We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Restaurant--all around” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vito's by the Water

Vito's by the Water
Reserve with OpenTable
Vito's by the Water is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 58 Restaurants in Windsor
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Day Hill Road
Transit: Vito's is located on the bus line.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant--all around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Whether you want to host a small party or even a shower, or whether you are coming for lunch or dinner, Vito's by the Water is a great find. Off the beaten path, yet easily accessible, Vito's has good food, good service, and a good view--of the water!! One can dine on salads, apps, great entrees (check out the prixe fix meals on Fridays!), and even an excellent pizza. Waitstaff friendly and knowledgeable and the price is reasonable. A nice restaurant for families, friends, and new aquaintances.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    51
    15
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Jazz Brunch "Evaaaaa"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Vito's by the Water is my favorite restaurant for many reasons: EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE, great menu, exciting foodie events, exceptional food, a very fresh raw bar but mostly (drum roll) one of the few (if not only) places in the area where there is a fabulous scotch selection. My fav: Balvenie's Caribbean Cask 14 year old single malt. Can I just say again: EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE! The jazz brunch, which is new, will be my "gotta do it every Sunday" thing from now on. Hubby and baby brother joined me on the Piazza under an umbrella for this 2 hour stint. Loved It. The port belly hash was phenomenal, the omelets was great and the burgers are served with an egg on top in between foccaccio bread. We also shared the salmon appetizer, had some fresh fruit and mini bagels. When we thought we were almost done. brother and I shared a dozen clams on the half shell. We walked around the property just to enjoy how pretty the place is and right next to the beautiful lake we saw Canadian geese with their little fuzzy babies. Perfect end to a perfect day!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Always worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Nice casual setting with attentive service and good food. It can get noisey if there are large parties but mostly the noise level is fine. Nice view of wooded area with lake.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
174 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not sure why family keeps going back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

In town visiting and family took my wife and me back - again - to this restaurant, I think because its proximity to Windsor makes it easy to get to. It's located in center of industrial/insurance park, so perhaps it is hopping at lunch. On a recent FR night is was quiet, and cold. They have some white lights on trees overlooking a pond for attempt at ambience. I must say the raw bar was good this night (clams) but pasta was salty and fair. One couple nearby spent entire evening on their laptops typing away while others nearby were trying to have a conversation. In short, fair food, attempt at ambience, probably best suited for those working nearby.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DartSkiDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurants everywhere
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“YUM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

My favorite spot for a quick lunch, leisurely dinner, and world class service! Food is always perfect and ambiance and staff are friendly and accomodating.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DashingDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vito's by the Water also viewed

 

Been to Vito's by the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing