We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite B&B!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Westbrook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clinton, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite B&B!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We have stayed at many B&B's on the Ct. shore and in New England. Captain Stannard House is by far our favorite! The size of the Inn is fantastic- large and roomy, while remaining cozy and comfortable. There are many areas to sit and relax, not just one room. There is a TV room, then a larger room with several areas- pool table, reading area, snuggle by the fire. Then there is a spectacular porch! There are many different areas to sit and relax on this huge porch.
The rooms for sleeping are very tastefully decorated, with every attention to detail. Breakfast was very delicious and we liked that we had our own table. Mary and Jim are wonderful hosts, and they obviously enjoy what they do so much! I cannot forget to mention the "Itinerary Book" that Mary compiled. Full of information and suggestions of where to go and what to do. We want to enjoy this Inn during every season!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    17
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
78
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

My wife & I stayed here as our last port of call in the USA. The room we stayed in was the Scotland and for an average price of $199 per night inclusive of tax it was very small, not like the photo, the bed was very hard and having a time of only 9am when breakfast was served is not giving consideration to the paying guests who are visiting the area & may want to visit sites not just around the Westbrook area. The host Kelli (Jim & Mary) were on vacation was both polite & reasonably efficient. Out of the four B&B's we stayed, the breakfast was rated last. If I were the innkeeper I would consider lowering the rates in the off season as it is definitely not worth what I paid for

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany CT
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had stayed at CSH for a quick getaway before and now I brought my staff of 10 and we took over the inn for a business retreat. It worked out great for us, Jim and Mary were very accomodating. GREAT location for a walk and work retreat as well as the occasional much needed break! Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAMDVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

The best B&B I've ever stayed at. The owners, Jim and Mary are wonderful. The rooms are beautiful as are all the common areas of this beautiful inn. Everything is immaculate and the breakfasts are great (jim cooks and Mary serves). Staff is very helpful and even suggested somewhere to stop on our way home! Spend time relaxing on the covered porch, playing pool or reading. Walking distance to the beach in warmer months. Plenty of outlet shopping in the area if you are interested. Great place to relax for a couple of days. One note, not a bad thing, but no TV's in the room. Only in the common area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NjYankeefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Everything we thought it would be and then some. Jim and Mary are meant to be Inn Keepers.
Place felt like a home away from home. Met folks from NYC, Boston and Seattle.
Got a wonderful tip on a Steam Train Ride and River boat ride from the the Bostonians.
Had a lovely conversation over a bottle of wine with the newlyweds from Seattle. The New Yorkers were on their 4th or 5th stay, I believe.

Stayed in the Scotland, which does now have a small but perfectly adequate TV. We weren't there for the TV and could get everything we needed newswise from our iPad as the Inn has wi-fi. Yummy Sweets with a sweet note were delivered each day--

Breakfast was wonderful loved the plum crumble! Farmer's Fritatta on Saturday was just as good as Mom used to make!

Walked down the lane to the shore, wonderful homes, enhanced by the fall color.

Don't miss a chance to be part of the porch sitters. The back porch and yard are an awesome place for any gathering.

We'd just buried my husband's mom in CT and were looking for a place to relax before going home. The Captain Stannard House was just the ticket.

Room Tip: No pool, but the site wouldn't let me remove
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerriSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlisle
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

This is a beautifully appointed bed and breakfast. The public areas are outstanding and our room (The Scotland) was very comfortable. Jim and Mary are lovely hosts and knowledgable about the area and even offer chairs to take to the beach. The reasons that I didn't give an excellent review are as follows:
breakfast was only served at 9.00am and we felt this was a little late
there was no tv in the room.
However, I would definitely recommend a stay in this establishment.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarlisleIrvings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is a very nice B&B and we found the owners were perfectionists. We did read all the reviews but were disappointed during a recent stay by both our Bed and Breakfast. Let me say the place is immaculate and extremely well-maintained (I have never seen such a clean B&B). The owners put a lot of care into the upkeep and cleanliness of the Inn. What my husband and I didn't like was that the bed was extremely uncomfortable. We stayed in the Chloe Chapman room and it was only a full size bed so we had a tough time with the mattress. Secondly, the breakfast was extremely limited. We have stayed in other B&Bs and the folks always offer another option for breakfast should the prepared meal not be suitable. That did not happen with us. The plate was put down in front of us and in this case, included meat (which we don't eat) and nothing else was offered. This is very unusual in my experience and for this and with the uncomfortable bed we would choose a different B&B in the area should we pass through this area again. Nice convenient location but because of these shortfalls, I cannot recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathleenC1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbrook
5.4 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
8.1 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.9 mi away
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Westbrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angels' Watch Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn

Property: Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn
Address: 138 South Main Street, Westbrook, CT 06498
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Westbrook
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Westbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain Stannard House, abundant in history, charm and space is located on the Connecticut Shoreline, one block from the beach, in quaint Westbrook. We offer nine beautifully appointed guest rooms with private baths. A delicious, candlelit full breakfast is included in your room rate. We welcome and can easily accommodate large groups of people. Our warm and inviting dining room can seat 35 comfortably. Come, stay awhile. You will have found your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing