We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most friendly and Great service at Pulau Besar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pulau Besar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Although we did not stay in Aseania we came back every day for the lunch and dinner and the comfortable chairs at the beach. The staff is most friendly and the bbq on saturday evening the best of all 3 resorts in both price and quality.
When the manager/boss discovered that my birthday was coming he secretly ordered a birthday cake. What a surprise that was!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebntbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

Just returned from a 3 days - 2nights stay at Aseania. We weren't sure of what to expect, after having booked the resort based on the good reviews here. Simply put, we were not disappointed. The resort is one of the most basic ones we have ever stayed in, but it was also probably the most pleasant. The beach is a beauty with its crystal blue waters, the waves are low, making it easy to spend time in the water even for non-swimmers like me! The rooms are basic chalets but clean for most part. The bathroom could have been cleaner, our shower wasn't working well and they only provide soap in the bathroom and no other amenities. But the exterior more than makes up for the room, so ended up spending most of my time outside. The trees at the resort are infested with bats which was such a cool sight! We even spent some time in the pool, it was clean but lacked maintenance, my mom slipped and fell due to uneven surfaces. They were carrying out some maintenance while we were there, so hope it improves. The resort offers full board option, which is sensible choice considering there isn't much else on the island. 4 out of the 5 of us were vegetarians, and the staff at the resort did all they could to accommodate our needs. The place is run by a dedicated and simple bunch of people, who attend to the guest warmly.There is none of the stuffiness in the service found in other major resorts. They were extremely caring when we told them about our mother's fall and sprained leg. My husband who eats meat, enjoyed the Saturday night barbecue immensely! Nothing spectacular about the food, but it was mostly tasty. The boat ride to the resort was quite bumpy and turned out to be a bit of an adventure, but the return trip was more comfortable. In short, it is a great place to relax and enjoy the beach, which is surely the highlight. The staff make the place work, but the resort facilities can be improved and maintained better (the pool table for e.g.!) to make it a truly wonderful experience. But still i would recommend it strongly and would love to go back.

Room Tip: Sea views rooms are super convenient and have a great view
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShubaKrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

This is our first time visiting Pulau Besar, Johor. We stayed at Aseania Resort. It was a great experience. The staffs are friendly. They kept the beach clean. The water was clear. Food was nice too. It was a pleasant stay in a kampong style hut. Will definitely come back for another visit.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Jessy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

For package of SGD$108, it VERY worthy (Includes lunch, dinner & breakfast, Ferry ride). Their meals(Lunch,dinner) are splendid! Lunch was buffet style of local food(tumeric beef, chicken in tomato paste, Fried bee hoon, fruits, etc) and it gets better at dinner(BBQ Seafood buffet style).

First of all, Aseania provides good customer service. All my queries were patiently answered by the officer and gave us the assurance of our ferry ride in any case we were late to meet the ferry time. When we arrived, we were greeted by Reliance College student who were there on attachment/internship. Managed to speak to one of the instructors who were friendly and gave advise on activities to do on the island. Wished we had more time to trek to the other side of the island. We managed to settle for snorkeling (price was a bit steep at RM80/pax for 3hrs). We were brought around to the surrounding islands on their boat (Pulau Hujung, Pulau Tengah and another end of Pulau besar).

On top of that, the resort has recreation lounge that provides a library corner(pretty extensive range of books for long stayers), a TV lounge (no TV in individual room), dart board and they have a carrom board too! The rooms are clean (only fridge was quite dirty), and the BED is awesome! i wish i got more time in bed !

All in all, its great for those who enjoy the beach and nature. Simple retreat that forces you to go out and enjoy! (due to the no tv).

Thank you Aseania for making our stay and enjoyable and comfortable one. <3

Room Tip: Choose the seaview rooms to get your money's worth as they are of the same price. Generally the...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Clare0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

superb relaxing weekend getaway to this little island to runaway from the crowd! blue green clean clear sea at the friendly resort! great services with friendly staff and the friendly nice manager Jasbeer! My friend was coughing non-stop, he came to our table during dinner time and passed us a warm water and vitamin C! He went to every tables and have a little talk with every guests. The food of every meals were awesome especially the satay and the satay sauce!!! everything was so great and perfect! so in love with the little island! we really amazed by the natural scenery and peaceful environment at the lil island and the services were even better than some 4stars hotel!

Room Tip: definitely sea view chalet!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wei w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Spent the CNY holiday there. I wonder why the place is not that popular. Not many people know about the place and there were only few tourists considering it was a peak season. But that was a good thing for us as we were able to get the seaview rooms even though we didn't book early.

I must say it was way above my expectations. The beach was so beautiful with clear blue waters and soft powder-fine white sand. The rooms were large with 2 beds and the bathroom was very spacious. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Food was great with local and western options. There's a swimming pool (which I thought could use more cleaning), billiard table, dart board, mini-library, and beach volleyball court. There are no water sports except kayaking and snorkeling. If you're looking for a relaxing getaway from the city life then this is the perfect place.

I think they can improve on the boat transfer. The closed cabin boat didn't have any AC so it was hot inside. It was also a bumpy ride to the resort. On the way back to Mersing, we got the open boat which was so much better. But we got soaked with splashes of water. Worse, it ran out of fuel in the middle of the trip. Another boat came by and they asked us to transfer, from one shaky boat to another in the middle of the sea! Scary adventure!

I would still definitely go back. I fell in love with the place!

Room Tip: Definitely choose the seaview rooms for the view. They only provide soap so bring your own stuff. Yo...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChLoe1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had a big group of 40people over at Aseania Resort for a long weekend. Every single one of us were amazed at the beach, the huge rooms, the provisions, the food and the staff there. It completely exceeded our expectations and is a truly best kept secret and value-for money. Jasbeer, the manager, was very accomodating, responsive and hospitable.

1) The beach- at high tide was an amazing clear blue.
2) The rooms- were equipped with seriously expensive beds. There was a queen and a single. Families could share. The beds even came with comforters and quilts!
3) The staff were very on the ball and helpful. A friend had a cut on his foot and a staff quickly tended to it, placed antiseptic and bandaged it.
4) The foods was delicious- they had western and asian food.
5) The beach was treated for sandflies- we didnt get bitten badly.
6) There were heaps of group activities- snorkelling, trekking to the other side of the beach, playing volleyball and soccer.
7) They even provided not only bath towels but proper beach towels!
8)To top it off- they even organised a huge cake for 40pax for my bday. It was the biggest cake I ever had!

Basically, it was a memorable holiday, everyone was more than happy with the rooms, food (this never happens in big groups. There's always a complainer). Perhaps because everyone was very chilled. I get very paricular about cleanliness but I must say, the bathrooms were spacious and clean. The rooms were even equipped with hot water, air con, basic neccesstities. But the towels and expensive, comfortable beds & pillows really topped it off. You don't expect towels in basic chalets such as these. Jasbeer really takes pride in the place and it is reflected in the whole resort. Truly an amazing and recommended place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zohria_nunis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Besar
24.0 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
23.8 mi away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
520 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sibu Island Resort
Sibu Island Resort
#10 of 12 in Mersing
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Mersing Hotel
Mersing Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mersing
49 reviews
9.8 mi away
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mersing
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
D'Coconut Resort
D'Coconut Resort
#2 of 2 in Pulau Besar
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aseania Resort Pulau Besar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aseania Resort Pulau Besar

Address: Jalan Mersing, Pulau Besar 86800, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Pulau Besar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pulau Besar
Price Range: £92 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aseania Resort Pulau Besar 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aseania Resort based on Besar island (Pulau Besar in Johor). This is simple but charming place is about 30 min from Mersing jetty. We have DIVE CENTER with PADI courses, kayaks to explore island around and internet in public area to connect the civilization. We provide our bungalows per night the same as special packages 3D2N. Please connect our reservation manager if you want to know more details ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aseania Resort Pulau Besar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar Hotel Mersing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing