We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to believe they stay in business”

Sakura Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 163 Restaurants in Westport
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Sakura Japanese Restaurant serves high quality, delicious Japanese fare in an exquisite environment. Give us a call and we'll create your ideal dining experience today. At Sakura, you can mold your dining experience to what you want it to be. We offer a variety of food options and rooms to offer you an unforgettable experience. Join us in our hibachi grill room for fresh steak, seafood, and chicken prepared right in front of you in a lively and fun environment. Try our sushi bar which offers an outstanding selection of fresh fish and rolls made to order. We also offer a full menu of traditional Japanese fare like sukiyaki, bento boxes and more. We have a number of Tatami private dining rooms for groups of two to groups of up to 14. We also offer a fun, refined bar dining area and a lovely outdoor patio for your enjoyment. Sit back, relax, and enjoy a great night with us. Give us a call to make your reservation today.
Weston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
244 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Hard to believe they stay in business”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

This is a popular birthday party spot for younger kids and teens, and that has probably kept Sakura afloat for all these years. The hibachi grill experience is fun for youngsters and adolescents for sure. But the food is mediocre at best and the place is normally crowded and chaotic. The sushi is nothing exceptional and there are multiple good sushi restaurants within a few miles of Sakura. Don't bother unless you are part of a birthday party and someone else is picking up the tab.

Helpful?
Thank TOWestonCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily B, Manager at Sakura Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
I'm sorry to hear you felt underwhelmed with your experience. We always want to please the customer -- no matter the age -- so I'm disappointed to know you did not feel treated that way. We should certainly be able to keep up with any amount of people in the restaurant, but I would hope that you would understand how things can get a little hectic when we have a full restaurant. Being that we are popular enough for some people, I would certainly hope to get another chance to show you what other people seem to love about us.

Best,
Emily B., Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    22
    10
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dirty, Poorly managed, uneven”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Poorly managed, dirty, uneven
Diner Review • Apr 10, 2014
Edit
There's a joke about this place among the locals--people go every three years to remember why they never go--usually dragged there for kids parties. I have heard stories about everything from worms in sushi to dirty utensils. Definitely avoid this place if anyone in your party has dietary restrictions--there are stories about that too. If mine was was just a poor service issue I wouldn't bother writing this but the good reviews are probably not from people who have been on numerous occasions. My own experience most recently was an intensely dour hibachi chef at a kid's party going through the motions with an interesting mixture of hostility and apathy (not good a good formula in knife juggling fire throwing chefs near kids), a total lack of pacing (birthday cake served while the dirty plates are still crowding the table--what?!?) and a manager who's people skills recommend he should really be working in a dungeon in NYC to put all that hostility on center stage. Maybe that explains the chef's lack of gleeful pageantry? Don't put yourself through it. You will waste your money and may even leave crying if it was a special occasion. It's easy to be fooled by the crowds--they're shooting fish in a barrel as there aren't many hibachi choices in FF County--but that doesn't mean it's not bad. I have worked in the restaurant industry for years and this could be a great place if they'd just get a new manager. There are a few chefs there who really seem to enjoy their work and the bartender is solid too. The food could be good if they didn't try to dump spoiled or unclean food off to patrons they think won't know the difference or won't complain. Westport is a tough crowd but if Sakura's management attitude is "buyer beware", be careful what you ingest at this place. Now that I write that, Caveat Emptor shouldn't include restaurants. Reading the other reviews I can't help but wonder what miracle struck the other reviewers that have missed everyone I know.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank travellynn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Staff is as cold as ice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

First went here 10 plus years ago and did not have a pleasant meal. Poor service, rude receptionist and had to wait for a long time even though we had a reservation. Glad to see nothing has changed in 2014. Probably the same people working there. Can't imagine how the town of Westport puts up with their attitudes, We were seated in the hibachi section and I have been to many of these types of establishments. What makes the hibachi experience fun can make or break it is the chef. Needless to stay he would have rather been home watching oprah re-runs the cooking for us. The only reason I gave it two stars was that the food was decent,,,,just decent
Maybe the staff should try to break a smile and make the customer not feel like we're doing them a favor,,,,otherwise I recommend you stay home with some hot pockets and warm beer, at least you can smile at your family.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank funinthesunby3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hibachi ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I love the food here, they have the best hibachi in Connecticut. The quality of the food and service is far superior to other hibachi establishments. Definitely need a reservation to get into hibachi tables in the evening.

Helpful?
Thank Yankees42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily B, Manager at Sakura Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 October 2014
Best hibachi in Connecticut? Wow -- what an honor! I'm so happy to hear that you've had such high-quality experiences with us; I would expect nothing less of our food and service. Any time you're looking to fulfill your craving, our doors are always open for you!

Thanks so much,
Emily B., Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
411 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Was good when new, but now average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Returning to Sakura with friends for a Teppanyaki evening after 15 years was OK but not the memory we had hoped. It seems like nothing had changed, which include the furnishings that seemed to have absorbed decades of steaming oils. But the idea of preparing Teppanyaki is to excel in cook artistry, but at Sakura they have chosen to leave the skill of food preparation at the table in favour of flipping bits of shrimps at guests. The food didn't either quite reach up to expectations and sadly the return to Sakura did not bring back the memories. Knife juggling and split second food carving and slicing IS a part of Teppanyaki - without it, it's just another japanese restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tord E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sakura Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing