We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a nice change”
Review of Lunch Box

Lunch Box
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Weston
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wilton, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a nice change”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I love the new Lunch Box. The updated menu and atmosphere are a breath of fresh air to the area. The food was delicious and the service was great. The eggs were cooked perfectly and the hash with the in house cured pork belly was excellent. My picky children enjoyed the variety of pancakes and the coloring books kept them entertained while we waited for our food. We will be back for breakfast and cant wait to try lunch and dinner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    20
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Once a special neighborhood joint, now Any-rich-where USA”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The new Lunch Box shares a location and a name with its predecessor. That's where the resemblance ends. Reopening this week after closing for four months of renovation by the new owner, the new Lunch Box is reminiscent of every other generic upscale bistro in every other wealthy suburb across the US. A few framed pressed-tin ceiling squares overhead, and a wall paneled in salvaged wood, doubtless were meant as a witty reference to our shared quaint past -- but the true tone of the renovated Lunch Box is more accurately expressed in the fact that the wonderful black-and-white photos of old Weston that used to hang on the restaurant walls have been relegated to the restrooms. The quirky middle-aged locals who used to serve meals (and hang around to chat) have been banished altogether, replaced by generic chirpy young people.

To be fair, the breakfast menu is extensive and offers reasonable value (you can actually get eggs, bacon and home fries for $7) -- but the lunch menu is a sorry sight: nothing simple, and nothing less than $10 (a BLT with fries costs $10 or $11!). Gone are the delicious buffalo chicken wings and the wonderful sandwiches (though they did keep the fried chicken, thank goodness); in their place are the dishes you've seen in every single upscale bistro across the US (I detect a menu consultant afoot): yet another salmon, yet another order of crab cakes, yet another steak frites, each for close to $20. And a wine list. Of course, everything is plated with that ubiquitous side salads of mesclun lettuce that tell you you're ... just about anywhere.

Oh well, at least we won't be bothered any more by the day laborers who used to order their lunchtime sandwiches here before going back outside to eat -- it *was* always a bit awkward to encounter our landscaper's Latino workers while we were eating lunch.

Sigh. We miss Joe.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelady63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrific local spot for breakfast, lunch”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I have been at the Lunchbox many times. We have had their pizza, which is pretty good, as well as other specials on the menu We usually get scrambled eggs w/bacon sandwiches and coffee to go. This venue also good for kids.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food, Friendly workers”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Used to be on the way home from work and we would stop in for a sandwich or Pizza. Food was consistantly good. Only negative was cleaning solution was very strong smelling. Maybe a change to green product would be better.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“You can't eat atmosphere”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Headline stolen from Horn & Hardart, but the execution is the same; Good food, simple surroundings and works for families - all sizes shapes and ages, single parents, networking, local pols power breakfasts (miss Hal Shupak there) and as our now hedge fund employed daughter,, k-12 fed, at LB still says, "the best pizza in the world" (go figure).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ribking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lunch Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing