We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice family run place”
Review of Red Barn - CLOSED

Red Barn
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice family run place”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

old fashion family restaurant ... staff is wonderful and helpful food is great , drinks plenty good !! my wife and i love this place cheech is the best !!1 go here you will love it

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pete j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    19
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Classic excellence with continental cuisine. Impeccable service!”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Had a graduation party here. They offered a price fix menu with numerous choices. The steak is tender, tasty and cooked to perfection. Best chicken parm anywhere. Owner managed assures excellence!! Great value!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 9519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, CT
Level 6 Contributor
797 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 454 helpful votes
“Quaint old restaurant in a good location”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We had not been here in years but we had an event to attend in Westport and met another couple for dinner. The restaurant is right off the Merritt Parkway which made it very convenient for both couples. We arrived @ 5:15 in order to have a leisurely dinner. It was a cool, damp evening and we asked to be seated in a warm area so; we were right in front of the beautiful fireplace! The wait staff was efficient and attentive. We opted to order from the special menu...$49 for two which included a bottle of red or white wine, a choice of soup or salad, an entree (choices included a beef, chicken, fish and pasta option), dessert and coffee or tea. The meal was excellent! The price was terrific and the ambiance of the building was wonderful. Would definitely come here again if we are traveling into the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larkenRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Solid but areas for improvement ”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

I attended a birthday gathering during their brunch- mimosas, bloody's, champagne included. Bloody came in a wine glass, possibly the smallest bloody ever! Buffer was fine, meats at the meat station were over cooked. Salads and deserts were good. Service was attentive until the end and I had to break the manager away from watching the football game to get our server. All in all a decent value for $24.95.

Helpful?
Thank WinsorTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You've got to be kidding!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I usually don't write reviews but I have to do this as the experience was so awful I don't want anyone to have a similar one. I had a birthday brunch celebration yesterday for my daughter which I had prearranged with the restaurant. Our group was placed in the very back with a table arrangement that was ineffective and insufficient for our group even after we tried rearranging; we were told this was the best that could be done.It was a long walk for everyone to the buffet table and we are an "older group". The bill was plopped down at the table next to mine not only surprising everyone but also implying that I expected them to pay for their brunch! To add insult to injury, those at this same table were told they had to get up and leave as the waiter had to set up for the second seating which, ironically, was almost an hour way; they were lied to by the waiter who told them the second seating was a half hour earlier than it was. Being asked to leave a restaurant is an insult but under these false premises its disgraceful. I still don't know what was motivating this action on the restaurant's part but can only surmise. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eleanora63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Barn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing