We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience all round.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westport Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westport Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience all round.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Ron and Antonella at the Front Desk excelled in ensuring we had a great stay. It is a warm, friendly, clean and comfortable Inn that goes above and beyond in customer service. It is great value and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AusInUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    52
    36
    31
    16
See reviews for
59
43
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scituate, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Stayed here on a business trip for 4 days and the only good thing I can say is it was close to my client's location. Annabelle on the front desk was the only employee who was helpful in the slightest. They say they have a restaurant but it doesn't actually exist. The first night we went for dinner and sat in the restaurant unnoticed for at least 10 minutes. The bartender finally came halfway toward us and told us all the reasons why we didn't want to eat there. She didn't welcome us or ask if we might like a drink in spite of the ridiculously limited menu... nothing. We tried it again in the am for breakfast but after 15 minutes of waiting to see some sign of life we went somewhere else... It would have been a big time saver if we could have had breakfast there. It was cold in the room so we bumped the thermostat to 66 and it went to 85 and stayed there. They did fix that promptly. One of my associates referred to this place as a "motel with makeup"... wouldn't stay there again...

Room Tip: Go somewhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahs01, Manager at The Westport Inn, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We have implemented a completely new Restaurant concept with an exciting new menu and staff! I hope you return so you can experience our new restaurant. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Westport hotels

New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

Cold night-we put heat on. The fan didn't work for the heater. When the room
reach our thermostat setting, it clicked off and the whole room shook. When it
went on again - boooooom, the room shook again. When you left the room, there
was a "new automatic setting", room went down to 64 and took an hour to come
back on to heat. Room in good location but needed lots of sleep when we got home.

Room Tip: dont stay in room 107
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auntjudy325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahs01, Manager at The Westport Inn, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Thank you for the feedback regarding our new Energy Conservation Thermostats. We have made adjustments to these to avoid a similar experience in the future. Thank you and I hope you give us another opportunity in the future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Maine
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

We decided to go to New York City at the last minute and didn't want to spend a fortune to stay in the city, find parking etc. So we drove to Westport and stayed at this wonderful inn for a night which was two miles from the train station. Room was clean well equipped and quiet. They have a restaurant in the building but we didn't eat there. Bed was comfortable and clean, so was the bathroom. I would stay here again if we ever decided to make this type of trip again.

Room Tip: Nice place to stay for cheap if you are planning on going to NYC for a day or evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kgj28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

I recently stayed at The Westport Inn for a night to attend a family function held elsewhere. The room and hotel were adequate at best. The room was clean and simply furnished. The shower was weak and the shower/tub area had no place in which to hold soap or shampoo. I really could not discern any difference between this inn and a much less expensive chain motel. Also, there was no help offered by the front desk with carrying luggage up a flight of stairs to get to our room.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank massny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

Recently stayed at the Westport Inn to attend a family wedding.
Accomodations were perfect, but the main reason I would return is because of the front desk staff--mainly Ricky, who had to deal with a lot of wedding participants at the same time--we were a noisy crowd and he and the manager were outstanding in every way.
Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marion g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

Recently, we were forced from our home by Hurricane Sandy. Compared to many of our neighbors, we were lucky that there was no damage to our home, but the inconvenience of not having electricity for 9 days also created concerns about home security. Our goal was to stay as close to home as possible -- and that brought us to the Westport Inn.

Putting our stay in perspective, we were guests of the Inn at an impossibly difficult time for CT, NY and NJ residents who live on or close to the coastline. Electricity, heat, hot water, and Internet access are comforts too easily taken for granted. We were fortunate and very grateful to have gotten the last available room.

Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and as helpful as they could be under difficult circumstances. But if I strip away the surrounding emergency and simply evaluate the accommodations, "over-priced" for what you get is the first word that comes to mind. As a long-time local resident, I've driven by the Inn hundreds if not thousands of times and watched the exterior of the building and the landscaping change for the better. In fairness, the property feels like it is a work in progress. And continued progress is what it needs to justify the current prices.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
1.1 mi away
Delamar Southport
Delamar Southport
#1 of 1 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fairfield Circle Inn
Fairfield Circle Inn
#1 of 3 in Fairfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Hi-Ho
Hotel Hi-Ho
#2 of 3 in Fairfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
#1 of 12 in Norwalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
5.3 mi away
Norwalk Inn & Conference Center
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fairfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westport Inn

Property: The Westport Inn
Address: 1595 Post Road East, Westport, CT 06880
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westport Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beauty of the Connecticut coast by booking at The Westport Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member located off U.S. Route 1 in Westport, Connecticut. This hotel is within close proximity to area attractions that include the Maritime Aquarium at Norwalk, Compo Beach, Sherwood Island State Park and the Westport Country Playhouse. At the hotel, take advantage of our fitness center, business center, free bike rentals and more than 6,000 square feet of meeting space. Additional amenities include free wi-fi, an indoor pool and copy and fax services. Guest rooms and suites (some pet-friendly) offer luxurious bedding, upgraded toiletries, flat-screen televisions with cable, coffee makers, pillow-top mattresses, hairdryers, iPod docking stations, irons and ironing boards. Some rooms offer refrigerators and sofa sleepers. Enjoy convenience and service at the Westport Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member in Westport, CT. We look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your The Westport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westport Hotel Westport
The Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing