We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality Plus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in West Haven
Ballston Lake, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hospitality Plus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Jocelyn is a person who makes good things happen !! She smoothed the way for a very comfortable stay for my husband and me,as well as our daughter and her family! She has done this now for the 2 times that we have come for the Yale Invitational! We have enjoyed our stays very much!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank SMC1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternWesthaven, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Mr. and Mrs. SMC1943,

I just wanted to take a moment to personally thank you for your kind comments. I trust all went well during your stay with us, and that you found our services more than satisfactory.

Our entire staff is looking forward to working with you again soon. If I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to call me at 203-933-0344 ext 115.

Looking forward for your return.

Sincerely,

Jocelyn Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    80
    64
    40
    28
See reviews for
101
53
35
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed in this hotel along with the group and the hotel is very nice and clean even on the snow season. They are also renovating the hotel. The pool was also clean and re-painted. Breakfast is awesome. The Manager, Jocelyn Rojas is awesome. We came early and she accommodated us ..She was alone in the Front Desk but was able to prepare the keys right away. The parking is big and they can accommodate trucks and buses. This is good for big groups and truckers. Rate was affordable. definitely we are coming back in this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at backside is a quite place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julieta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternWesthaven, Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Ms. Julieta S.

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am very grateful you took the time to let us know of your satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Jocelyn Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyckoff n.j., United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Service good, room nice, convenient to downtown New Haven, ice machine on floor elusive, day and night clerk very helpful..Sunday continental breakfast skimpy. Parking good, but immediate surrounding area has construction. Easy access to Interstate 95.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Edward V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternWesthaven, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write such a complimentary letter.

I am passing on your comments knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts.

In regards to the breakfast . I will make sure to pass it on the right department so they can take immediate corrective action

We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Jocelyn
Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

It's very clean, roomy, pretty nice value.... everything is done right EXCEPT its location. My first stay in New Haven and I must say I did not feel like a local. It's one of those (difficult to describe) things where the hotel is in the midst of nowhere with a Walmart across the street (very convenient) but that's it. There are some other retail establishments around but it's not a central location, not downtown, not uptown, not near airport, not in residential area and not in a bustling business center, it's just a strange location. But, everything else is very, very good... from the rooms, it's cleanliness, to its convenient microwave and large size refrigerator.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seamlesstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternWesthaven, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Mr. Seamless Travel,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us .It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated. I am very grateful you took the time to let us know of your satisfaction. In regards to the area, the place is very safe and just give you an idea, we are 4 miles from the downtown area and very close to the mall and restaurants and even to the park. We are also close to the universities.In regards to the empty building, the Management already talk to the owner of the building and even reported to the West Haven City to make sure that they will maintain the cleanliness of the building.

We look forward for your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

The service was perfectly fine, with the exception of the morning clerk who was short and put out and when I requested a late check out. Maybe she was just having a bad morning. Where our experience really curdled was in the state of the room itself. Broken shower curtain, large gross stains on the couch and floors, stuffy air that seemed to swarm with microbes, a weirdly claustrophobic layout of the furniture, the unmistakeable smell of cigarette smoke in the hallway, despite the prominent "No Smoking Floor" sign. The whole ambience was singularly bleak and depressing. We felt slimy with the accumulated residue of all the disgusting humanity this room had housed before us.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternWesthaven, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Ms. Natalie,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Executive Hotel of New-Haven
West Haven.I appreciate your taking time to write a survey and hope you will accept my apologies for any inconvenienced you experienced.

I am disappointed we failed to give you the fine accommodations/attention/service and consideration we strive for all our guests. I have investigated your comments and will take steps
to ensure that the problems you experienced do not happen again.

I would like to inform you also that we are upgrading our hotel.

We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Executive Hotel
New haven-West Haven .I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.If you need any assistance, please call me at 203-933-0344 ext 115.

Sincerely,

Jocelyn Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Haven hotels

Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Had the pleasure of staying at the BW again for three days and have to say I have never met nicer and more accommodating people at a hotel then I do here. Whenever my husband has a business trip to CT, this is our choice for hotels.

Room Tip: Any questions ask for Jocelyn she is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolynC8463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternWesthaven, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Mrs. Carolyn,

Thank you for your comments.It is always gratifying to know that our efforts were effective and appreciated.

We look forward to your return,

Sincerely,

Jocelyn Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A City, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

bathroom == very small. hard to get into room. if I had been using my wheelchair that day, we would not have gotten in. I did tell them that I was physically challenged veteran. There was YUCK on the bathroom walls and door and door knob. It was nasty. Part of the bathroom door frame was not painted. In-room Free coffee service was not even enough for one person, let alone two. It was pricey.. I could have got the same type of room for half that down the street but I picked Best Western, relying heavily on the franchise's reputation and I was seriously disappointed. Also, our first night, getting into the elevator there was a VERY VERY VERY heavy STINK of marijuana. For it to smell that bad, someone was moving a lot of it!!!! NOT GOOD for you and/or your security!! Also, I slipped when I stepped out the front doors on oil?, possibly. Anyhow, I slipped and injured my knee and NO ONE from the hotel offered ANY assistance... Then there was the issue of the in-room phone. It too, was filthy. My sister left and took my phone so I was forced to use the in-room phone. I could not dial a long distance call. I tried charging to my room OR using my credit card. However, the instructions on the phone were wrong because I could not get to the point of even connecting to make the call. I call the front desk and the young man behind the counter laughed at me and told me that he only knows how to do it by using the directions on the phone. I told him I tried numerous times so he told me to use my cell. I told him that I did not have my cell and it would not be back for a few hours and I needed to make this call...his response was "I don't know what to tell you..." WOW! That is sad. Really sad. I am really mad at your company for that!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Haven
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven
2.7 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
3.7 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
3.5 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven

Property: BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven
Address: 490 Saw Mill Rd, West Haven, CT 06516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > West Haven
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in West Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are easily located right off of Hwy. 95. two miles away from 7 miles of beach on Long Island Sound and 4 miles from downtown New Haven. Newly remodeled guest rooms and public areas! Full Breakfast is included. Come try out our new pancake maker! We also have 3 private meeting rooms ready for all of your group needs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Haven
West Haven Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing