We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little cafe for lunch” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Petite France - CLOSED

La Petite France
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Description: Discover a taste of Europe without leaving Connecticut! La Petite France brings the French quality of life to you while engaging all your senses. From tasty homemade food to a relaxing and welcoming ambiance, come enjoy an authentic Parisian experience here in West Hartford!
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice little cafe for lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stopped here for a crepe and sandwich for lunch. Good basic fare with a small seating area perfect for our needs.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPFBakery, Public Relations Manager at La Petite France, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Elowry thank you so much for stopping by our cafe and taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you will stop by again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had so looked forward to going here and we walked in to find a small restaurant crowded with tables and only two customers. I don't think you could walk to the back if it were full of people, not easily anyway...We tried several tables until we found a clean one which our knees would fit underneath. This was our first (and only) visit, I asked "How you order? menus? Do we order from the board on the wall? I had hoped the young man behind the register would give a quick run down...I found the menu by accident. He offered no suggestions.
We ordered Croque Monsieur (one of my favorites) and the sandwich arrived with the edges all around were dried out and the cheese overdone and hard...not pleasant to bite into...the ham was good. I went back to get a pastry for dessert and noone was to be found. I waited a bit but finally gave up, No idea what happened to the two young men there.
An unhappy meal all around...I hope this was only a bad day they were having that day because I will never return. BTW, Avert, a French restaurant around the corner has very good service and is CLEAN and has one of the best Croque Monsieurs I have ever tasted.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelersrus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPFBakery, Public Relations Manager at La Petite France, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi Travelersrus2, so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent visit to our cafe. I want to personally apologize for the poor visit you experienced as we strive for great food and customer service at La Petite France.

I can assure you that we do not normally conduct business in this way and would ask that you give us another chance to show you the wonderful cafe experience that you deserve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
308 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“loved the chocolate croissant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

the croissants are delicious. we also had macaroons. they were very good as well. i would certainly purchase pastry here again. the atmosphere is cozy and small. we took our items home to eat. i liked the selection of items.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank preppygirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPFBakery, Public Relations Manager at La Petite France, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Hi Karen thank you so much for coming into the cafe and for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.

We are so glad you enjoyed the croissants and macarons and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
145 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Paris in West Hartford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Everything about the place says, "I care." The food is wonderful. The desserts are superb (get those macaroons, oh my) and their coffee and cafe laits are perfect. The service is good and they seem to really care if you enjoyed your meal. Are you going to ask for more than that? Plus - they speak French!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilipConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPFBakery, Public Relations Manager at La Petite France, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hi Philip, thank you so much for your recent visit to the cafe and for your wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed the food and service, and our signature macarons. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

My favorite lunch place in WH Center. Excellent food, cozy atmosphere, lovely staff that make you feel at home

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SarahAnne715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPFBakery, Public Relations Manager at La Petite France, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hi Sarah thank you so much for your recent visit to the cafe and for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoy the food, atmosphere, and staff and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Petite France also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing