We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice clean hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Windsor Locks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Windsor Locks
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Windsor Locks
Raleigh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice clean hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We had a nice efficiency room with a kitchenette, full size refrigerator, microwave, hot plate, and dishwasher. Even though it was close to BDL, we did not think it was too noisy. Front desk was very nice.

Room Tip: Be sure to use your Priority Card to get added benefits like late check out
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J C, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Windsor Locks, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Candlewood Suites at Bradley International Airport. I am so happy you chose our hotel while you were in the area. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    28
    11
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
17
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

I frequently stay at this hotel when I'm working in downtown Hartford and in MA. I have never had any negative issues with this hotel. The rooms are always claen and comfortable. Rarely have I heard any noise from the other rooms. You can't beat being across the road from the airport. You get free DVD rentals too.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J C, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Windsor Locks, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments and post on Trip Advisor. I am so happy to hear that we are meeting your needs and that we are your hotel choice when visiting the area. Please let me know if there is ever anything we can do to make your hotel experience even better. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

I've stayed at Candlewood hotels in various places, and have always been pleased. I've stayed at this particular Candlewood a few times over the years, the first time when it was new, and again recently. I was glad to see that they're keeping it in pretty good shape; after all, a hotel CAN get used and abused, but if maintained, they can do ok. The place was clean, and that was my main concern.
I love having the kitchenette and the full-sized refrigerator -- I prefer to prepare my own meals if possible -- I can eat healthier that way, and it's more relaxed as well -- I'm not running all over looking for a place to eat. I can buy something from the Candlewood Cupboard, or I can bring my own, which I tend to do more often than not.
The front desk is always friendly and helpful, they always have plenty of towels, the kitchen has everything you need, there's plenty of parking, and the rates are reasonable. The only negative is that the thermostats are a bit difficult to operate, so it's tough to get the perfect temperature. But other than that, couldn't ask for a better stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank p3smom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J C, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Windsor Locks, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Dear Guest,
I am so happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our Candlewood Suites. We work very hard to keep our property clean and maintained and appreciate your positive comments. Also, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. I will work with the maintenance team and see if we can have the thermostats regulate with more ease and accuracy. . Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012 via mobile

Checkin was good. Small lobby, average decor. Room on first floor. It looked clean, but smelled well used in the room. The bed was like sleeping on the floor. Pillows were lumpy and had an odor. Sign said "house keeping every seven days"--I believe it. The laundry room had free washers and dryers. Fitness room was adequate. My thermostate in my room did not work. I was given the option to move, but it was late--just remained there. I noticed other complaints about the bedding. For the money I will try the Fairfield next time--right down the block.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J C, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Windsor Locks, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to respond on Trip Advisor and let us know that you had less than a perfect stay. I am terribly sorry your experience at our Candlewood Suites was not a better one. I would greatly appreciate it if you could contact me at the hotel to discuss your stay and allow us to make it right.. Thank you again for responding and I look forward to your call.
J. Corso
General Manager
860-623-2000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

I work construction and my company sends me all over the country and I have never left a review of a hotel before but I thought I would this time 1st off the staff is great they were very helpful with directions to places eat and things to do also I really like there bulletin board they post the weather and usually have a different famous quote up there anyway I enjoyed the little things they did to make my day a little better and I would just like to say thank you the rooms were very nice and clean and I would have to say it was one of the better places I've stayed






i

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aj c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J C, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Windsor Locks, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to place this review on Trip Advisor. Our Out and About Board is a new Candlewood Suites signature item and we are glad it was helpful to you. I will be sure to tell our staff how impressed you were with their service. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Maine
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Our stay at Candlewood Suites provided just what we needed... a pool for children to exhaust themselves in, kitchen facilities in our room for flexible, family-friendly eating and helpful staff. After checking out and accidently leaving my cell phone charger in my room, when I called over a week later, a helpful staff member located my charger and went out of her way to be sure it was returned to me. I am so grateful to that staff memeber and the housekeeping staff for my left item being found and sent home to me! A refreshing outcome! Thank you Candlewood Suites staff for a great stay and a job well done!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wbcinmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J C, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Windsor Locks, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Candlewood Suites on Trip Advisor. I am so pleased that you had a wonderful stay and that we were able to get you your lost and found item to you. I will be sure to pass on your review to the staff members that handled your lost and found item. We look forward to having you as a guest in the future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

If you dont want to see surprise charges on your credit card, you'll want to skip this hotel.
We unfortunately stayed for many months at this hotel. Where to start. Biggest problem is after some months of charging us weekly and giving us a reciept for those charges, they decided to just start charging when and what they wanted. We had no idea until we got our credit card statement. Charged us for a week and then charged us 2 days later for another week without our knowledge. Reciepts they were giving us did not match the charges they were putting on our credit card. You think when you get a detailed reciept of charges and days on paper that thats whats being charged? Well not at this place. I'd keep close eye on your credit card charges if you make the mistake of giving this hotel your card.
Not related to this disaster the hotel is marginal. Everyone is freindly except the on staff manager. She was not freindly the day I looked at the room and held true all the way til we checked out. Let me ad, if your a non smoker, go to another hotel also. I was on a non smoking floor and so many times there was smoke coming in from the hall of those who were smoking in there non smoking rooms. The hotels answer to this was spraying
air freshner in the hall and not confronting the guests who were smoking. Housekeeping does not always vacuum there rooms. When they didnt I would go ask to borrow a vacuum and do it myself. Not a big deal, but I'd think vacuuming a room would be "housekeeping 101". We changed rooms at least twice when checking in because of refrigerators that could wake the dead. We finally got tired of changing and learned to leave the tv on so's not to hear the frig and AC.
Maybe a night or 2 is tolerable but if your going to stay for longer and want to be sure what your TOLD your being charged is the same as what your actually BEING charged, avoid this Candlewood.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Windsor Locks, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear Dee W,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. My sincerest apology for the issues you experienced in our hotel. I would love to have the chance to regain your trust in our hotel and would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional information regarding your stay.

Sincerely,

Mia R.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor Locks hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bradley Airport
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Windsor Locks - Bradley International Airport
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Hartford Bradley Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford/Windsor Locks
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Hartford Airport/Windsor Locks
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Hartford Hotel at Bradley Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Windsor Locks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Windsor Locks

Property: Candlewood Suites Windsor Locks
Address: 149 Ella Grasso Tpke, Windsor Locks, CT 06096-1026
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Windsor Locks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Windsor Locks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Windsor Locks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Windsor Locks offers guests a comfortable extended stay. Conveniently situated near the Hartford Bradley International Airport, the Candlewood Suites Hotel in Windsor Locks, CT offers easy access to downtown Hartford, CT and Springfield, MA, as well as to top area attractions and businesses. Extended stay guests of our pet friendly Windsor Locks hotel can enjoy spending an afternoon at Six Flags New England or the Eastern States Exposition Grounds. Tours of the historic Mark Twain House, the New England Air Museum and the Springfield Basketball Hall of Fame are also less than 12 miles from our Windsor Locks, CT accommodations. While lodging in Windsor Locks, CT, business-oriented travelers can appreciate our hotel near Bradley International Airport and companies such as Hamilton Sundstrand, Ahlstrom, American Honda and Travelers. To best accommodate our guests' business needs, we offer over 900 sq. ft. of meeting space and a 24-hour business center. During your visit, you can enjoy the comforts of home and the convenience of a regular routine. A complimentary area shuttle and free high-speed Internet access are provided, and an indoor swimming pool, a well-equipped fitness center, a DVD lending library and an outdoor barbecue gazebo are also available on-site. As you plan your trip, we hope you will explore our exceptional Windsor Locks hotel rates and make your reservations with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Windsor Locks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Windsor Locks Hotel Windsor Locks
Candlewood Windsor Locks
Windsor Locks Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing