We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic New England Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Westbrook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Classic New England Inn”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Everything we thought it would be and then some. Jim and Mary are meant to be Inn Keepers.
Place felt like a home away from home. Met folks from NYC, Boston and Seattle.
Got a wonderful tip on a Steam Train Ride and River boat ride from the the Bostonians.
Had a lovely conversation over a bottle of wine with the newlyweds from Seattle. The New Yorkers were on their 4th or 5th stay, I believe.

Stayed in the Scotland, which does now have a small but perfectly adequate TV. We weren't there for the TV and could get everything we needed newswise from our iPad as the Inn has wi-fi. Yummy Sweets with a sweet note were delivered each day--

Breakfast was wonderful loved the plum crumble! Farmer's Fritatta on Saturday was just as good as Mom used to make!

Walked down the lane to the shore, wonderful homes, enhanced by the fall color.

Don't miss a chance to be part of the porch sitters. The back porch and yard are an awesome place for any gathering.

We'd just buried my husband's mom in CT and were looking for a place to relax before going home. The Captain Stannard House was just the ticket.

Room Tip: No pool, but the site wouldn't let me remove
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerriSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    17
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
79
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
carlisle
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This is a beautifully appointed bed and breakfast. The public areas are outstanding and our room (The Scotland) was very comfortable. Jim and Mary are lovely hosts and knowledgable about the area and even offer chairs to take to the beach. The reasons that I didn't give an excellent review are as follows:
breakfast was only served at 9.00am and we felt this was a little late
there was no tv in the room.
However, I would definitely recommend a stay in this establishment.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarlisleIrvings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is a very nice B&B and we found the owners were perfectionists. We did read all the reviews but were disappointed during a recent stay by both our Bed and Breakfast. Let me say the place is immaculate and extremely well-maintained (I have never seen such a clean B&B). The owners put a lot of care into the upkeep and cleanliness of the Inn. What my husband and I didn't like was that the bed was extremely uncomfortable. We stayed in the Chloe Chapman room and it was only a full size bed so we had a tough time with the mattress. Secondly, the breakfast was extremely limited. We have stayed in other B&Bs and the folks always offer another option for breakfast should the prepared meal not be suitable. That did not happen with us. The plate was put down in front of us and in this case, included meat (which we don't eat) and nothing else was offered. This is very unusual in my experience and for this and with the uncomfortable bed we would choose a different B&B in the area should we pass through this area again. Nice convenient location but because of these shortfalls, I cannot recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathleenC1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Perfect breakfast, clean rooms, Jim and Mary, the owners, are nice people who makes you feel like you are at Home. I loved all the Home made cookies left at my room every night. Excellent and peacefully place to stay.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank FabioRollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Jim and Mary are two of the most open hearted people that help myself and Jim Justus Nyamu when we had nowhere to sleep on our walk down the east coast from Boston, Ma to Washington D.C.

We are walking to share information and spread awareness about the severity of Elephant Poaching.

Truly wonderful hosts! They make you feel right at home, just better....... you don't have to cook or clean :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValerieM452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

All very chintz and olde world :-)
An attentive host and an interesting breakfast. The room was clean and basic with slightly out dated furniture which was probably appropriate to the house style. Reasonable location and a quiet neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bordereiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We live in the adjoining town and didn't have the opportunity to enjoy the accommodating spirit of Jim and Mary until we won a certificate for "breakfast for 4" at an event they support. From the moment my husband called to make reservations, we knew it was going to be a pleasant adventure. We were correct! We were greeted by the innkeepers who had coffee prepared, and promised a tour of the inn after breakfast. During coffee, bubbly Mary described some of the Inn's interesting history while we noticed how clean everything was. Breakfast was delicious, with 2 courses of fresh fare and service was excellent. Afterwards, Jim cordially invited us on a thorough tour of the inn, inside and out - how deceiving beautiful it is from the inside! The grounds were impeccably kept while the rooms were quaint and spotless. Yes, they do iron the sheets! Two thumbs up and we will be back.

Room Tip: No pool, but beach is just a brief walk. Dunkin Donuts is close by also and 2 shopping malls to cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jannine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbrook
5.4 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
708 reviews
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
2.4 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.9 mi away
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Westbrook
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angels' Watch Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn

Property: Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn
Address: 138 S Main St, Westbrook, CT 06498-1904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Westbrook
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Westbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain Stannard House, abundant in history, charm and space is located on the Connecticut Shoreline, one block from the beach, in quaint Westbrook. We offer nine beautifully appointed guest rooms with private baths. A delicious, candlelit full breakfast is included in your room rate. We welcome and can easily accommodate large groups of people. Our warm and inviting dining room can seat 35 comfortably. Come, stay awhile. You will have found your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing