back Square and West Hartford Center, which are both filled with bars, restaurants, and shops. Also, we are just a short drive away from the following Universities: Saint Joseph, Hartford (including The Hartt School), UConn School of Law, and Trinity. Don't forget to visit well-known tourist attractions, such as the Mark Twain House, the Harriet Beecher Stowe House, The New Children's Museum, the CT Science Center, Wadsworth Atheneum and many other exciting locations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your West Hartford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hartford Hotel West Hartford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing