We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding = Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westbrook
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I recently had my wedding at the Water's Edge Resort & Spa and my husband and I could not be more impressed. We worked with Nancy to coordinate the day and she was absolutely fantastic. She was so responsive to all of our questions, concerns, and requests, and worked tirelessly to ensure our day went off without a hitch. She was the consummate professional. We also worked with Alyssa who helped set up and execute our vision for the room. She was absolutely fabulous, and went above and beyond to ensure our wedding day was perfect...and it was even better.

We also had a team at the reception working specifically to ensure my husband and I had everything we needed. We still are in awe of our big day turned out. All of our guests could not get over the exceptional service, and ambiance of our big day, including the actual hotel accommodations. We could not be more pleased and would recommend the Water's Edge to anyone, for a wedding, a weekend stay, or just a lovely afternoon eating at the restaurant in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

My wife and I got married at this venue last September. This was a day that we were looking forward to and out of no where the issues began to pop up. From servers eating off the plates to drinking alcohol during our cocktail hour, this place was terrible. As we were waiting in the room downstairs with our wedding party, I was told by the man in charge of taking care of us, I better watch my wife because there is a good looking guy that will be serving us our dinner and drinks. It only gets worse. We go to cut our cake and I had to wheel the cake onto the dance floor because no one was around to do it. We cut the cake and they just walked away so I had to wheel the cake off the floor so people could dance. The meals took forever to come out and many were cold when our guests received them. It took them an hour to pass out the dinners to our guests. As far as security, NONE!!!! We had a photo booth that was being used by guests of the hotel and they were stealing the props from the booth. They also set up our chocolate fountain outside the room and again was set up where the guests of the hotel were helping themselves to what was supposed to be for our guests only. Because the dinners came out late and because they had 5 weddings this day, the servers in the dining room were leaving because they had been so long and the cooks now became servers. Not acceptable!!! Finally we had people that came into our wedding from the back deck and helped themselves to drinks. One of our friends saw them and asked them to leave. This turned into an all out brawl because this uninvited guest threw a punch at our friend. State polics and all showed up in the parking lot and the person in charge was so professional that he took my wife ALL by HERSELF to identify the people who were in the room. Who does this to a woman on her most important day. Not only is this not right, but it's dangerous. We had a meeting with Chris B and he said he would get back to use with a response to what we had discussed. We still haven't heard from him. We are not looking to back down either because we don't want this to continue and we don't want others to have to deal with the same issues that we did. If you had a similar problem and haven't heard a response, please contact me and we can talk and see what we can do.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed at Water's Edge on the weekend in August. I booked two nights, Sat and Sun, but we really only stayed there for one, since we checked out late on Sunday evening to beat the traffic on I-95.
Having read mixed reviews on TripAdvisor I wasn't sure what to expect, but the resort's convenient proxomity to NYC could not be beat.
The grounds are very pretty and fairly well maintained. We had a ground floor junior suite in the Library building, which came with a lovely balcony overlooking a magnolia tree and some other greenery. It had a decently sized bedroom and a living room, plus the kitchenette area with a breakfast bar, a sink, a fridge, a microwave and a coffee machine, all of which came in useful as room service hours were pretty limited. There were two flat screen TVs, so we were able to enjoy an in-room movie in the evening. Bathroom had decent toiletries and the shower had good water pressure. They brought in a rollaway bed upon request (upon making a reservation make sure your room is on the ground floor, as I understand they cannot get the rollaway beds up the staircase) and there were extra blankets and pillows in the closet.
We had a casual lunch on the property upon arriving, which wasn't bad at all, and the buffet brunch on sunday morning, which featured plenty of food selections (especially for carnivores), including fresh squeezed orange juice and made to order omelettes, waffles and crepes. Add to this a gorgeous view of the sloping grounds and the Long Island sound from the open terrace, and it was definitely worth the money. There is also a coffee shop in the main building with a decent selection of baked goods.
The beach is fairly small, but relaxing. There is an outdoor pool perched above the beach, which affords panoramic views of the Sound; and a sizeable indoor pool, which we used on the second day when the outdoor pool was closed due to sporadic drizzle. The area boasts some pretty walking and driving areas (Old Saybrook and Essex are both nearby), and some excellent restaurants as well.
All of the staff were friendly and accommodating. Upon check-in we were given a few printed pages of helpful information regarding places to eat and things to see in the area, which was a very nice touch. Some of the younger beach staff were definitely lacking "hotel" training (no, "what's up" is not really a good response when the guest asks you for help), but as I understand a lot of them are college students picking up some summer work, so that didn't bother me.
There were various events going on in the main building, but the resort is spread out enough that it didn't affect our quality of sleep.
This is not a luxury 5 star resort (nor does it pretend to be) but it certainly is a lot better than the reviews indicate. It's clean, pretty, well-staffed and very family-friendly and easily accessible from NYC, so a solid four stars from me.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NYC_Traveller02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I have stayed at this resort for years while conducting business in the area and I am seeing this beautiful facility fall to lack of maintenance and penny pinching. Everything from the toiletries provided to the television cable service is getting cheap. I could not get any decent wireless internet service to conduct my business. I asked the front desk for accomodation, but received no accomodation or satisfaction. I am very disappointed in the direction this facility is going. The facility is obviously depending upon its exterior beauty and past reputation to make up what it lacks in actual customer services, cleanliness and quality.

Room Tip: Better deals during week. They should give coupons for free breakfast in the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

After staying at the Waquessett Resort in Cape Cod we had similar expectations towards Water's Edge. Even though not as expensive as Waquessett, the room we had booked - a superior room/suite to be exact - still costed over $ 325 per night. Were we disappointed when we got a room with no balcony - even though the picture on the website that we booked through clearly showed large doors leading to a balcony - and also the room was situated overlooking a parking lot and trash container station - which resulted in large trucks collecting the trash during the morning making an extremely lot of noise, and bottles and other waste being disposed of in the containers during the evening. Also here, the picture advertised on the website that we booked through was deceiving as it showed waterfront rooms. The walls of our room were as thin as paper and we had a family with a baby next to us and that baby started crying early in the morning and just didn't stop until that family left the room. Despite we were two, our room contained two queen beds instead of one king. This was the first time in our now two weeks of holiday were we did not get a king bed. So all in all, we were far from impressed by our room.
From the moment we checked in and during several other encounters with the staff, we did not feel treated as guests and we had the impression the staff wasn't particularly in the business of making their customers feel, well, customers. When we arrived and reported at reception, the welcome was just a simple 'Names?' and there were multiple occasions when the staff just didn't even bother to demonstrate simple signs of a customer facing attitude. A seperate review that we made about our one - and only - experience at the resort's restaurant reveals some other examples of the lacking service attitude.
In terms of facilities, the wifi even though complimentary turned out very unreliable and unstable, and outside the building there was no access at all.
On a positive note: the venue itself is very nice, well maintained and has a lot of charme. There is some good entertainment at night and both the pool and beach areas have plenty of comfortable sunchairs, and sunscreens As well. Parking is also complimentary and there was plenty of space.
All in all, would we visit this area again, we would most probably try another resort and not go back to Water's Edge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DeKokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We celebrated our anniversary in early August with a stay at Waters Edge Resort and Spa. I would recommend staying at this resort, but with a few caveats. Some rooms have entrances adjacent to sitting areas and major stairwells; we were able to exchange the room we were given at check in with a room for one where the view overlooked the roof top of the resort; rather disappointing, with no other options offered us. Room furnishings were clean, but tired.

Being a resort, one could expect a degree of polish and finesse. Our children surprised us with a bottle of champagne and a fruit plate on our anniversary. It was delivered that evening as requested by them. However, the presentation was not what one would expect of a “resort”; it arrived in our room in a wax coated bucket - with a dinner menu, torn in half, folded and written on the back side “To Room ___, one bottle of Moet Imperial, one Fruit Plate”, with no mention of who it was from, or why it was delivered. The fruit plate was pitiful. It looked to be leftover chopped melon, grapes and one half of a strawberry from breakfast or lunch. Really?

On the plus side, the water facilities were ample for the size of the resort: lovely beach, well equipped with chairs and umbrellas, the same for the pool. Water sport activities were available for additional fees. The outdoor eateries offered many options: of particular note at the larger outdoor restaurant were the fish tacos and burgers. Additionally, there are other restaurant options nearby.

I did not have time to fill out the paper critique for the resort and had planned to use the online survey for my comments; however, after two requests for the link, none was forwarded. Apparently, the resort is not that interested in comments from their guests.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackmgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We were impressed with the property as we drove in...beautiful landscaping, but that all changed as we walked to our room. We stayed in the main building which is old, not well kept, and is in desperate need of updating. The room was just as bad...bathroom was ok, but the beds, bedding, wallpaper and carpet need to be replaced. And the balcony should be cleaned and painted as well. Room service on the first night took 75 minutes to arrive and the waiter dropped the tray. He was much too young and not strong enough to be carrying it. The spa refused to reschedule an appointment for us even though we were on the property for 4 days. There were way too many events taking place at the same time, with not enough experienced staff to handle the crowds. The main exit to the beach is through the formal dining room, which was awkward. The majority of the staff were very young and extremely inexperienced and there was a clear lack of management and leadership. It appears as if they are not concerned with repeat customers because they don't go out of their way to be accommodating to their guests. We would not consider staying here again nor would we recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa181818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbrook
4.5 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
750 reviews
8.9 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.7 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#4 of 7 in Old Saybrook
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
22.2 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Westbrook Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Resort & Spa

Address: 1525 Boston Post Rd, Westbrook, CT 06498-2044
Region: United States > Connecticut > Westbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westbrook
Price Range: £91 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waters Edge Resort and Spa offers elegant accommodations, superb dining and a waterfront location, making us the premier choice in Westbrook CT hotels. Ideally situated for business and leisure travelers, families, groups and couples, Waters Edge Resort offers guests a historic experience in a breathtaking setting for the most unforgettable stays. Enjoy onsite dining when you stay with us, rejuvenating spa services, expansive event space and so much more on the Connecticut shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Water's Edge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water`s Edge Resort And Spa
Water`s Edge Hotel Westbrook
Waters Edge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing