We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again !”
Review of Westbrook Roadhouse - CLOSED

Westbrook Roadhouse
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Middletown, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Never again !”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We gave them a chance, because New Deal had been so good - never again.When we asked about specials, waitress had to go read the board - should have been our 1st clue - the empty dining room should have been our 2nd. We complained to staff about the food prep/portion size being terrible & 1 of the owners began hovering, but the food was awful. Prices were high for the small portions, which were either not prepared correctly or had no taste. We left there hungry after spending $80+ and were running for the bathroom by the time we got home ! With so many other good places to eat in this area, we'll never make this mistake again ! Worst restaurant we've been to in years.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pkelleher2117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    2
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“gross”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Filthy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! so wished had not gone there. same old crap! nothing good to say except BORING!
hoovering service cause nobody else was there. all the cars in the lot must be staff! waited along time for crap and the waitress who could and should be cleaning the walls and everthing r
else was hoovering like she had nothing else to do! there were ants on the dirty wall next me so my hubby squished it. her response was they are everywhere, she did not know what sides came with what either. NEVER GO BAck even for free!!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent meal at a reasonable price.”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We went to the newly opened Westbrook Roadhouse to try it out. As a party of 4, we were seated by a fireplace. The menu was extensive, I ordered the Chicken Marsala. It came with a vegetable, rice, and a salad. It was excellent! My husband ordered stuffed shrimp, which were on the small side but there were plenty of them! We were not there for happy hour but they have an nice menu at very reasonable prices for that. The other couple enjoyed their meals as well. Will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thinair6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Smoke and mirrors”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The new deal closed cuz of management on New Year's Eve 2012 they change the name and paint but still same management I foresee it closing the doors again the people of Westbrook are not fooled

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JGOTTI298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbrook, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good - Plesantly surprised”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I was very pleased with Westbrook Roadhouse. It's also right down the street from where we live; it's a great "townie" bar.
It never seems to be packed; the food is exceptional for “bar" food, great wings - try the habanero wings! – The bar is big and spacious, the bartender and manager are very friendly and they have happy hour specials 7 days a week. It’s also very affordable.
I definitely recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bridget G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Westbrook Roadhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing