We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”

Cora Cora Resaurant
Ranked #3 of 172 Restaurants in West Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Peruvian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Eastham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Perhaps I was expecting too much after reading all the TripAdvisor reviews and seeing the #1 rating. Don't get me wrong, I had a very pleasant experience and good service, nice setting and atmosphere. But when I see a food menu that goes for pages and pages with lots and lots of items, then a beverage menu and wine list without any prices, I get a little suspicious. It is obviously a family run, home cooking type of place and wait staff couldn't have been nicer. And it is spacious enough so that the noise level is minimal and you could actually carry on a conversation with your guests. But I think what most people like about the food is that it is Peruvian (different from the same old, same old) and very good value for the price. The best dishes were beef based, sea food dishes very average, and I strongly dislike soggy french fries and mediocre rice. I did not try vegetarian, quinoa nor desserts. I will return again and try different things as I want to support small family run restaurants and food is above average, but #1? Has no one eaten at Grant's, Brico's, Treva, East-West Grille, Besito?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeCodPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    51
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We researched where to eat in Hartford, and Cora Cora Restaurant was top of the list. After driving by this restaurant many times, my wife and I decided to give it a try. When stepping into the restaurant, you can feel the richness of the Peruvian culture. The ambiance is nice, everything is pristine, and it's always a good sign when the bathrooms are clean! The service was excellent. Our server was very helpful in recommending his top favorite dishes and was also very passionate when explaining the background of the dishes. Overall, this restaurant was definitely a hidden gem for us. Don't make the same mistake of driving by without popping in for a wonderful meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuanle89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
118 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Easily five stars”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Two drinks, appetizers, entrees, two desserts all for $72. Very authentic meals. Food was excellent, restaurant is comfortable and spacious, rest rooms were clean, staff couldn't have been more attentive. Menu is enormous. We will be back often.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoshuaMConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Authentic and tasty cuisine, served by knowledgeable and extremely friendly staff. We went with a party of 7 and though they'd misplaced our reservation, they accommodated us immediately without complaint. Not a dud among the many dishes ordered. Plentiful servings, so go easy on the appetizers. Some will not like the ex-McDonald's setting, but it works fine. You'll know the way to the restrooms if you've ever been to a McD's! Oh, most GPS will take you to the shopping center, and the restaurant itself is slightly off the shopping center footprint. Look around for where you would expect a fast-food restaurant to be, and you'll find Cora Cora.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hoch_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
371 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“The TA reviews were accurate but there are some tips to remember.”
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

We followed much of the advice from TA and this is a wonderful restaurant. We will definitely return. Let me first talk about the positives. The place is well located and large with mostly Hispanic patrons presumably from South America. This added much to the ambiance. It was crowded but no one needed to wait for tables. The servers were efficient and friendly. The portions were large and most people, including us took home leftovers. I ordered a Cora Pink Sour that was on the menu without a price and it was wonderful. We shared a Cora Salad that was terrific but wondered why we were not served bread. Later when I inquired to the manager I was informed that we had to ask for bread since it did not come with the Cora Salad. The Salteado De Camaron came with 9 medium sized shrimp and a marvelous white wine sauce. I had requested to substitute the French fries for plantanos which the server agreed to do but later charged me $3.50 for the plantain side dish. The Pescado De Camaron dish came with 5 jumbo shrimp and a white fish. The sauce was very salty but the fish and shrimp were wonderful. My wife and I ordered decaf coffee that was quite good and we shared a Tiramisu that was outrageous. The $10 coupon from The Taste Book basically covered the tip. They were smart to offer this coupon since they have made a future customer of us.
Some tips to remember:
The drink cost $9.50 and should have stated so on the menu so ask the price before ordering.
Make certain that when you ask for a substitution that you will not be charged for a side dish. Finally you must ask for bread with your salad and don't expect it to be offered unless you do. Thank you reviewers of TA for encouraging us to go to this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohrshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cora Cora Resaurant also viewed

West Hartford, CT
 

Been to Cora Cora Resaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing