We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and Very Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Westbrook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I have attended several networking events at the Captain Stannard House and the hospitality is amazing!!

We were given a tour by "Mary" and she really made me feel at home. This is not your average hotel. This is truly exceptional. Everything is very detailed and the service is very personable.

If your ready to go on vacation or your looking for a place to host an event, make sure you ask for "Mary" she's a wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013

Spending a couple of days at Captain Stannard's recently was a treat and we felt just at home. Mary and Jim are wonderful hosts and treated us just as family. The house is beautiful, maintained superbly and located a few steps away from the beach. As for breakfast, let's not even start! Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Jim and Mary were very welcoming as were their daughter and her husband. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. Our room had a bathroom "down the hall" which was a surprise, not what I would call a private bath, as described on the web, although we were the only people using it. Still, we didn't feel that we could leave things there since other guests could look in. The décor was tired and uneven (many little things were left undone, e.g., dusty screens, shower curtain had seen better days, exterior areas that hadn't been cleaned for the season) and the internet wasn't working after the first night. Charging $1 for popcorn seems a bit much; besides who wants to smell it if someone does decide to make it. The street outside is fairly noisy and heavily traveled during the day and evening.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Jim and Mary were caring, considerate hosts. They clearly love what they do and see to every detail meticulously. The home is brimming with history and is beautifully furnished and decorated. We had a great nights sleep in a cozy sleigh bed. The beach is very close. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honilandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Have had 2 fun crafting weekends with friends at the Captain Stannard House. Mary & Jim are friendly, hospitable and accommodating hosts. The Inn is comfortable, clean and homey. The food is always excellent. I loved my room and bed and the public spaces are just as inviting.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms online for photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckleeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

It is always a delight to stay with Mary and Jim at the Captain Stannard House. My family and I have been staying with them for many years, and we are always pleased with their services.

Mary and Jim are extremely hospitable people and at times it even feels like we are staying in a "home away from home." The house is beautiful and each room shows character and charm. It is like no other B & B I have stayed at with exceptional decorating and classy approaches in style of furniture.

The ambiance is quite lovely and very peaceful. Downstairs there are two open rooms with a tv, pool table, unlimited beverages and a microwave. There is even a fireplace to add an even more "charming" feature to the home.

Breakfast is always lovely served with juice, coffee, and a main course. Jim and Mary are great cooks, I've never had a bad breakfast with them. They put time into what they do, making everything extremely fresh for their guests.

Down the street there is a beach which is within walking distance. At night during the summer it’s nice to sit on their breathtaking porch and read a book after taking a walk to the beach. Getting in and out of the house is also convenient as there is a security code to get in.

I would highly recommend the Captain Stannard House to anyone. Jim and Mary don't look as you as just customers, but as regular people. They truly are warm hearted people who care about making you have the best possible experience in their home.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

A recent visit to Capt. Stannard B&B was wonderful...the home is spotless and the owners, Jim and Mary, were very friendly and welcoming! They served delicious candle-lit breakfasts in front of the fireplace. We spent a day at the nearby outlets (Tanger and Premium outlets, a few miles apart from each other) and we accomplished quite a bit of Christmas shopping. The salespeople who worked at the outlets were very helpful. The day we arrived at the B&B, the town was having their annual Christmas tree lighting and parade with many local families partiipating. It was a nice experience seeing how a small New England town begins their holiday season!

Room Tip: All the rooms on the second floor were a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary122012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbrook
5.4 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
764 reviews
8.1 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#4 of 7 in Old Saybrook
156 reviews
0.9 mi away
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Westbrook
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westbrook Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn

Address: 138 S Main St, Westbrook, CT 06498-1904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Westbrook
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Westbrook
Price Range: £131 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain Stannard House, abundant in history, charm and space is located on the Connecticut Shoreline, one block from the beach, in quaint Westbrook. We offer nine beautifully appointed guest rooms with private baths. A delicious, candlelit full breakfast is included in your room rate. We welcome and can easily accommodate large groups of people. Our warm and inviting dining room can seat 35 comfortably. Come, stay awhile. You will have found your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing