We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
10
26
22
15
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
26
22
15
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslunch dinnerfull board packagehammocks and swingswarmly welcomed by the staffroom was spacious and cleanpeaceful triptropical paradisemersing jetty30minskljohorfishingkayak
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Manager so rude !! prefer BESIDE THIS Resort .
but their staff very friendly and they willing to help us for solve room problem.
food quality okay, but no buffet within 20 people == very disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joeytan0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

We have stayed in for 3 days 2 nights. We have a very bad experience in this resort such as:
1.) Bed with bed bugs ( picture as shown beware)
2.) Taking bath with sea water which is salty ( i mean in your own bathroom)
3.) Rude and dishonest manager ( try to get a receipt from him when u make a payment or not u will be cheated)
4.) Food is ok... but if compare with aseana, its heaven and hell. ( the same price for dinner buffet but aseana have more choices and also serving types of juices instead of only drinking water.
5.) Rooms are really lousy and not worth the price to pay!!
6.) Staffs are friendly but the manager is really impolite!!

Please !! After u read my reviews pls dont take a chance to try or u will regret!!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
19  Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Okay, we booked the D'Coconut because the aseana resort was booked out. I knew about the many bad reviews but I wanted to give it a try.
Since I didn't expect much, I did not get surprised. The rooms were okay. We only needed it for sleeping, most of the day we spend outside. There were two deck chairs on the beach - you better tried to catch one since you don't want to lay on the sand (sandflees...).
But hey - it was our cheapest hotel at our Malaysiatrip!

What was really good was the food! Also the staff was really nice and all in all, we had an relaxing time on Pulau Besar.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Adventurenacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

I've been fairly lucky in my past travels and have never before felt the need to come online just to write a bad review to warn others to stay clear of a place. But there's a first for everything and D'Coconut has ended our run of pleasant vacations.

To be fair to D'Coconut I will list out their pros before dwelling on their many cons.

PROS
1)Transfer from Mersing: arranging the ferry transfer from mersing was smooth and there were no delays or disruptions.
2) It's right at the beach with a beach volleyball net available.
3) Right next door to Aseania which is a far superior resort that serves good food, has a live band and actually serves alcohol!
4) The resort is large with many rooms and even if the rest of the island is booked out, you can find vacancies here (now we know why though!)

CONS
1) The biggest con of this resort which probably compounded every other problem was the Manager. He was rude, dismissive and showed zero hospitality skills. When asked for the phone number of head office to lodge complaints, he yelled and said that he was the owner and has been in the business for 40 years and we could go to hell!
2) The menu has very limited vegetarian options but thankfully the staff were nice enough to make something different on the 4th day, after 3 consecutive days of eating veg fried rice for every meal.
3) The rooms are dingy and badly maintained. We stayed for 4 nights and there is no cleaning service so the dirty room just gets dirtier with each day.
4) Aircon in our room had no remote to control the speed. The electricity trips frequently throughout the day and night.
5) The bathroom is small with mould and rust and no ventilation. Our friend's bathroom had a permanent puddle of stagnated water on the floor around the toilet bowl.
6) Other than beer, there is no alcohol served! The pool bar is just a facade and this is probably the only beach dude resort that doesn't serve cocktails.
7) YOU WILL CATCH A DISEASE!!!!! This should be the number 1 reason to stay away from this place. 5 out of 8 adults came back from the holiday with Cutaneous Larva Migrans which is essentially worm larvae getting lodged into your skin and infecting it. Google it, it's not pleasant! The one child in our group (18 month old) caught hand, foot and mouth disease on the holiday.

All in all, would only recommend this place only if you want to pay good money to have a bad time.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
17  Thank AnchRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

Simple room, simple facility in room. The room is just providing you space to have a good sleep.
Bed is comfortable. Air conditioned.

Staffs are helpful and informative.
Vegetarian friendly, resort will prepare vegetarian food as special request.

Suggestion:
1. Air dryer should be provided and can be borrowed at least at reception. Very important to long hair lady.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Ho C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews