We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel, exceptional staff”
Review of The Westport Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westport Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westport
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel, exceptional staff”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I was very comfortable during my stay at The Westport Inn. The rooms are well appointed and very clean. The entire staff took exceptionally great care of me. Everyone was very warm and kind and gracious and helpful. Ricky, Antonella, Ron, and Margo went out of their way to make my stay peaceful and soothing.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    53
    38
    35
    20
See reviews for
64
44
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My boyfriend and I booked a room here through an online deal and were pretty impressed with the accommodations for the price we paid. We stayed in the "motel" portion, but the room was quite comfortable and very clean. We only heard the neighboring guests when they decided to have a full conversation right outside our door at 7AM. WiFi is available and fast, and the flat screen TV had an HMDI connection which was super convenient when we wanted to wind down and watch a movie off of our laptop. The ONLY issue I had with the room is that there was no mini-fridge or information regarding local restaurants or activities (but the employees were informative when we asked).

The staff was so nice and accommodating, from the front desk to the bartender. I really can't say enough nice things about them. We had a minor issue with our online deal, but the manager gave us 2 complimentary drinks to make up for it :) The beach shuttle driver was nice enough to take us to and from the beach off schedule since we had a spa appointment to get to.

The restaurant is small and attached to the lobby, but breakfast was delicious, although the menu is limited. Our waitress was wonderful and friendly too.

The pool, however looked like it needed some upgrading. It is in a dreary-looking basement and it didn't look too inviting. Not a big deal since the beach is a short drive away.

It's close (driving wise) to a number of great restaurants, shopping areas, parks/nature preserves and beaches. The Maritime Aquarium isn't far either, which was a great time. All in all, a great stay for a short, inexpensive get-away. A car is definitely necessary for this area, though.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bianca928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Bethpage, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

this place is a motel that has a building behind it as the hotel. The hotel has the one conference room. The indoor pool is under the hotel in the underground garage. Not a soothing place to swim. We stayed in one of the motel rooms (we had booked a deal and that was the room that came with it). The room was nice enough. It had an adjoining room and we could hear everything through the walls & door. We put the bed pillows on the floor near the door to block the sound. The cleaning person didn't finish cleaning our room which was apparent and also left the cleaning supplies in our bathroom. The breakfast was included in our deal. It was very nice but we wouldn't have paid for it. The hotel has free VCR & VHS borrowing. The only movies are old movies though. We didn't mind and actually watched a few for old times sake. The location is good. We were ther for new year's eve & surprisingly there was nothing to do in the hotel (for guests). We wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LawHyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I was not impressed. Supposedly the Westport Inn had gone through a major facelift...I did not feel it at all. Felt exactly like the room I stayed in 18 years ago...location-wise - I think it was. Closet door broke. Walls very thin. And there was some sort of food container that had something growing in it on the closet shelf. Front desk staff friendly enough...just do not think it was worth the $$. I was expecting so much more.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mci1535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahs01, Manager at The Westport Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at The Westport Inn. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We have fixed the closet door and enhanced our guest room inspection process. We hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hingham, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Spacious feeling to the room; loved the cathedral ceiling in my room. Luxurious beds! Extremely comfortable. Fine attention to detail. Would have appreciated bathroom fans plus a bathtub instead of just a walk-in shower. I was in the back portion of the hotel; so quiet--great for a deep rest--not in the front motel-type rooms, which are smaller. I would like to see the restaurant stay open longer hours. The eggs I had for breakfast were delicious; however, the menu was very limited. Would like to have seen fresh melon at this time of year. The area abounds in incredible bakeries; would like to have seen homemade muffins, fresh pastries, etc.

Room Tip: Back section of hotel has larger, quieter rooms than front, motel-style portion of building. They o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna, Delaware, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel while my son was having soccer tryouts in Fairfield. The town is so amazing and quaint. Although there was a glitch in our check-in (the key would not work), then the room had a King bed and we requested 2 Queens, the staff upgraded us to a nicer, larger room. The room was extremely comfortable. We asked for a late check out because my son's last session ended at 12:45 that afternoon. They allowed it so he was able to take a shower before we departed. The assistant general manager was so kind and even tried to find some information we needed when we were leaving. We were able to get a great price on the room through Priceline.com. Only thing that could have been better was to have a microwave in the room. We will stay here again if we ever are back in Westport CT.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back (it is Hotel style vs the front that is Motel style)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We were really looking forward to our stay at the Westport Inn and thought it might be our go to place to stay when we visited family in the area. However, based on our experience, we will not be returning. I imagine we were not in a room that had been redone. It was okay, but the heating system was so loud that we had to turn the heat off in order to sleep. The furnishings and bathroom were adequate, though dated, and the television, which sat on the bureau, had a limited offering of channels available. There seemed to be quite a few groups or parties going on in nearby rooms, and, all in all, the experience did not leave us with a good feeling.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sasfish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahs01, Manager at The Westport Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you for your recent Stay at The Westport Inn. We are placing the room you stayed in out of order to analyze and repair the television and the heating system. We offer an extensive television channel line up, therefore we must need to adjust the signal in that room. I am sorry for the difficulties you experienced with these two items. I hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Westport hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
1.1 mi away
Delamar Southport
Delamar Southport
#1 of 1 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Circle Hotel Fairfield
4.9 mi away
Hotel Hi-Ho
Hotel Hi-Ho
#1 of 3 in Fairfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
#1 of 12 in Norwalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
5.3 mi away
Norwalk Inn & Conference Center
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Fairfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westport Inn

Property: The Westport Inn
Address: 1595 Post Rd E, Westport, CT 06880-5602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westport Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beauty of the Connecticut coast by booking at The Westport Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member located off U.S. Route 1 in Westport, Connecticut. This hotel is within close proximity to area attractions that include the Maritime Aquarium at Norwalk, Compo Beach, Sherwood Island State Park and the Westport Country Playhouse. At the hotel, take advantage of our fitness center, business center, free bike rentals and more than 6,000 square feet of meeting space. Additional amenities include free wi-fi, an indoor pool and copy and fax services. Guest rooms and suites (some pet-friendly) offer luxurious bedding, upgraded toiletries, flat-screen televisions with cable, coffee makers, pillow-top mattresses, hairdryers, iPod docking stations, irons and ironing boards. Some rooms offer refrigerators and sofa sleepers. Enjoy convenience and service at the Westport Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member in Westport, CT. We look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westport Hotel Westport
The Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing