We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highhly overrated.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westbrook
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highhly overrated.”
Reviewed 29 February 2008

First let me say we owned a time share here for 10 years.
We finally sold it. Thank goodness..........
Because this is one of the only resorts on The Connectiuct Shoreline the owners and staff of this facility feel that they are doing you a favor by being here and do not realize that there are other places to vacation in New England.
Not at all Customer friendly or customer oriented.
Not a handicap friendly facility.
Rooms and condo units are old and need a facelift.
In fact, the rooms actually are on a slant.
Heating and cooling systems do not work efficiently .
Restaurant is mediocore at best. Much better food availble off the premises at say Macdonalds or Burger King.
The service ( Check in or Check out ) leaves alot to be desired.
The original owner of the property that Waters edge is located on , Bill Hahn,The Bill Hahn resort, would be very disapointed in what has happened to what was originally a wonderful facility . .

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Just about everything else
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sparkyflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    171
    115
    98
    68
See reviews for
211
212
8
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2008

We recently went to Water's Edge for dinner. We have stayed overnight in the past, however this time we decided on just dinner. First off let me say that Connecticut does not have many seaside resorts. I guess with little or no other choices, there is no reason for the staff to go out of their way to make a guest feel special. When we entered, the door man opend the door for us and didnt even give us a friendly greeting. A simple "Welcome to Water's Edge" would have been nice. Once we were in the lobby we noticed empty glasses were all over the place. It looked like a party was just over but no staff members to clean up. We went to the restaurant (they were also not the most friendly) and they told us it would be a few minutes so we walked around a bit. The views are beautiful and the lobby does have a pretty fireplace with real wood burning in it, however, we could not even sit at the fireplace because of dirty napkins and those empty glasses everywhere. It was discusting. We finally got called for our table. It was right near a window, the views were very nice. The waiter was polite and friendly. Our dinner was great and the service was overall good. Water glasses were always full, and the waiter did come by more than a few times to ask if we needed anything. This resort is located right on the beach. There is the restaurant, a lounge with live entertainment on the weekends. An indoor pool, a fitness center, and a spa. When the weather is warm, out door dining is available. The grounds have pretty landscaping. Overall, it is a nice place however, with some changes, it could be a 4 star experience. The staff needs to be more attentive to keeping the main areas clean and they need to have more of a friendly attitude. When entering the resort from the main road, there are strands of little white lights that decorate the trees and light posts, it is very enchanting to see. It would be even nicer if the staff replaced the strands of lights that were burnt out. Well I hope that management reads these reviews and takes action on making Water's Edge a better place.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank a1worldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new haven, connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2008

Water's Edge is the best hotel in Conecticut. There rooms are amazingly clean and the pool(indoor and outdoor) is amazing. There is Wiresless Internet access in most room. I have stayed there 4 times and every inch of the hotel is immaculate. The staff is friendly and and room service is swift. This is the hands down, the best hotel in Connecticut.

  • Liked — The immaculate cleanliness.
  • Disliked — It was all great.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CoClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2007

reading the other reviews ( the last one)compelled me to write a review.. Check-in I have to agree was a nightmare. You got off easy, we couldn't check in until 5... it was like we were bothering them when we checked to see if the room was done. The TV was stupid... I would rather pass on tv then have that 13 inch one.. If you are trying to pass your resort off as a class act, update certain things, like to a 20 inch tv...... WARNING-- Kids in swimmies are NOT allowed in any of the pools( new rule). they pass an old hot tub off as a kid pool but that is a joke. the pool lady was a JERK and should be fired because of the way she talked to us and others.... A few of the staff didn't even speak english which is no fault but I don't know if I would hire them in a service driven job. There were a number of weddings but I was fine with that. food was ok but mostly ate in... The resort had warning lables all over our kitchen... 1 dirty dish=$25, 1 missing spoon=$25 and so on. makes you wonder who they rent to. We got lucky weather wise so spent a lot of time outside at the outside pool and beach so I guess We made the best of it.... it is only a matter of time befor they screw-up and get the reputation of a bad resort... They (waters edge)think they are better then everyone else!!!

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angie101400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2007

My husband, our 4-year-old son, and I booked our trip through our timeshare, so we stayed in one of the villas, not the hotel. Water's Edge does not measure up to what we are used to. The room was average. It was clean, but definitely could use some updating. The pillows were the most uncomfortable I have ever slept on, but the king size bed was o.k. There was no information on any activities at the hotel. All the other locations we've been to have always provided a printed schedule of all activities for the entire week. A real problem with Water's Edge is the 5:00 p.m. check-in time. We found that to be totally ridiculous. We've been to much larger places, with a check-in time of 3:00 p.m, and we were able to check into each of them by 1:00 p.m. We arrived at Water's Edge around 11:00 a.m. Of course we realized that we would not be able to check in that early, but we felt a reasonable time would be between 1:00 & 2:00 p.m. We also thought we'd be able to go through the check-in process, then just come back to pick up the key when the room was ready. They said they couldn't do that until the room was ready. I've never heard that before. Usually you can go through the whole process ahead of time, then just get the key later, which we've done numerous time. We were told to check back around 1:30, which we did. Of course the room was not ready. We called a few times, and finally we were able to check in around 4:00 p.m. Check out is at 10:00, so it's hard to believe that it took that long to get one room ready. There weren't enough hangers for our clothes. Lucky I thought to pack some. There is no oven in the room, just two electric burners to cook on, a microwave, and a decent sized refrigerator. Of course, there's no dishwasher, and the drainboard for dishes was under the sink, and was dirty, so we left it there, and didn't use it. It was a hassle washing dishes constantly. We can deal with no oven, but washing dishes on vacation is not something we really wanted to do. We never considered the restaurant because I checked the menu online before going, and found it to be way overpriced. So, room service was not even an option for us. It was freezing in the room most of the time. We had to put the heat up to 80 degrees, then it would be too hot in the main room, but still cold in the bedroom. There was a breeze coming through every single window. It was so drafty that our clothes in the dresser (under the window) were ice cold when we took them out. I had to take my son's clothes out the night before so that they wouldn't be too cold when I put them on him. Also, the fan for the heat was so loud that we couldn't even hear the t.v. We slept with the bedroom door open the first night, and it kept waking us up everytime it went on. It was really annoying to have to make the t.v. louder when the fan came on, then lower when it went off. Speaking of the t.v., the main room had a decent size t.v., but the master bedroom had one that was about 13 inches. I've never seen that before. We had to use our cooler to put the t.v. on so that we could see it when we were lying in the bed, since we had pillows that didn't raise our heads, and the dresser that the t.v. was on was way too low, and of course the t.v. was way too small. Also, there were several broken windows that didn't lock properly. The oddest thing was that the toilet was behind the door when you entered the bathroom. When we first got there, my husband went into the bathroom, and couldn't find the toilet. It was like being in a closet (see photo). It was not a very good setup at all. On a positive note, the view of the Long Island Sound was really beautiful. It was so nice in the morning to open the curtains to the sliding glass doors and see the water. The sunsets were absolutely gorgeous. I tried to capture one in my photo, but it doesn't really show the true beauty. The area was great for us because we have a 4-year-old, so there was a lot for us to do. We went on the Santa Special train one day, and the North Pole Express another day, which were both really fun for all of us. We went to Yale University's Peabody Museum to see the dinosaurs, Dinosaur State Park to see dinosaur footprints, and The Dinosaur Place to see life-size dinosaurs. Mystic Aquarium was not too far away, but was way overpriced. It was much smaller than we expected, and there wasn't much going on. We had heard great things about it, so we were anticipating spending a long time there and seeing a lot more. That was a disappointment, so we didn't bother with Mystic Seaport. If you don't have children who love trains and dinosaurs, then this area is not for you. If you're traveling without children, then there's not much to do except for antique shopping, trying many different restaurants, gambling and shopping. Otherwise, there's nothing else, and not anything that stands out in this area. We're used to visiting places that have much more charm. There's always that cute little town that you just fall in love with and want to walk through and spend time in. There was not one cute little town anywhere. There was really nothing special about any of the areas we visited, except of course for the places that we took our son to, and that's the reason why we stayed at Water's Edge--to be close to all those places. Next time we want to take our son to the places we visited on this trip, we'll stay in a hotel for 2 or 3 days. Water's Edge will not be an option.

  • Liked — The view of Long Island Sound from our room.
  • Disliked — Noisy heating, lack of even temperature throughout the unit, drafty windows, & mini t.v. in bedroom.
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pez227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2007

My friends and I had a relaxing 2 night stay in mid-September 2007, but the resort itself was nothing special.

The rooms at Water's Edge were comfortable and clean. The beach was nice and relaxing with more than enough lounge chairs for everyone. They offered kayaking and canoeing rentals, but only from 10-2 on weekdays. They have a small business center with free internet access and even a printer, which was nice for printing out coupons for the nearby Clinton Premium Outlets.

The property itself is situated in a picturesque location, but needs a facelift. The outdoor hottub was, well, not hot. The indoor pool and hot tub were just okay. The tennis courts had cracks and are in need of resurfacing. The service at the Bistro was painfully slow (but the award winning clam chowder really was very good).

Overall, we had a relaxing trip and it was a nice escape from the hectic pace of NYC. Our favorite part of the trip was probably the gorgeous weather.

There were no major problems. But it was nothing special and I would probably stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sherek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2007

We stayed two nights for a Dodge Dealers meeting. Our room was small, but very neat and clean. Others in our group had much larger rooms with sitting areas etc. We were in the original building over the lobby, so our room was probably much older than some others in the complex. We had a buffet breakfast which was fine. Nothing outstanding. We had drinks in the dark paneled bar twice. It took a long time to get waited on. The bartender called over to us to take our order, because she said the waitress had "tunnel vision". All in all, we liked the place. The landscaping around the hotel was beautiful.

The grounds were spectacular, and if you're into running, the area around the hotel is safe and very interesting. Any time I can run along the water, is a great time!

We visited the town of Essex CT, during our stay, and took a boatride up the CT river. We had drinks at the Griswold Inn, which seems like a place I would really enjoy staying in the future. I love old New England.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank tjoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbrook
4.5 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
8.9 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
22.2 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
1.7 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Resort & Spa

Property: Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Address: 1525 Boston Post Rd, Westbrook, CT 06498-2044
Region: United States > Connecticut > Westbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waters Edge Resort and Spa offers elegant accommodations, superb dining and a waterfront location, making us the premier choice in Westbrook CT hotels. Ideally situated for business and leisure travelers, families, groups and couples, Waters Edge Resort offers guests a historic experience in a breathtaking setting for the most unforgettable stays. Enjoy onsite dining when you stay with us, rejuvenating spa services, expansive event space and so much more on the Connecticut shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Water's Edge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water`s Edge Hotel Westbrook
Water`s Edge Resort And Spa
Waters Edge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing