We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice average hotel,good for the value.”
Review of The Westport Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westport Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westport
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice average hotel,good for the value.”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

I think this place would be better in the warmer months. Some of the rooms have outdoor entrances,so in the winter a bit of a challenge. The suite was a nice size. Furniture was very bland but served its purpose. Staff was very nice. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tricia95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    56
    39
    36
    20
See reviews for
69
45
13
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We were coming from England for a family wedding. On check in we did a room pre-auth with a card but said that on check out we were paying with a different one so not to charge that card.

While there the stay was plesent shame the bar wasnt open in the day.

On checkout we sere told to sign a receipt and low and behold they had charged the wrong card! We explained we had specifically said not to and i was told "dont worry you'll get a refund, can take 24 hours to 5 days" of which really annoyed us we were going to NYC after and i was now just short of $500 down! Not happy!

Called my card company and they said if they could get simple details i could have the money back in four hours. We called the hotel to have the phone pit down on us, to be told there was no manager, and when emailing no reply.

We got home to England STILL NO MONEY! i had spent my whole time in NY with alot less money than planned!

Took a strong email for someone to actually reply - the hotel had given me a refund but never cancelled the pre-auth meaning they were still holding the money. 30 days later i finally got my money back, i emailed to say it was through and the reply i got "ok thanks for telling us" no apology nothing!!

I was disgusted by the lack of communication, service, help and overall making what should have been an amazing trip a stressful one. My phone bill was £115 from trying to sort this out!

I shall never go here again and i make sure to tell everyone about this!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tizbungi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Westport hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We booked this hotel three months in advance for Thanksgiving night. We have three children under three, and called to specifically book the two-bedroom family suite. In fact, the availability of this suite was the only reason we booked at the property. The reservation was guaranteed with a credit card and the confirmation specified the family suite.

We called the day before to reconfirm the three cribs we had requested and were told rather discourteously that they had involuntarily rebooked us into a one-bedroom so that another guest could extend a stay in the suite we had reserved.

It was unclear on repeated inquiries why the front desk staff didn't inform the guest who requested an extended stay that the suite was not available on Thanksgiving night. One staffer blamed it on a national reservation line, who told us it was done locally. The general manager said that it was a training failure.

Rather than cancel the trip and with few other options, we did stay in the one-bedroom, which to their credit they comped. They only provided two cribs rather than the three we requested (three months in advance!) so one child had to sleep in a pack-and-play. Worse, there was no bathtub (just a stand-up shower) despite the fact they knew we were traveling with small children. They said no room with a bathtub was available when we asked.

We will not be back, and recommend anyone who requires the specific room they reserved also steer clear.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank PhilKerpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Westport is a town that doubles in size with hundreds of businesses attracting thousands of commuters yet there is no decent meeting room or gathering place for rent. At first glance the Westport Inn looked like the ideal place for a business meeting. A sizable meeting room, a beautiful lobby with fireplace, a pleasant enough breakfast area, new management that supposedly cleaned the place up.

Sadly, first impressions were deceiving and the day devolved into a catalogue of comical lapses. The meeting room was 60 degrees when we arrived -- it took a couple hours to get it up to 70. A U-shaped table was set up incorrectly; when somebody was finally found to correct it a new table was inserted that was lower and didn't fit with the others.

Outlets for projectors and other devices were hidden in a closet; computers could not be plugged in anywhere. When we found an extension cord and ran it from the closet it snaked across the floor, tripping our guest speaker every few minutes. A crew came in to tape it down in the middle of the meeting, but of course they didn't use enough tape and it came up easily, tripping the speaker again.

It got worse. The coffee arrived half an hour after we started and ran out 15 minutes later. Meantime, there was no milk or sugar; the caterer brought some, i was told, but somebody in the kitchen knocked it over. Instead of replacing it, the kitchen ignored the problem and let the caterer return to his place a mile down the road to fetch some more. The chairs were unbelievably uncomfortable after about 5 minutes into an 8 hour meeting. It was impossible to dim the lights and difficult to turn them on and off as they, too, were hidden in a closet, so overhead slides were hard to read. A bathroom off the lobby had no paper towels and the electric hand blower was not working; as a result the trashcan filled up with tissues.

I wish I could say the staff was attentive. With the exception of the events coordinator, who did the best she could, the rest of the staff seemed almost resentful of the imposition. There were no pads on the tables -- when we asked for some a staff member came in and instead of helping to distribute them dropped them in our facilitator's hands. The front desk clerks were surprised when we arrived and seemed to have little interest in our situation.

I hope these comments will be viewed constructively but if not local businesses will continue to look for greener pastures in Norwalk or Fairfield while opportunities go begging here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Landmarkfinder A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The hotel was lovely and decorated very well (and is pet-friendly which was a huge plus for us), but the staff wasn't overly welcoming and friendly and the heating system was set hotel-wide, so we couldn't control the heat/air in our room. It was soooo hot all night long, that we actually opened the windows and the outside door to let some fresh, cool air in. Not exactly the ideal situation but the only way to cool down the steaming hot room! The price per night put this in a midscale brand range, but didn't meet the expectations for the value.

Room Tip: Ask for a fan! The best part of the hotel was the restaurant on premises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This was one of our favorite family spots. There was a great pool in the main area that was very family friendly and a free continental breakfast with a waffle maker... We even saw deer through the window where the pool was during one visit.
We didn't realize it when we booked the room, but the hotel was taken over by a bigger corporation (Aspen I think). They remodeled the entire place...and not in a good way. The new pool is in the basement...and looks like the kind of place in which scenes from a horror movie would take place. No joke. No more continental breakfast either. The lock wouldn't work in the first room I had and after trying a second set of keys, they finally moved me to another room. The rooms...they have NO BUSINESS charging $200/night for any room in that place. The TV was useless, there was hardly any room to walk. Our 5 year old needs a night light and there is no light in the closet, and the light in the bathroom shines directly into the pillows..and your face.
Bottom line, it is clearly no longer a place run by a local family, but a company that could care less about neither the customer nor their employees...you may as well sleep at a (model) bed in a Wal Mart stockroom...
We will never be back....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kajf17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Although I was booked in a room at the back bldg, the way to get to the front lobby was convoluted. The way to get there was not logical. Problems with the cable tv--I called and they said they would send someone but no one showed or called;you could only run a/c or heat full on (no automatic shutoff); their wi-fi was up and down sporadically. As one reviewer put it, it was the little annoying things that made for a bad review. I have to say the rooms were fresh and housekeeping spotless, but not worth a stay. Much better choices in Norwalk.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank girlonthego_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
3.5 mi away
The Circle Hotel Fairfield
1.1 mi away
Delamar Southport
Delamar Southport
#1 of 1 in Southport
346 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Norwalk Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Fairfield Hotel
6.1 mi away
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
EVEN Hotel Norwalk
#1 of 12 in Norwalk
422 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Hi-Ho
Hotel Hi-Ho
#2 of 3 in Fairfield
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westport Inn

Property: The Westport Inn
Address: 1595 Post Rd E, Westport, CT 06880-5602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Westport Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beauty of the Connecticut coast by booking at The Westport Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member located off U.S. Route 1 in Westport, Connecticut. This hotel is within close proximity to area attractions that include the Maritime Aquarium at Norwalk, Compo Beach, Sherwood Island State Park and the Westport Country Playhouse. At the hotel, take advantage of our fitness center, business center, free bike rentals and more than 6,000 square feet of meeting space. Additional amenities include free wi-fi, an indoor pool and copy and fax services. Guest rooms and suites (some pet-friendly) offer luxurious bedding, upgraded toiletries, flat-screen televisions with cable, coffee makers, pillow-top mattresses, hairdryers, iPod docking stations, irons and ironing boards. Some rooms offer refrigerators and sofa sleepers. Enjoy convenience and service at the Westport Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member in Westport, CT. We look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westport Hotel Westport
The Hotel Westport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing