We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully appointed Old Colonial Bungalow”
Review of The Lavender House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Katukitula
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lavender House
Ranked #1 of 2 Katukitula B&B and Inns
eastbourne
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautifully appointed Old Colonial Bungalow”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst travelling from Yala to Habarana, whilst our room was very big it lacked AC because it was very stuffy and did not cool down much at night. Comfortable bed but weird bathroom with roll top bath and no curtain, so water everywhere. The management was excellent which reflected in the standard of service and the food was very tasty. We did not like the large communal table sub divided up in to each party, we would have preferred separate tables but that is just our personal choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This has the feel of the 1930s or 1940s, an old colonial bungalow perched high in the middle of a tea plantation and converted into several accommodation rooms and communal living areas stylishly furnished for the period with a large candlelit dining tables and comfortable armchairs arranged under the gaze of a portrait of Churchill. The small staff are all there to welcome you on arrival and work hard to ensure your needs are met. Dinner was excellent and tea delivered to your bedroom before breakfast. There is a feeling of smooth management across all areas of operation. There is no feeling of faded glory here - it is still very evident and a sense of quality revades. There is also an infinity pool with a fantastic view over the mountains although we were not brave enough for a swim at this time of year.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulb1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Lavender house is set in a tea estate in the hills of Sri Lanka. The bungalow which has Ben converted to the accommodation and living areas is beautifully appointed. The rooms area very spacious with comfortable beds and great bathrooms. We had a wonderful time playing pool, walking the grounds and lazing by the pool.

I cannot say enough about the staff. They were extremely friendly, knowledgeable and attentive without being overly so. The food was great and had enough variety to keep us excited for the four night stay.

I rate this as the best accommodation in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bearfam02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

A beautiful old colonial bungalow in the middle of the tea plantations. We were lucky enough to be the only guests and felt as though we had our own private house complete with staff who went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The pool is perfectly situated with amazing views over the tea plantations - the perfect place for a delicious cream tea. The food throughout our stay was very good - special mention to the sri lankan curries.
During our stay we walked up to the small tea factory and were given a tour - it is very uncommercial and felt like stepping back in time.
We all loved our stay at the Lavender House - excellent staff and rooms full of character, although it was a little hot at night with only a fan. My teenage son particularly enjoyed using the pool table and being able to watch English football in the television room.
One word of warning - the local children will pester you for money and if you don't oblige will start to throw stones at you!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j59Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Having not researched the hotel before, I really did not know what to expect when we arrived at the Lavender House but when I walked into the garden it was one of the most breathtaking views I had seen for a long while. I was already beginning to wish that we were staying here for longer than 2 nights in the old colonial bungalow.

Pool & Garden Area: The pool and garden area is absolutely gorgeous. The pool area was a perfect size and perfect to lie by and read your book. The infinity pool really added to the setting and we reguarly had breakfast and afternoon tea sat out at the tables by the pool.

Rooms: The bungalow was incredibly uniquely decorated which gave a great insight into the heritage of the colonial residence. There was a billiards room, a classical sitting room along with a formal dining room with mahogany furniture. You really felt like you were in Downton Abbey when you dined there! The bedrooms were in similar style and incredibly grand. The only downside I will say is that there was no AC in my room, only a fan which did get quite hot especially as the fan was noisy at night so we tried to avoid putting it on.

Food: The food here was absolutely fantastic and the best one our trip. I also loved how involved the chef got with the day to day running of the hotel which I think is a real rarity. My mum had already read all about the infamous afternoon tea's so we made sure that we ordered one as soon as we arrived and we were not dissapointed. Freshly baked scones, sandwiches, butter cake with a choice of icings and lots more treats meant us worried how we were going to fit in dinner. Dinner was a real experience in the colonial dining room and there was always a choice between a Western and a Sri Lankan menu. Both of my parents had the Sri Lankan curry which they said was the best on their trip and I had the Western menu both nights which was very nice including a fantastic steak and flourless chocolate cake.

Service: The service here was absolutely fantastic and I would say the best we recieved during our whole two week trip of Sri Lanka. Staff were always there when you needed and there were always willing to go the extra mile whether it meant altering a menu dish slightly or choosing where you would like to have your afternoon tea. We really felt looked after during our stay.

Overall, this is an absolute must for anyone visiting the tea plantations. With only five rooms, a perfect location and excellent service, it is the perfect place to stay. We only wished we were staying another night and didn't have to go back on the road!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank london_traveller6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

A long rickety road takes you up to the hotel so you begin to wander where you are going. Then you reach the entrance and it is fantastic. A plantation bungalow full of charm, wonderful scenery all around, and the pool area is absolutely wonderful.
On top of all this the food was exquisite and the Chef heard it was our 25th wedding anniversary and went to the trouble of producing a wonderful surprise cake. Can't recommend this place enough and have nt even mentioned yet how wonderful all the staff were. We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DARINABEESLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The old colonial bungalow is situated in the middle of a tea plantation with the most glorious views from the garden. The staff are welcoming and courteous, the chef is brilliant and the rooms are large, elegant and extremely comfortable. It is an incredibly peaceful place and one we all long to return to.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katukitula
8.9 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,548 reviews
8.4 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
160 reviews
9.1 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#9 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
660 reviews
20.0 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
9.6 mi away
Ferncliff
Ferncliff
#1 of 250 in Nuwara Eliya
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lavender House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lavender House

Property: The Lavender House
Address: Hellboda Estate | Katukitula, Katukitula 20588, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Katukitula
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Katukitula
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Lavender House Sri Lanka/Katukitula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing