We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly in need of competition.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westbrook
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Badly in need of competition.”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed for three days in mid August. Grounds looked good and at first look our suite looked good (clean but badly in need of renovation). On our second night if stay, our bathroom began to stink of cigar and cigarette smoke. We lodged complaints repeatedly, only to have a spray used to eliminate the smell. The offending party kept on smoking in this smoke free hotel. On the day of checkout the toilet and bathtub overflowed without use. The Manager upon hearing our complaining offered us breakfast for our trouble. Having eaten there for a couple of days, we declined. I would not recommend this place as a low rent motel, let alone a five star resort.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tknetsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    172
    116
    99
    68
See reviews for
212
216
8
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were at Water's Edge Monday - Wednesday, August 18-20, and every day the beach and pool were overcrowded. After 10 am, it is difficult to find an empty chair and/or an umbrella on the beach or on the pool deck. The outdoor cafe often runs out of food selections that are listed on the menu. We are very disappointed with the lack of amenities during July and August. We will not return to Water's Edge again during the Summer months.

Room Tip: June and September are the best months for timeshare owners to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boca501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new england
Level Contributor
115 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a family friendly crowded resort but fun and the food was surprising good. Staff tried but in many cases they were poorly trained kids. It is expensive but for our family reunion it was perfect and not to far a drive. Remember room quality, location and views vary significantly. The villa was amazing and very expensive, suites were OK other rooms needed some TLC. Bar scene fun for those 35+.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctgolftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Water's Edge has a lot going for it but I really think it is time to redo the rooms or drop the prices! We recently stayed here in a waterfront balcony room that has definitely seen better days! The carpet was disgusting and the general decor of the room was dated. The view was obstructed by a roof and the whole feeling was one of neglect.
When we arrived the desk clerk was abrupt and almost rude. She gave us directions to our room by just telling us to go down the hall and look for the elevator. We did encounter some very nice staff who went out of their way to be helpful but your first impression really counts. The beach and pool were nice but crowded and overrun with kids.
Won't be back here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angie005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My partner and I stayed at Water's Edge Resort midweek for two nights. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Our water view room was exceptionally clean, quiet, and much larger than most standard hotel rooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The property is absolutely gorgeous. And although the beach front is not as large as a "standard" beach, the amenities (bar, food and bathrooms very close by, staff available to help you with you chair and umbrellas, kayak and canoe rentals) certainly make up for that. The pool is located right next to the beach so if you want to enjoy the sights and sounds of the ocean without getting sandy, it's the perfect alternative. I'd recommend getting to the pool and beach by 10:00 - 10:30 as the chairs seem to fill up fast .
We dined at the Seaview Bistro and Martini Bar. The food and service was very good. We also had an afternoon snack at the Sunset Bar and Grill. While the view was just beautiful, the food we found to be fair. Although we would definitely have dined there again if time permitted, we would have opted for something other than the calarmari or the nachos. We also had lunch at the smaller version of the Sunset Bar and Grill located next to the pool and that was very good.
This is a family friendly resort. There were a lot of children at the pool and on the grassy area in front of the beach, where the hotel organizes afternoon events for the kids. If you are not a big fan of sharing your vacation space with children, the pina coladas at the bar will help you to relax a bit.
All and all we had a wonderful stay at Water's Edge. I would definitely like to visit here again and would recommend the resort to my family and friends.

Room Tip: Our water view room on the third floor, 323, was very quiet, spacious, and had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We recently held our daughter's wedding at Water's Edge. We were more than pleased. The entire experience was first class. The accommodations were excellent. The rehearsal and rehearsal dinner were efficiently run and met the needs of about 40 of us. The wedding was flawlessly planned and executed by the Water's Edge wedding planner. The staff was friendly, polite and very efficient. It was just a great experience and we applaud the entire Water's Edge staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
327 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at this hotel. The outside of this hotel is beautiful, the views of the sea and beach are absolutely stunning, very beautiful. The staff was very friendly. We do recommend staff member Preston (waiter of the outside bar) to be promoted and receive a raise in pay! One thing: the decoration of the rooms (most notably the sheets, carpet, furniture) needs to be replaced within the next few years so the inside of the hotel can keep up with the beautiful outside....

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NLcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbrook
4.5 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
708 reviews
8.9 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
22.2 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
129 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
23.3 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
2,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Water's Edge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Resort & Spa

Property: Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Address: 1525 Boston Post Rd, Westbrook, CT 06498-2044
Region: United States > Connecticut > Westbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Water's Edge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waters Edge Resort and Spa offers elegant accommodations, superb dining and a waterfront location, making us the premier choice in Westbrook CT hotels. Ideally situated for business and leisure travelers, families, groups and couples, Waters Edge Resort offers guests a historic experience in a breathtaking setting for the most unforgettable stays. Enjoy onsite dining when you stay with us, rejuvenating spa services, expansive event space and so much more on the Connecticut shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Water's Edge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water`s Edge Hotel Westbrook
Water`s Edge Resort And Spa
Waters Edge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing