We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Turned away in a snowstorm even with reservation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Hartford - Windsor Locks
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Windsor Locks
Princeton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Turned away in a snowstorm even with reservation”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

A friend in her sixties and traveling alone was just refused her room during a dangerous snow storm because the power was out and they were unable to run her credit card. She could have partially paid in cash but they would only accept full payment and would not simply take her credit card information and run it when the power was back on. Even partial payment would have been pretty good revenue for a room with no heat or power. Instead, she had to hit the road with her two little dogs and find another room - in the middle of the storm and in the dark. A room which, incidentally, cost her about 3 times more. The manager at this hotel should be fired.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sketcher709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    7
    9
    9
    16
See reviews for
6
7
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jwost
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

This place was kind of depressing, although not sure why. First was put in a room with a sink that was backed up with nasty, smelly yellow liquid. Had to be changed to another room, which was fine in general. Thermostat on heater didn't seem to work so was either very hot or cold. The room was actually fairly clean, though, new shower and linoleum seemed to have been put in recently, sheets were clean, although blanket was not. The fact that wi-fi was not free was [--] also. Ultimately, your only reason to stay here should be if you have a flight in or out of the airport, it is very close to the airport and convenient in that sense. Otherwise, you can do better elsewhere...

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2008

I was traveling alone with my two boys on our way to Maine for the summer and decided to split the trip up and stay at a motel with a pool. I was very specific when booking the motel regarding the smoking policy. I even called in advance to make SURE I would get a nonsmoking room. Upon arrival, we were greeted with the sight of maids walking in and out of rooms with cigarettes dangling from their lips. Our room was so smoky you could almost see the blue clouds. There was an ashtray on the table turned upside down with a no smoking symbol on it which was a joke. Uhhh.... nonsmoking= don't need ashtray in room. Yes, I guess I asked for it by going cheap, but will NEVER make this mistake again. I'd rather pay the extra $50 a night and get a clean, real nonsmoking room. When we left in the morning all our stuff reeked of smoke, including our hair. YUK!!! They should save everyone's hassle and just say that they do not have nonsmoking rooms.

  • Disliked — Not nonsmoking as promised
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mistyseaocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2006

Absolutely the lowest price in the area. If you don't expect perks (coffee machine, hair dryers etc.) of the higher priced chains, you'll be happy here.

I've stayed here about 10 times. The rooms are always clean and with one exception, have always been well stocked with towels and soap.

The only room type I don't recommend is "adjoining", too noisey for me.

Airplane noise is a fact of life for all hotels in the airport area.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WheatBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2006

Room was "fairly" clean upon initial inspection. Carpet in my room was covered in some kind of fuzz, however, I did not know what it was. Later I discovered it was, in fact, animal hair all over my carpet. When I went to sleep I was itching all over and found little black specks underneather the covers. After to getting very little sleep due to scratching, I realized the room was infested with FLEAS. Since I had no pets the FLEAS were biting me! I checked out the next day. I don't like paying money to live a space contaminated by animals...If I wanted FLEAS I could've slept outside. Pets OK but it's Management's responsibility to make sure Rooms are fit for HUMAN use!!!

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rudolph, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2005

I have stayed at this motel many times as I visit family/friends and it is very close to Bradley International Airport. So close that one of the major runways has planes coming in directly over the pool area. The hotel is mediocre at best; the beds are not comfortable, the rooms are small and cramped and not very soundproof. They do have an inground pool which appears to be used by all the cleaning crew family members (as free daycare?). The room I was in had a small shower made for 3 feet tall people because the shower nozzle was about that high. Maid service is fair; if you ask for a rollaway or extra towels, you may have to wait quite a while. There is no blower dryer, coffee maker or any other amenities; towels are sparce and not readily available. Messages left at the desk don't always get forwarded to your room. Rooms get only the 'quickie' cleaning; nothing thorough. Many construction workers use this hotel, so be prepared not only for the airplanes, but lots of diesel trucks to leave early in the AM. It is close to Friendly's Restaurant and many other family dining places. Parking area is well lit. If you only plan to stay there for one night ($60.00/night), I guess it's okay. But if you want to really sleep, you may wish to choose a different hotel on the same strip (that doesn't have DC-9's flying over all day and night!).

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oceanlover1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor Locks hotels
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Hartford Bradley Airport
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Windsor Locks - Bradley International Airport
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bradley Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Airport
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Airport
#10 of 14 in Windsor Locks
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford/Windsor Locks
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Hartford Hotel at Bradley Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Hartford - Windsor Locks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Hartford - Windsor Locks

Property: Motel 6 Hartford - Windsor Locks
Address: 3 National Drive, Windsor Locks, CT 6096
Region: United States > Connecticut > Windsor Locks
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Windsor Locks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Hartford - Windsor Locks 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Hartford - Windsor Locks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Windsor Locks
Motel Six Windsor Locks
Windsor Locks Motel Six
Windsor Locks Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing