We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wethersfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silas W. Robbins House
Ranked #1 of 4 Wethersfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Just returned from our stay in this simply amazing bed and breakfast. Victorian home lovingly restored with finest materials, beautifully decorated and ultra luxurious accomodations. Innkeepers very warm, friendly, respectful of privacy. AMAZING breakfast.
We stayed w/ our teenage daughter -- we all loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niclaur101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2010

This was the most amazing place to stay. I want to live there. The rooms were incredibly clean, decorated beyond my highest expectations, the food was delicious and the hosts are kind, generous and know exactly how to meet all your needs while leaving you with total privacy! I highly rec'd this B&B to everyone.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
Thank rileytobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Wow! Where should I begin? We were treated every morning to a luxurious breakfast out on the three-story mansion's porch, free to sit there all morning watching the people and activities in the park across the street. When we we were there we were treated to the town's Memorial Day Parade... However, every day out on their porch was like being inside a Norman Rockwell painting, as we took in the beautiful surroundings of Whethersfield's historic district.

The inn itself was beautiful on the inside as well...with its thick carpeting, wooden floors and high ceilings, you never felt like anyone else was there, you never felt like you were on top of anyone or crowded in. The hosts, John and Shireen Aforismo, let you basically have the place to yourself. A very nice place to stay.

Also, for allergy sufferersor for those with heightened chemical sensitivities, this place is a great place to stay. No harsh chemicals are used to clean the rooms, and the place overall has a light airy feeling about it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tderoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

This is an elegant B&B in historic Wethersfield, CT. The innkeepers have lovingly renovated this classic home with attention to every detail. They researched the era to provide each room with period pieces that are exquisite as well as functional. We were pampered as guests and it was truly the best B&B experience we have ever had. If you ever are near the Hartford, CT area, get away from the heart of the city and explore Wethersfield. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLK48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

We stayed here for one night in early December. The house is located in Wethersfield, a beautiful historic area south of Hartford, a bit like an 18th century country village. The house is a gorgeous old three storey mansion, beautifully renovated and furnished. It was stylishly decorated for Christmas. On arrival, we were welcomed by Shireen who gave us every assistance and recommendations for dinner etc. Our room, the Silas Robbins room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious - fruit and homemade blueberry pancakes and coffee. This is a wonderful place to stay on a drive through New England.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greengreta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

I flew from Colorado to meet my younger sister (who lives in Vermont and was having a tough time in her life) for a weekend of rest, recuperation and pleasure at this truly fabulous bed and breakfast near Hartford. The place is a mansion - literally - but completely refurbished and newly redone inside, so that you have the feel of living in a Victorian mansion, only in modern times, with modern touches. The innkeepers were friendly, efficient and gracious, but didn't intrude; the town itself was a wonderful place to walk around in. From start to finish, our stay there was a dream come true - and, as my sister wrote in the guest book, a place "where a soul was healed."

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgoold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2008

I grew up in Wethersfield and was home recently for the holidays, so we took a few rooms at the Silas Robbins House (the Fluer de Li and the Cupids and Roses). I am not a fan of bed and breakfasts generally, but this was an absolute treat. This is the most amazing renovation that I have ever seen, so the place is in great condition. (Hard to picture in your head if you have ever been to a B&B before).

One of the best features is the owners themselves (which to me can be the biggest risk of a B&B). Very pleasant, very attentive, but very respectful of your privacy.

I give this experience my highest rating! The SRH is not even comparable to other B&Bs in the area Chester Bulkley, etc.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wizard3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wethersfield
2.6 mi away
No photo provided
Atlantic Inn
#2 of 4 in Wethersfield
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chester Bulkley House Bed and Breakfast
2.2 mi away
The Connecticut River Valley Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Wethersfield - Hartford
2.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Wethersfield-Hartford
1.8 mi away
Motel 6 Hartford-Wethersfield
Motel 6 Hartford-Wethersfield
#1 of 7 in Wethersfield
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silas W. Robbins House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silas W. Robbins House

Address: 185 Broad St, Wethersfield, CT 06109-3133
Region: United States > Connecticut > Wethersfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wethersfield
Price Range: £139 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1873 by Silas Robbins, the House is a sophisticated and elegant representation of the Second Empire design. The House is listed on the National Registry. It is located in the oldest community and in the largest historic district of Connecticut; a treasure of a home, brought back to its previous grandeur. It is magnificently restored to its original splendor and upgraded with all the amenities including air conditioning. Enjoy the Victorian charm of the House while we enchant you with our hospitality! Visit us in historic Old Wethersfield, CT, overlooking the scenic Broad Street Green. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing