We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wethersfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silas W. Robbins House
Ranked #1 of 4 Wethersfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 August 2012

First, I would like to say that I wish I could have brought Shireen home with us to help decorate our home!!!!

The Silas Robbins House is absolutely stunning. I honestly can say it's one of the most beautiful homes I've ever seen.

We arrived late afternoon and were greeted by John who gave us a tour of this amazing B&B. Every part of this home was spotlessly clean. The beautiful details and decor make it a feast for the senses.
We stayed in the Jane Robbins room which has a elegant bathroom with soaking tub and walk in shower.
I did get a peek at the other guest rooms and they all were lovely. John and Shireen have a great website and I can honestly say that the rooms are exactly as shown.

Blessed with a beautiful morning, our breakfast was served al fresco on the front porch....What a treat.
We started with coffee, juice and then we were presented with a goblet of fresh fruit. It was beautiful!!!! After the fruit course came orange scented French toast served with both bacon and sausage and all the accompaniments. Everything was outstanding.

John and Shireen have achieved a perfect balance of luxury and approachability.

Thank you both for an amazing stay.

Steve and Judy from Maine

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 59Wandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Silas W. Robbins House in July, 2012 with our best friends. It was an amazing Bed & Breakfast that was beyond our expectations. The home was gorgeous, with so much detail given to the time period from when it was built. Yet, it was modern enough to have central air (a wonderful touch when the temperature is 97 degrees), and the bathrooms were very up-to-date. The breakfast was outstanding - you don't leave there with an empty stomach! Our hosts, Shireen and John, were pleasant to talk with about the history of the house. We would definitely stay at the Silas W. Robbins house again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsha58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This was by far the best bed and breakfast we've ever visited. Breakfast was delicious and colorful in front of a charming fireplace. The blanket on the bed was heavenly- like nothing we've ever encountered. My husband left a pair of shorts behind and the owners fedexed them to us without even asking or requesting reimbursement for the shipping! I've never experienced that level of personal service before, even at a 5 star hotel. The entire house is exquisitely restored. Most old houses simply look old, but this one feels completely new, clean, and fresh feeling, while remaining true to the original style. Every detail from the banisters to the tiles feels like an old victorian house without seeming old. Amazing and romantic.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My husband and I spent a night at the inn with another couple that we were traveling with. We felt like we stepped into the lap of luxury. Since we were the only guests, they upgraded our rooms at no additional charge. The house was so stately and elegant. Shireen did an outstanding job decorating the Victorian home and John gave us a tour of some of their private rooms. We loved learning about the history of the house and the renovations. The breakfast was plentiful and the hospitality was beyond expectations. We needed directions into NY City and Shireen called her brother to help us out. We truely had a fantastic stay!!!!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank frankFortlauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We recently stayed at the Silas Robbins house as just an overnight getaway from the kids. We actually only live 10 minutes away. What a fantastic experience! The owners were so accomodating and we felt right at home immediately. They didn't mind that we poked our heads into some of the rooms just to look at the restoration of the place and how nicely decorated it is. Even though they are probably tired of all the questions people ask about the restoration, they didn't seem to mind all of our inquires about this and that.

The entire place is gorgeous - the grounds are well-maintained and nice for a stroll and there are plenty of places to just sit and reflect. We spend at least 2 hours just sitting on one of the porches staring off into space. The setting is just very relaxing overall. We stayed in the Jane Robbins room - a very comfortable, relaxing room made up of blues and whites. The place was spotless and we had everything we needed. The bathroom was large and we were easily able to both get ready in the morning. There was a huge shower and tub for a nice soak if one wants to.

Breakfast was well-done and very nice. We had a huge cup of fruit and two huge pieces of french toast with bacon and sausage. I usually don't eat much in the morning, but I left stuffed after that meal! We could have choosen to eat out on the porch, but it was very hot so we opted to sit in the breakfast room instead and admire the room and all the decor. Overall a wonderful experience. We plan to go back in a few months for another getaway and look forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uconn97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

The Silas Robbins B&B in a word is 'perfection'! From the moment you enter this elaborate home, you are impressed with the fine furnishings and attention to detail that the owners have provided. We arrived on a very hot July day, but you would never have known it as the central air throughout was wonderfully cool. We were graciously greeted and ecorted to the most beautiful suite! The bath room was designed with luxury in mind. The robes and linens were sumptuous and the bedding was crisp and fresh. Every possible desire was met before you could even think of it. Breakfast was a culinary delight...from the generous fresh fruit cup to the perfect bacon, sausage links, eggs and freshly baked warm berry muffins. The hosts were congenial and attentive but not intrusive. We were in CT to help our son move and were very tired. What a pleasure it was to have such unexpected splendor to revive our bodies and minds!!! It was the most perfect visit I've ever enjoyed and I will return...again and again and again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sometimesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

we had a romantic evening and the surrounding town was charming. The Bed and Breakfast was breathe taking from the inside out. the Inn keepers we caring and helpful in every way. Just remember when putting in the GPS that the city is Wethersfield and not Hartford. If you get lost call the Inn they will help you find your way. I can not wait to return for another romantic weekend.

Room Tip: Sorry there is not a pool but the shower is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wethersfield hotels
2.6 mi away
No photo provided
Atlantic Inn
#2 of 4 in Wethersfield
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chester Bulkley House Bed and Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Wethersfield - Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Wethersfield-Hartford
1.8 mi away
Motel 6 Hartford-Wethersfield
Motel 6 Hartford-Wethersfield
#2 of 7 in Wethersfield
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silas W. Robbins House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silas W. Robbins House

Address: 185 Broad St, Wethersfield, CT 06109-3133
Region: United States > Connecticut > Wethersfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wethersfield
Price Range: £139 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1873 by Silas Robbins, the House is a sophisticated and elegant representation of the Second Empire design. The House is listed on the National Registry. It is located in the oldest community and in the largest historic district of Connecticut; a treasure of a home, brought back to its previous grandeur. It is magnificently restored to its original splendor and upgraded with all the amenities including air conditioning. Enjoy the Victorian charm of the House while we enchant you with our hospitality! Visit us in historic Old Wethersfield, CT, overlooking the scenic Broad Street Green. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing