We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Timey Feel, Great Food”
Review of Turtle Cafe

Turtle Cafe
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Westbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$14
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old Timey Feel, Great Food”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

From the outside it looks like the typical ham-and-egger my Dad (a travelling salesman) used to frequent. Inside, however, is an excellent breakfast and lunch diner. One short order cook working (really fast) behind the counter handles it all so service, when busy, may be a bit leisurely, but it's worth the wait. Loved the breakfast items, crepes, wraps, and fritatas better than I've ever had. Not the scrambled egg variety, but a REAL fritata!. Can't wait to try the Nutella items.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thumbpikr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    40
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very good breakfast”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Turtle Cafe is relatively small. Seven tables and about a dozen counter stools. However, they turn the tables quick enough that you shouldn't have more than a 5-10 min wait. Crepes are one of the specialties as well as frittatas. Don't expect anything fancy except for the food. If you are in the Westbrook area, you should stop by for breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank Rogerwilco123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NEVER Disappointed”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Visited the Turtle Café on a whim expecting good diner food but got so much more. Cozy, quaint atmosphere across from the Westbrook Town Green with indoor/outdoor seating. The food is "Outrageous", to quote my sister-in-law. The flavors and ingredients used, make what is typical breakfast food, OUTSTANDING food experience.
My wife loves it, my folks and my in-laws have also taken the 40 mile ride for the pleasure of a fantastic prepared meal.
Make the effort to go there from where ever you're from, you won't be disappointed, and, if you are in town, you'd be a fool not to stop by.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rjd67tasn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
2 reviews
“Yes, you should eat here”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Delicious food, esp the frittatas, crepes, home fries, and pancakes. I also have loved the lunches I had...a chicken and pesto panini, and another with mozz, basil, and tomato. Chef Ricky is very welcoming and never skimps on quality, fresh ingredients which I highly appreciate.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WildeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Saybrook, Connecticut, United States
1 review
“Best eggs on the shoreline”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Always innovative and delicious. Great service. Not had a bad experience in more than 10 visits. Daily Specials are both savory and sweet with frittatas, crepes and eggs all served up by Chef Ricky's expert hand. A MUST TRY if visiting the Shoreline or a local.

Helpful?
Thank dunlapdrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turtle Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Turtle Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing