We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in West Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The hotel was very clean, the rooms and the beds were clean. It is so nice to come to a place where it is just like your own house. i would definitely use this hotel again. Internet access was good. The breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Daniel P,

It's so nice to see you compare your stay with to your own home. I will certainly be sure to share your feedback with the rest of the team. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the friendliness and active efforts of the staff to please. We drove down from Massachusetts to visit our daughter's family near New Haven and thought that we would try a "new hotel". The location was convenient (just off of route 95), the rooms clean and comfortable, and the breakfast adequate. What was a positive (location near the highway) was also a negative as the traffic noise could be hear constantly in the room. A negative was the poor cleanliness of the elevator and hallway carpets - they appeared not to have been vacuumed in recent history. The room was large and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing route 95.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50Gene77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear 50Gene77,

I am so glad you chose to try us out and had a good exeperience. We would like to turn that inot a great exeperience next time you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Everything was very nice, the A/C unit did not work so it was very difficult to sleep in 80 degrees, but the hotel was kind enough to discount the rate. We are always pleased with Hampton Inns. We have always been satisfied with Hampton Inns whenever we travel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 617josephr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear 617josephr,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry to see the AC did not work properly for you. Thank you for bringing that issue to our attention so we can fix it right away. We want all of our guests to be comfortable with every stay. We hope to see you again soon and assure you we will do everything we can to make sure you are comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We were staying with a large group. And the breakfast wasn't well stocked. Gluten free people are stuck with hard boiled eggs and nearly bad bananas. They usually have peaches and grapefruit dish out but they said they were out. No kitchen staff around had to ask the front desk person. Starbucks down the street.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank K914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear k914,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feeedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is upsetting to see that we failed at providing you with a satisfactory stay. We work towards maintaining and improving our guest satisfaction everyday. We will certainly look into this and make sure this does not happen again. We hope that this was an exception and you will consider giving us another try next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

For business or personal concerns near the West haven VA Hospital, Hampton Inn is clean, safe, affordable, and well-situated. Complimentary breakfast saves some time and expense. Rooms contain refrigerator and microwave, so use the nearby grocery or Walmart for additional needs. Consider dinner at one of the restaurants on Sawmill - may I suggest Uncle Willies as a local landmark. You can reach the VA without getting back on the highway.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Sit10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Sit 10,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is nice to see with all the choices you have that we were your number one. I hope we continue to be your number once choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The Front Desk Staff was kind & helpful throughout my stay. They made me feel at home and comfortable from the moment I checked in, to the moment I checked out. Staff was genuine and real, they were not fake and going through the motions like some staff members might be. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Rebecca E,

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review about your recent stay with us. I will be sure to share your kinds words with the team. I am so happy we achieved our goal in providing you a home away from home exeperience. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This IS the best place to stay, extremely clean, friendly staff, excellent food for the free complementary breakfast. Ruby greeted me at check-in and I was in my room with in 5 minutes. room was extremely clean and roomy. Used the fitness facility in the morning which was very clean, full with water and clean towels. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the Northeast. Can walk across the parking lot to eat at Texas Roadhouse or can walk across the street to shop at Walmart. Right off the exit from I95. This could not be at a better location. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 758beverlyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly A, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear 758beverlyc,

Thank you for you review regarding your recent stay with us. I am happy to see you had a chance to enjoy our fitness center and complimentary breakfast. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Haven
2.8 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Executive Hotel Of New Haven-West Haven
3.8 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milford
3.6 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven

Address: 510 Saw Mill Rd, West Haven, CT 06516-4044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > West Haven
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in West Haven
Price Range: £87 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the coastline of Connecticut during your stay in West Haven. Our property is located 10 minutes from New Haven, the home of Yale University and is close to many area attractions like Bradley Point Park and Yale Peabody Museum. Enjoy free WiFi and a hot free breakfast, as you relax in our clean & fresh Hampton beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites New Haven-South-West Haven
Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven-South-West Haven Hotel West Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing