We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable beds but not goods value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Westbrook Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Westbrook B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 June 2007

I have just returned from a stay at the Westbrook Inn while on a business trip. The rooms are comfortable and well equiped however I do feel the Inn does not cater well for people travelling on business. Breakfast is not served until 8.30am weekdays which was far to late. Strangely it is served at 7.30am weekends! Apparently continental is available earlier but we were not aware of this as nobody was around in the mornings. We ended up getting coffee from Dunkin Donuts across the street!!

As a well travelled person I was very suprised that on arrival before we were shown our rooms full payment was demanded and charged to our credit cards. This has never happened before in any establishment i have visited. I understand that hotels take a copy of your credit card but to actually charge it, I think is very cheeky.

We later discovered that many people in my party of 8 were charged different amounts. This was due to a mix up in the number of nights the inn had charged individuals which could have been avoided had they charged people on depature. Some of our group was charged for more nights then what they stayed as the hotel seemed to have a minimum night policy.

If anyone was going to visit this area I would not recommend staying at the Westbrook Inn as $162.00pn is very expensive and for a similar nightly rate you could stay at the Waters Edge Hotel which is stunning and located right on the beach. It has full facilites including a breakfast available for those on a early start.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Miss_BGerrardsCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 92 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Inn for our anniversary. The house and grounds are in excellent condition and the innkeepers answered all of our questions and were helpful when engaged. I disagree with the negative comments on breakfast in an earlier review. While not as lavish in variety or quantity as some other places, the breakfast was homemade each day and was very good. The beach is a few blocks away but is walkable without gear and the innkeepers have a parking pass if you choose to drive over. The innkeepers tended to stay in the background or were not on the property for much of the time, perhaps that is why some have the impression that the experience lacked "warmth" from the hosts. Happy with our choice and received what we were promised can best sum up our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RedBaron62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2005

Lovely Victorian house...Lots of charm;no warmth.
Nice room/bed, breakfast was nothing more than I could have gotten at Denny's minus the homefries. Lots of fireplaces in the common rooms; none lit. For the top price of our room which included a fireplace and queen bed and a private bathroom (no tub) we could have stayed at the Copper Beach Inn or Water's Edge. A lot of money for a Victorian setting and not much else.

Stayed: December 2005
7  Thank HeleneKatonahNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2005

Recently stayed at the inn with friends. Very, very lovely and quaint decor. The furnishings are beautiful and the rooms are sufficient in size. We have stayed in many B & B's throughout the East Coast over the last few years and this was was certainly enjoyable. But, a brochure we were sent shows a picture of the Inn and makes it look like it is on the beach. Very clever cut/paste but the inn is a few blocks away and the water cannot be seen even from the upper floor. We found that a little deceptive. Also, stayed there for 3 nights and the water heater malfunctioned each morning so that we could not shower till near noon each day. Never received any offer of a reduced rate or even a formal apology for the trouble. certainly an Inn worth visiting, just be wary of the advertisements about the beach and expect to pay full fare regardless.

6  Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenny10, Owner at Westbrook Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaMaria62Argentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbrook
5.5 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
764 reviews
8 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
2.5 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#4 of 7 in Old Saybrook
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
1 mi away
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Westbrook
707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbrook Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbrook Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 976 Boston Post Rd, Westbrook, CT 06498-1852
Region: United States > Connecticut > Westbrook
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Westbrook
Price Range: £119 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to the romantic Victorian era to this magnificently restored, New England inn & cottage in Westbrook, CT! Perennial gardens, antique appointed accommodations, working gas fireplaces, jacuzzis, Connecticut shoreline beaches and more await you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Westbrook Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbrook Hotel Westbrook
Westbrook Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing