We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A picture is not worth a thousand words”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Talcott House

Talcott House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westbrook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Talcott House
Ranked #5 of 6 Westbrook B&B and Inns
Hartsdale, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A picture is not worth a thousand words”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

What a perfect picture...ocean front views, charming seaside mansion, house filled to the brim with interesting curios, books, etc. However this glorious tableau was literally "rocked" from its foundations by the deafening noise of live rock bands playing continuously, all day and into the late night at the Elks Club next door. Not a moment of peace!! And Sunday morning, in came the classic cars and motorcycles - revving their engines at 8 am. Clearly this is out of the control of the hosts, but it is worth checking before booking a getaway vacation - unless a hopping, noisy scene is what you seek.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grapkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucretiawb, Owner at Talcott House, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
I totally agree with this review. Thais last weekend was horrendous. A few hours after our guests left we downloaded free aps to measure the decibel levels and they were high. A cop was summoned and agreed it was loud and went over to talk to the manegment. This review was helpful! I plan to print it out and take it up with the Ells, even the Grand Elk if necessary! So sorry for the guests!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

Stayed at Talcott in early July for a weekend. Ambiance is everything here. The house is filled with antiques and wacky mementos (wooden hippopotamus coffee table!) from the owners' travels to Asia and elsewhere. I found my "perfect spot" to read a book in the downstairs bay window nook, which looks out onto the ocean. Also, ocean views from our bedroom! Speaking of which.... loved that the house is literally across the street from the beach. The owners didn't fuss over us, which is the way we like it when we're on vacation. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Upon entering the Talcott House we felt it was reminiscent of our experience(s) in well done B&B's across the pond. After our hosts- the stunning Lucy + Jim showed us the ropes- we were then left to our own. <(which we LOVE) What struck us the most abt Talcott House was that British Colonial feeling...that particular decor...ancestor paintings combined w. the tropical + contemporary thrown in here + there- SO tasteful -from the rugs, to an English pitcher serving up the orange juice, the luxurious bedding (plump pillows!) huge fireplace...gee- even down to the silverware! AND all this- in a super relaxed atmosphere. One can tell this family has traveled + here it is...they are sharing it with you. A place w. good taste makes a big difference to me obviously. Then- the views of the LI Sound w. immediate access to a sandy beach (only a narrow paved road to hop across)- heaven! The energy there was so special...even down to the fragrances...sea air + that certain English polish?...dont quite know what it was -yet it resonated. The place is SO comfortable! -eye candy everywhere you look... + tidy, too! My husband + I had this exchange with each other- "Why go to Europe?...it's right here!" + the wallet agrees w. that as well. Should you catch a rainy day...there's a little downtown nearby- tone-y, nautical (+ some retro) w. great shopping! or even to curl up w. a book- that can be done in any comfortable spot @ this place . All in all...i found it it exotic, classy, open + super relaxing...+ by the sea. utter heaven for us! A very EZ place to be!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank britcolonial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Short Hills, NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

My husband and I spent two nights here in July. We have stayed at dozens of B&Bs, and found the Talcott House to be quite atypical. The owners were not home when we arrived, but our keys were hanging on the door, so we checked in. We really liked our room, Room 3 (as well as the other two) as it was light, nicely decorated, and had a direct ocean view. Although the rooms face the street, which runs along the beach, there is not a lot of traffic, so it's fairly quiet. But other than the nice room, this did not feel like a B&B, more like renting a room in a house. The owners were hardly there at all--we never saw either of them our first night, and there wasn't even anyone to ask about a recommendation for dinner. When they were there, they didn't really engage the guests (us and one other guest our first night, just us the second). Both Lucretia and Jim seem very nice, but they both have other full-time jobs, so little time to act as hosts. Breakfast was minimal--juice, berries, granola, nothing hot--we ended up going out for lunch. If you just want a room for the night (or two, since there is a two-night minimum) and don't care about breakfast or having maid service, and want to be alone, Talcott House may be a good choice. For us, coming at the end of a ten-day vacation staying at some wonderful B&Bs (read my other reviews), it was a bit of a disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SkiMom66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2008

This place is the best. I've had to take sleeping medication for the last couple of years. I stayed here & finally got a GOOD night sleep without them. I slept like a baby. To wake up & see the water & hear the sounds of the tide coming in you can't beat.

Lucy, you are the best

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank oldnewyorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berea, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2008

Back from CT including a 3-night stay in Room 3 at Talcott House. The view of Long Island Sound even surpassed our expectations, and the design aesthetic was an Architectural Digest sort of simple elegance. A busy realtor, who by her own admission is juggling plenty, is now the innkeeper, so the TA review from 2005 is no longer applicable. Certainly, however, the continental breakfast is more than adequate and prettily spread in the enormous and stylish 25' x 50' common room. Even oversights like the lack of a clock or hair dryer in our room (remedied upon our request) or housekeeping shortcomings (failure to make the bed, replace towels left on the floor as directed for that purpose, empty wastebaskets) -- these are secondary to the deep pleasure of waking to the panorama of the sun-spangled sea. For those who would choose a peerless view of the Sound over the personal touch generally provided in B&Bs, Talcott House may be a good choice.

  • Liked — View of Long Island Sound
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat_Picks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2005

I priced a few of the B&Bs in Westbrook and all were about the same price. But, the Talcott offers an oceanview, an amazing breakfast, and one of the nicest hosts (Barbara) that you could ask for. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank abe09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbrook
5.4 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
8.0 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook
2.5 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.9 mi away
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Westbrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talcott House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talcott House

Property: Talcott House
Address: 161 Seaside Ave, Westbrook, CT 06498-1804
Region: United States > Connecticut > Westbrook
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Westbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing