We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Experiences at Longshore” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Longshore

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Longshore
Ranked #1 of 1 Westport B&B and Inns
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Exceptional Experiences at Longshore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

The Inn is truly an exceptional place to stay. The location cannot be better. Your view is overlooking Long Island Sound or the golf course. The rooms are charming and the kind staff all make the Inn such a special place visit. I would live there if I could. Its been my oasis for 20 years.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MDtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    17
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
22
23
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Wedding day arrived and we received 5 inches or so of rain that day. The staff and inn were fantastic. Everything was smoothly done inside. Service and staff was excellent. Food was delicious, viennese table was fantastic. Would highly recommend this venue for a wedding. In addition the Bridal Suite is large, with 2 rooms nice decor and very comfortable. View, is obstructed but that is not why you stay in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rustinkoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

As the guest of a weddin there recently I was surprised with how nice the rooms were and how accommodating the stag were. I loved the cocktail hour and the food was excellent. Nice or the guests to have something to eat while the bridal party took pictures. Everyone was waited on promptly and food was replaced swiftly. The reception was beautiful an the food was very good. I especially loved the roasted beet salad. The vegetarian options was also very good. Wait staff were attentive and the best part was the dessert assortment spread. I k ow the bride an groom were very happy and all the guests were equally pleased. Wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kgraycrna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

We attended the same Bar Mitzvah. Our room overlooking the Sound was tastefully decorated and clean. The housekeeping staff was very attentive. Our experience was that the food and everything involved with the bar mitzvah were handled very well. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scrowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astoria, ny
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Summary: This just isn't a 5 (or even 4) star Inn.

The Pros
If you're there for an event, it couldn't be more convenient.
We were there in January so aside from the people at our event, the place was pretty quiet.
Location. in Jan we didn't take advantage of the beach and surrounding park, but I have to assume that the location in a pretty big perk for those who can benefit. Then again if it was beach season the place wouldn't have been so quiet.
Staff were very pleasant. We didn't really require much in the way of attention, so this was a non-issue.
Room - suite. BIG. comfy bed. comfortable sitting area. view of the water (but a lot of the view is of the roof of the party room and its ventilation system)
I really liked the throw on the bed. Nice touch.

Cons: I thought it was weird that as we checked in (4 adults, 1 4-year old and an baby) for two nights with all of our suff... suit bags, pack n' play, suitcases, and more... rather than coming to the car and asking how they could help, the desk guy (there was no bell man) asked "do you need help?" Second and third floor walk-up? YES, of course we need help. And we don't want to feel guilty having to ask for it. It should be assumed that we need help.

The room: don't look to closely. Torn lampshades, dresser with drawers that don't open/close easily, a shower (SHOWER!) in a suite with little water pressure and no hot water on day two.

It's all little things... but they add up .... like, why aren't the clocks set to the correct time?
Not enough towels in the bathroom
Why didn't the maid give us new soap when he/she cleaned the room?
Why couldn't my husband tell that the room had been cleaned? (okay, we're a bit messy.. but... )

The Party: Guest's point of view
Staff: Very nice, friendly, on it.

Food: okay to poor (appetizers esp poor). Presentation was a disaster. A slab of "prime?" rib (tasty) looked like it was cut with a machete and plated on TOP of the potatoes and not quite blanched enough brussel sprouts. Maybe the first string chef went on vacation after the holiday season? But I couldn't believe that any kitchen manager would let these plates be served.

And the event planner's advice to not have enough seats for all the kids (b/c kids don't sit for 99% of the party)... although that might be true... what about those kids at the party who DIDN"T HAVE A SEAT???

BIG Pro of the party. They do an excellent job of keeping the kids entertained (or was this the DJ) and away from the grown-ups so both groups could enjoy their own "cocktail" hour.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenforgash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We recently attended a wedding and stayed at the INN as guests. Our experience was outstanding! The cocktail hour was elegant and exquisite. There was plenty of room to mingle with guests and enjoy the jazz trio. Tables were placed throughout the area for those who found it more comfortable to sit and relax. Service, food and drinks were plentiful and presented wtih class. The reception in the main ballroom was just as nice. The next day people were still raving about the Prime Rib and ambiance at the INN. The Inn is truly a beautiful setting and I highly recommend it to perspective brides and grooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurellee91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest Connecticut
Level Contributor
113 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

First let me clarify that I was a guest at a wedding here recently; not the groom or any other member of the wedding party. So my feedback is based on that role.

The Cocktail Hour: The physical area was way too small for the guests. There were nowhere near enough tables and chairs to sit. There were only two food stations setup with an assortment of three types of food, which ran out quickly. The wait staff came around but you had to grab them quickly to get anything other than what was at the food stations. I thought these foods tasted very good.

The bar was great and if you are attending a wedding here, or even going tot he restaurant for dinner, you must have their signature cocktail, which is a Brandy Alexander, but made a little differently. But oh so delicious!

The reception area was typical for a wedding venue; tables and a large dance area plus a stage for the band. The food was mediocre. And I really didn't expect too much more than that from a catering hall that is serving over 100 guests. But the service was poor. Water glasses were not refilled promptly. When coffee was served, we had to ask for cream and sweeteners.

I would just caution prospective newlyweds to approach this place with care. From other reviews, it sounds like they treat the bride and groom very well, and I get that this is their day after all. But from a guest's perspective, I was somewhat disappointed in their food and service.

The reception was at night so I cannot comment on the views and the surrounding landscape.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonypct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chussey, Director of Sales at The Inn at Longshore, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Tony - thank you so much for your candid review as a guest at a wedding at The Inn at Longshore. I am dissapointed that we fell short of your expectations and we do take this very seriously for all of the guests...not just the bride or the groom.

The cocktail hour room had 8 cocktail tables plus a sofa...so again, I apologize you didn't have the seating you needed. This room can host up to 175 guests for a cocktail hour comfortably and the wedding you attended had 144. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the bride's signature cocktail.

All of our food is made from scratch here, so I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your cocktail hour food.

We prepared a lovely dinner for this wedding and have had many compliments over the years on our food and service, I do hope that you join us again as a guest at a wedding in hopes that you will see that we do have guests enjoy our food and service.

Thank you for taking the time to review The Inn at Longshore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
3.7 mi away
The Westport Inn
The Westport Inn
#1 of 1 in Westport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
2.0 mi away
Norwalk Inn & Conference Center
4.6 mi away
Delamar Southport
Delamar Southport
#1 of 1 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
#1 of 12 in Norwalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees Norwalk
4.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Norwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Longshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Longshore

Property: The Inn at Longshore
Address: 260 Compo Rd S, Westport, CT 06880-6535
Region: United States > Connecticut > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Longshore was once a private estate built in 1890 and is one of the premier locations in Fairfield County to host your wedding, bar/bat mitzvah, corporate holiday party, seminar, company picnic...or to stay in one of our 12, quaint guest rooms. Enjoy golf, sailing, swimming, kayaking, or tennis during your summer stay, or go ice skating in the winter. Handicap accessible to all event space. The guest rooms are located on the second and third floors of the building. Complimentary parking and complimentary continental breakfast 7 days a week. The Inn at Longshore is considered the "Jewel" of Westport, CT and is nestled between an 18-hole golf course and Long Island Sound. The rooms offer original antiques, coffee maker, ironing board, and high-speed wireless internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Longshore Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing