We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wethersfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silas W. Robbins House
Ranked #1 of 4 Wethersfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We've stayed at B&Bs throughout New England, Cape Cod, Newport and upstate New York. Robbins House is by far the best, hands down. Recommend wholeheartedly in every way. Rooms comfortable, food great and service friendly.

Room Tip: Lower cost rooms are spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard02132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

All the superlatives in the reviews of the Silas Robbins House are right on. This is actually the best B&B I've ever stayed at (over 45 years of B&Bs) and will stay there again when near the area. The house, the rooms, the hosts, the breakfast, the grounds and the surrounding community are all exceptional and so much more than I expected.

Room Tip: All bedrooms are beautiful. We were in the Morgan Room. It was comfortable in every way. Loved the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We recently stayed at the Silas W. Robbins House with another couple while we were in the area to attend a concert at the Comcast Theater in Hartford. This was one of the best B&B's we've stayed in. The house and grounds are in excellent condition and it is located in a very nice, quiet residential area, yet very close to Hartford so you can take advantage of everything the area has to offer without needing to drive very far. The house and rooms are beautifully decorated and everything is spotless. We like to stay in places where the owners keep everything very clean and operational and this B&B went above and beyond in these areas. There was no one else staying the night we were there, so Shireen and John graciously upgraded our rooms at no additional cost to us. All of the rooms are both beautiful and functional, which is not always the case when staying at a B&B. The breakfast was delicious and Shireen was able to accommodate our dietary restrictions without sacrificing the quality and taste of the food. Both Shireen and John are excellent hosts and we would not hesitate staying there again. As a matter of fact we're actively looking at upcoming concerts in the Hartford area so we can make plans to stay at the Silas Robbins House again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerryandLili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

First, I would like to say that I wish I could have brought Shireen home with us to help decorate our home!!!!

The Silas Robbins House is absolutely stunning. I honestly can say it's one of the most beautiful homes I've ever seen.

We arrived late afternoon and were greeted by John who gave us a tour of this amazing B&B. Every part of this home was spotlessly clean. The beautiful details and decor make it a feast for the senses.
We stayed in the Jane Robbins room which has a elegant bathroom with soaking tub and walk in shower.
I did get a peek at the other guest rooms and they all were lovely. John and Shireen have a great website and I can honestly say that the rooms are exactly as shown.

Blessed with a beautiful morning, our breakfast was served al fresco on the front porch....What a treat.
We started with coffee, juice and then we were presented with a goblet of fresh fruit. It was beautiful!!!! After the fruit course came orange scented French toast served with both bacon and sausage and all the accompaniments. Everything was outstanding.

John and Shireen have achieved a perfect balance of luxury and approachability.

Thank you both for an amazing stay.

Steve and Judy from Maine

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 59Wandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Silas W. Robbins House in July, 2012 with our best friends. It was an amazing Bed & Breakfast that was beyond our expectations. The home was gorgeous, with so much detail given to the time period from when it was built. Yet, it was modern enough to have central air (a wonderful touch when the temperature is 97 degrees), and the bathrooms were very up-to-date. The breakfast was outstanding - you don't leave there with an empty stomach! Our hosts, Shireen and John, were pleasant to talk with about the history of the house. We would definitely stay at the Silas W. Robbins house again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsha58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This was by far the best bed and breakfast we've ever visited. Breakfast was delicious and colorful in front of a charming fireplace. The blanket on the bed was heavenly- like nothing we've ever encountered. My husband left a pair of shorts behind and the owners fedexed them to us without even asking or requesting reimbursement for the shipping! I've never experienced that level of personal service before, even at a 5 star hotel. The entire house is exquisitely restored. Most old houses simply look old, but this one feels completely new, clean, and fresh feeling, while remaining true to the original style. Every detail from the banisters to the tiles feels like an old victorian house without seeming old. Amazing and romantic.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My husband and I spent a night at the inn with another couple that we were traveling with. We felt like we stepped into the lap of luxury. Since we were the only guests, they upgraded our rooms at no additional charge. The house was so stately and elegant. Shireen did an outstanding job decorating the Victorian home and John gave us a tour of some of their private rooms. We loved learning about the history of the house and the renovations. The breakfast was plentiful and the hospitality was beyond expectations. We needed directions into NY City and Shireen called her brother to help us out. We truely had a fantastic stay!!!!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank frankFortlauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wethersfield hotels
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Wethersfield - Hartford
1.8 mi away
Motel 6 Hartford-Wethersfield
Motel 6 Hartford-Wethersfield
#1 of 7 in Wethersfield
66 reviews
2.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#4 of 4 in Wethersfield
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
No photo provided
Atlantic Inn
#2 of 4 in Wethersfield
2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Silas W. Robbins House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silas W. Robbins House

Address: 185 Broad St, Wethersfield, CT 06109-3133
Region: United States > Connecticut > Wethersfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wethersfield
Price Range: £146 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1873 by Silas Robbins, the House is a sophisticated and elegant representation of the Second Empire design. The House is listed on the National Registry. It is located in the oldest community and in the largest historic district of Connecticut; a treasure of a home, brought back to its previous grandeur. It is magnificently restored to its original splendor and upgraded with all the amenities including air conditioning. Enjoy the Victorian charm of the House while we enchant you with our hospitality! Visit us in historic Old Wethersfield, CT, overlooking the scenic Broad Street Green. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing